Books Young Adult Fiction Dangerous Neighbors

Dangerous Neighbors

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/de/97/97/9158_7295084-1351472752.jpg
 
5.0
 
4.3 (1)
722   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 24, 2010
ISBN
1606840800
Buy This Book
      
It is 1876, the year of the Centennial in Philadelphia. Katherine has lost her twin sister Anna in a tragic skating accident. One wickedly hot September day, Katherine sets out for the exhibition grounds to cut short the haunted life she no longer wants to live.

Filled with vivid detail that artfully brings the past to life, National Book Award nominee Beth Kepart's DANGEROUS NEIGHBORS is a timeless and finely crafted novel about betrayal and guilt, hope and despair, love, loss, and new beginnings.

Editor reviews

Originally I was just going to tell you exactly what the author, Beth Kephart, tells you about Dangerous Neighbors: It is 1876, the height of the Centennial Exhibition in Philadelphia. Katherine has lost her twin sister, Anna, and though it was an accident, Katherine remains convinced that Annas death was her fault. One wickedly hot September day, Katherine sets out for the exhibition grounds to cut short the life she is no longer willing to live. This is the story of what happens. But that would leave out a lot because Dangerous Neighbors is about more than feeling the loss of a sister. It is about sisters, especially twin sisters, and how they are a part of each other. It is about the inevitable maturing and ultimate growing apart of siblings. It is about the world in 1876 and one parents fight for equality. It is about having someone to care for and how that spark of caring can change everything.

As I told someone, while I was reading Dangerous Neighbors I had a dilemma. I wanted to read the book quickly because I found the story engrossing. I also wanted to read it slowly so that I could savor Kepharts words. Every page has phrasing that I wish I could write, such as The organ doesnt sing, it exhalesfilling the volume of the Main Exhibition Hall with elaborate moans and peeps or Their father has sent them off with George, his favorite hansom driver, and with a dark horse named Hank who blows dragon steam through his nostrils. Blows dragon steam through his nostrils. Wow!!!!! Kephart enables you to visualize everything from the flight of a bird to flour dust emanating from a bakery.

The 1876 Exhibition is the setting for Dangerous Neighbors and the story certainly peaked my curiosity about that event. But it is a timeless story which could take place in any locale. The characters are wonderful: Bennett who is Annas love interest, William who rescues animals and sparks something in Katherine, Anna, Katherine herself who feels responsible for her younger twin, and their parents, each caught up in their own world. The story, as I said, is engrossing. It is a story of hope. The emotions are strong: Anna and Bennetts love, and Katherines sense of responsibility and loss and confusion.

Ms. Kephart says that Dangerous Neighbors is a cross-over book that will appeal to teens and their parents. I agree. So get a copy for yourself and a copy for your parent and read it together, sitting side by side on the settee. I can only reiterate what Ive said before: Beth Kephart is a marvelous author and one whose books you can count on for containing some of the finest use of language youll encounter. Read my reviews on this website of House of Dance, Nothing But Ghosts and Undercover.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Ed Goldberg Reviewed by Ed Goldberg August 02, 2010
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (133)

A Tale of Two Sisters

Originally I was just going to tell you exactly what the author, Beth Kephart, tells you about Dangerous Neighbors: It is 1876, the height of the Centennial Exhibition in Philadelphia. Katherine has lost her twin sister, Anna, and though it was an accident, Katherine remains convinced that Annas death was her fault. One wickedly hot September day, Katherine sets out for the exhibition grounds to cut short the life she is no longer willing to live. This is the story of what happens. But that would leave out a lot because Dangerous Neighbors is about more than feeling the loss of a sister. It is about sisters, especially twin sisters, and how they are a part of each other. It is about the inevitable maturing and ultimate growing apart of siblings. It is about the world in 1876 and one parents fight for equality. It is about having someone to care for and how that spark of caring can change everything.

As I told someone, while I was reading Dangerous Neighbors I had a dilemma. I wanted to read the book quickly because I found the story engrossing. I also wanted to read it slowly so that I could savor Kepharts words. Every page has phrasing that I wish I could write, such as The organ doesnt sing, it exhalesfilling the volume of the Main Exhibition Hall with elaborate moans and peeps or Their father has sent them off with George, his favorite hansom driver, and with a dark horse named Hank who blows dragon steam through his nostrils. Blows dragon steam through his nostrils. Wow!!!!! Kephart enables you to visualize everything from the flight of a bird to flour dust emanating from a bakery.

The 1876 Exhibition is the setting for Dangerous Neighbors and the story certainly peaked my curiosity about that event. But it is a timeless story which could take place in any locale. The characters are wonderful: Bennett who is Annas love interest, William who rescues animals and sparks something in Katherine, Anna, Katherine herself who feels responsible for her younger twin, and their parents, each caught up in their own world. The story, as I said, is engrossing. It is a story of hope. The emotions are strong: Anna and Bennetts love, and Katherines sense of responsibility and loss and confusion.

Ms. Kephart says that Dangerous Neighbors is a cross-over book that will appeal to teens and their parents. I agree. So get a copy for yourself and a copy for your parent and read it together, sitting side by side on the settee. I can only reiterate what Ive said before: Beth Kephart is a marvelous author and one whose books you can count on for containing some of the finest use of language youll encounter. Read my reviews on this website of House of Dance, Nothing But Ghosts and Undercover.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
I went into this book not expecting an amazing story, but an enjoyable one and I got that plus some. This little book was an intriguing, short read that I have been in the mood for in the past few days. While nothing special it was a sweet story of sisterly love and all the trials it goes through, especially when their is a boy involved. I only wished it were longer, though I was in the mood for a short book, I think Dangerous Neighbors would have been amazing if it were longer. It had a lot of places it could have gone and where it could have expanded more, which I would have liked to have read.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Hope Reviewed by Hope June 12, 2012
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (43)

Beautifully Written

I went into this book not expecting an amazing story, but an enjoyable one and I got that plus some. This little book was an intriguing, short read that I have been in the mood for in the past few days. While nothing special it was a sweet story of sisterly love and all the trials it goes through, especially when their is a boy involved. I only wished it were longer, though I was in the mood for a short book, I think Dangerous Neighbors would have been amazing if it were longer. It had a lot of places it could have gone and where it could have expanded more, which I would have liked to have read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)