This world we live in

This world we live in

 
4.0
 
4.3 (3)
944   0
Write Review
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0547248040
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

The Last Survivors saga continues

Back in 2006 I was able to read LIFE AS WE KNEW IT for the Cybils. I remember being blown away by this futuristic tale that shows human nature at both its worse and best during a catastrophic disaster. Later, I read the companion novel THE DEAD AND THE GONE, which was equally as powerful.


Now in THIS WORLD WE LIVE IN the tale continues. Its been a year since a meteor hit the moon which totally changed Earths climate for the worse. Miranda Evans old life is now dead. Shes seen loved ones either die or leave. Then one day her father returns with his new wife, baby, and some strangers. One of the strangers, Alex, causes Miranda to experience feelings shed thought were dead like her old life. But his plans might thaw any relationship. Then a tornado hits her town and forces Miranda to make a decision that will change their lives forever.


I really loved this continuing tale of life after the meteor hits. Once again the strong and vivid images will haunt you. Mirandas story is a scary one. What would you do if a catastrophic disaster totally changed the lives of everyone for probably the worse? Would you still have faith in a higher power? Would you lie, cheat, and even kill so others might live? These questions are ones that Miranda asks every day. I especially loved how the author is able to evoke strong emotions with this series. I couldnt help but wonder what Id do if I was in Miranda or in her mothers situation. I also like how the author was able to weave in other characters from the previous book so effortlessly.


Im hoping for another book in this very powerful, haunting series. Lets just hope this isnt our future but if it is that wed be able to have the courage and strength to meet each day like Miranda and her love ones.


A highly recommended book. If you havent read the other two books, Id highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Just Wow

This is one of the only series that does make me think and that sticks with me long after I've read it. This actually was my first time reading this installment. I've still never read the second, I don't plan to either. It's all just so sad and terrible but I find myself going back for more. I've reviewed the first and to me while this one isn't quite as good it still haunts me. What if this really didi happen? The moon getting thrown off balance. Would anymore live long afterward? Would it just destroy the life we have now?

This book is very quick read, one I found hard to put down as I read it in one day. Even though I know nothing good will actually happen, I find myself hoping it does. I do not think this series is for everyone as most people I know hate it with a passion and most reviews I've read rate it terribly. I like it though, it's not the best of course, but I don't know there is just something about it that speaks to me.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

This World We Live In: still good, but not as great as the first

Reader reviewed by Kelsey

Not the best
in the series by far, but still a good read. In the Last Survivors series, there is no
good stopping place! I feel like I need to read the books all in one
sitting. Impossible to set it down.

The first book, though, is
still my favorite. I think that's because it's the first dystopia I've
ever read, and it just struck a cord with me. I remember how I felt when
I was reading Life as We Knew It,
and I was amazed and horrified at the same time. It's something that
could actually happen (based on my limited science knowledge, of
course), and that's really scary.

But this post is for This World We Live In, the last book
in the series. It continued both of the previous stories, which I
liked. I thought it was cool how the author incorporated both of the
book's characters and collaborated them into one. But the book
itself....not her best work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

It's the End of the World...

Reader reviewed by Ava

This book is the last in the Life As We Knew It trilogy. I read the first two and I wasn't extremely impressed, but I decided to go ahead and read the third one anyway. This one was definitly my favorite of the series. It connected the two protagonists of the first two books and combined their stories. I liked how, in this book, you could really feel the tension between a lot of the characters. I also liked since it was Miranda's diary, her thoughts were really realistic and human and a lot of the times funny. This was something I really missed with the second book, The Dead and The Gone, which was centered around Alex. The other books seemed extremely repetitive, and this one slipped into that a little bit, but generally it was pretty new and interesting. Alex got really annoying a few times, but it was still realistic. There was suspense, and at the end it almost gave me shivers. The thing I didn't like the most about this book was the ending. I hope there's a fourth book that will give it more conclusion. It was also really short!

Overall, I would recommend this book, but you have to read the first two to really appreciate it, and those books were a little more dull.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

Silent
For fans of The Book Thief and Raiders of the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
House of Furies
An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Theshipbeyondtime.jpg
The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfall
A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
10 Things I Can See From Here
Think positive. Don’t worry; be happy. Keep calm and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The History of Hilary Hambrushina
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Posted.png
From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wonder of Us
Riya and Abby are: Best friends. Complete opposites. Living...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Slope Rules
Fifteen-year old Cally accepted her fate as one of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alex, Approximately
In this delightfully charming...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
31618483.jpg
A new action-packed adventure series for young fans of Alex...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Maybe, just maybe, if I can convince Dad that I’m...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shae is sure the icy rage that claws at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a future where time travel has been outlawed, a...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)