Books Young Adult Fiction Half a Crown (Small Change #3)

Half a Crown (Small Change #3)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/79/f8/6a/8674_3298088-1352400529.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
309   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
September 30, 2008
ISBN
0765316218
Buy This Book
      
In 1941 the European war ended in the Farthing Peace, a rapprochement between Britain and Nazi Germany. The balls and banquets of Britain’s upper class never faltered, while British ships ferried “undesirables” across the Channel to board the cattle cars headed east.

Peter Carmichael is commander of the Watch, Britain’s distinctly British secret police. It’s his job to warn the Prime Minister of treason, to arrest plotters, and to discover Jews. The midnight knock of a Watchman is the most dreaded sound in the realm.

Now, in 1960, a global peace conference is convening in London, where Britain, Germany, and Japan will oversee the final partition of the world. Hitler is once again on British soil. So is the long exiled Duke of Windsor—and the rising gangs of “British Power” streetfighters, who consider the Government “soft,” may be the former king’s bid to stage a coup d’état.

Amidst all this, two of the most unlikely persons in the realm will join forces to oppose the fascists: a debutante whose greatest worry until now has been where to find the right string of pearls, and the Watch Commander himself.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Mairi

Elvira Royston, daughter of the late Sargeant Royston, has been raised by her father's old superior in Scotland Yard (Carmichael, now the commander of the London Watch) since she was a girl of ten. Though she shares none of her foster- father's hatred for the fascist regime, her concerns are less frivolous than those of the typical deb. She intends to study at Oxford, though this is a bit scandalous given her position.

I've been waiting to get my hands on this book since I finished Ha'penny months ago. It's the last book in the trilogy (Farthing was the first) and it doesn't disappoint, though I really, really wish I had another one to look forward to. Or maybe it would be more accurate to say that I wish I had another one to read and wince through painfully.


Make no mistake, Half A Crown is not a happy story, but I loved it, and I loved the characters, and I wanted it to end well even though I knew the conclusion would be bittersweet at best.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader November 26, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Loved It

Reader reviewed by Mairi

Elvira Royston, daughter of the late Sargeant Royston, has been raised by her father's old superior in Scotland Yard (Carmichael, now the commander of the London Watch) since she was a girl of ten. Though she shares none of her foster- father's hatred for the fascist regime, her concerns are less frivolous than those of the typical deb. She intends to study at Oxford, though this is a bit scandalous given her position.

I've been waiting to get my hands on this book since I finished Ha'penny months ago. It's the last book in the trilogy (Farthing was the first) and it doesn't disappoint, though I really, really wish I had another one to look forward to. Or maybe it would be more accurate to say that I wish I had another one to read and wince through painfully.


Make no mistake, Half A Crown is not a happy story, but I loved it, and I loved the characters, and I wanted it to end well even though I knew the conclusion would be bittersweet at best.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)