Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie (Books of Faerie #2)

Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie (Books of Faerie #2)

 
5.0
 
4.8 (3)
1923   1
Write Review
Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie (Books of Faerie #2)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 01, 2009
ISBN
0738714844
Buy This Book
      
In this mesmerizing sequel to Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception , music prodigy James Morgan and his best friend, Deirdre, join a private conservatory for musicians. James' musical talent attracts Nuala, a soul-snatching faerie muse who fosters and feeds on the creative energies of exceptional humans until they die. Composing beautiful music together unexpectedly leads to mutual admiration and love. Haunted by fiery visions of death, James realizes that Deirdre and Nuala are being hunted by the Fey and plunges into a soul-scorching battle with the Queen of the Fey to save their lives.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Ballad, sequel to Lament

If youve read any of my reviews of Maggie Stiefvaters work, you already know Im a huge fan (like, an embarrassing, fangurl type of fan). I pick her books up with a mixture of excitement and trepidation, always ready for an amazing, lyrical ride, but more than a little worried about how things are going to turn out. Shes not afraid of bittersweet. I am. If a writer can make your stomach hurt before you even open her book, you know shes good.


Of course, Ballad was everything I expected and more.


I loved Luke in Lament. I loved Sam in Shiver. But I have to say, hands down, James is my most favorite and crush-worthy Stiefvater creation. Hes cocky. Hes arrogant. Hes flawed and real and leaps off the page. Just how I like em. Nualas layers, mysteries and complexities make for an intriguing heroine. I rooted for her and James to succeed from the first chapter.


Also, there is kissing. Hot. Kissing.


Dee, from the first book in the series, reappears. She did several things that made me not like her as much as I did in Lament. So, with the unresolved issues and all that, I really need a book three. (Did you hear me, Flux? Maggie? Dont make me write fan fiction.)


While the storyline is flawless, its Maggies subtext that always grabs me and sticks around in my brain for days (and its already crowded in there). Shes done a gorgeous job with it in Ballad, this time addressing the wanting, the burning, the desire for MORE so many artists struggle with. Im not sure Maggie gives the reader a resolution, but the concept sure makes you ask yourself some hard questions.


I know Ill see more in the next go around. Maggies books always warrant a second (third, fourth) read either because I missed some details and want to feel smart when I catch them or because I want to immerse myself in the beauty of her writing again.


Go get Ballad now. You know you want to, just like you know it comes with my highest recommendation. 5/5


As an added bonus, here are some short stories by Maggie at Merry Sisters of Fate about characters from the faerie series:


Luke: http://community.livejournal.com/merry_fates/39975.html


Nuala: http://community.livejournal.com/merry_fates/44781.html


Sullivan: http://community.livejournal.com/merry_fates/60502.html

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Plot 
 
4.7  (3)
Characters 
 
5.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Ballad

As impossible as this sounds, I think Ballad was even better than Lament! I thought the plot was a lot more original and I loved that James was the main character, he was my favorite character in Lament and I was glad to get to see more of him in this book. Nuala and him were so cute together that I kept rooting for them the whole way through the book. I was so sad when I thought she might die, and I found myself reading faster and faster and growing more and more worried as the book went on and he still hadn't saved her, and it even crossed my mind for a moment that maybe she wouldn't be able to become human and stay with James. I think that is what made me love this book, was I never was quite sure what would happen in the end, there were so many ways it could go, and many unexpected things happened that I just kept reading and reading, and enjoying it the whole way through. Plus it was funny. Which naturally made it 20 times better.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

wonderful!

After reading LAMENT, I was eager to read BALLAD. Though I wasn't sure how I'd feel about James narrating, I ended up really enjoying his perspective. He was wonderfully tragic and compelling, and his motivations were heartbreakingly clear. Oh, and the end. . . .

I wish there were more in this series.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fabulous

Maggie became famous for her Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, but I fell in love with her writing when I read Lament and its sequel Ballad. This book is jaw-droppingly good. (Is that an adverb? It totally should be.) My favorite part of this book is the way we get to live--really live--beneath the skin of the main characters. I felt like I was a part of them. I also loved the way the story unfolded in my mind in vivid, lush detail. Not so much detail that I was skimming just to get to the good parts. But detail that made me sit up a little straighter and say to myself "YES. I know what that looks like/feels like/smells like." The stakes are satisfyingly high, the plot is paced well, and James??

Oh, James. He has my heart. What a hero! If you love Maggie's other books (or if you're new to Maggie's writing), this book is the place to start.

Good Points
incredible characters, fascinating plot, gorgeous prose
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
 
4.0
"PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands..."
Truman
 
5.0
"TRUMAN is an unbelievably sweet story about a tortoise. Truman the tortoise lives with his best friend and owner Sarah,..."
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
 
4.0
"THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD features cartoony planets and drawings along with poems on each page. Topical, clever,..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."