Books Young Adult Fiction Storm Glass (Glass #1)

Storm Glass (Glass #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e6/39/c3/8427_6080889-1348596756.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
607   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
May 01, 2009
ISBN
0778325644
Buy This Book
      
As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it's time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs, killing their most powerful magicians. The Stormdancers--particularly the mysterious and mercurial Kade--require Opal's unique talents to prevent it happening again. But when the mission goes awry, Opal must tap in to a new kind of magic as stunningly potent as it is frightening. And the further she delves into the intrigue behind the glass and magic, the more distorted things appear. With lives hanging in the balance--including her own--Opal must control powers she hadn't known she possessed...powers that might lead to disaster beyond anything she's ever known.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Okay, first thing you need to know about this book: Don't read it if you haven't read the Study Series. There are quite a few references to Yelena and stuff that happened in there, so be warned.

I am feeling very sorry for those poor magicians in the Keep. It doesn't ever stop for them, does it?

When I first heard of this book, I was so happy that I had another chance to get back into Yelena's world. I will say that I think the Study Series is better than this one, but it is still totally awesome 1) because it is linked to the Study Series and we get to re-enter Yelena's world 2) because it has got a good story line and introduces new kinds of magic and expands on the world we already know of.

Opal is our new heroine. She is studying to be a magician at the Keep but so far she's only got one sort of magic; making glass animals glow. If you haven't read the Study series, you might think that is pathetic, but I'm not going ot try and explain it all to you. What Opal really loves to do is blow glass.

One day, Opal gets sent on a mission to fix some glass orbs for the Storm dancers. They are people who harness the power of the storms using magic, put it into glass orbs and use it as batteries for their factories.

So anyway, obviously Opal gets into a huge mess when she gets there.

This book had a great plot and I loved how Maria used the same world but expanded on it and told us stuff that we may not have know about it.

I think that the only downside to this book was probably the characters (a bit). I would have given the character bar a 4.5 if I could, but I can't. I thought that I didn't really connect much to Opal as a character, I don't even know why. And the love triangle felt a little forced, if you know what I mean, and not quite as lovable as the Yelena/Valek one. But I'm just being picky.

Nevertheless, Snyder definitely knows how to weave an interesting plot. Even though I prefer the Study series to this one, this is definitely a must-read if you have just finished the Study series and want to see more. :)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Louisa Reviewed by Louisa November 22, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (119)

Continuing on from Yelena's adventures...but with a different heroine...

Okay, first thing you need to know about this book: Don't read it if you haven't read the Study Series. There are quite a few references to Yelena and stuff that happened in there, so be warned.

I am feeling very sorry for those poor magicians in the Keep. It doesn't ever stop for them, does it?

When I first heard of this book, I was so happy that I had another chance to get back into Yelena's world. I will say that I think the Study Series is better than this one, but it is still totally awesome 1) because it is linked to the Study Series and we get to re-enter Yelena's world 2) because it has got a good story line and introduces new kinds of magic and expands on the world we already know of.

Opal is our new heroine. She is studying to be a magician at the Keep but so far she's only got one sort of magic; making glass animals glow. If you haven't read the Study series, you might think that is pathetic, but I'm not going ot try and explain it all to you. What Opal really loves to do is blow glass.

One day, Opal gets sent on a mission to fix some glass orbs for the Storm dancers. They are people who harness the power of the storms using magic, put it into glass orbs and use it as batteries for their factories.

So anyway, obviously Opal gets into a huge mess when she gets there.

This book had a great plot and I loved how Maria used the same world but expanded on it and told us stuff that we may not have know about it.

I think that the only downside to this book was probably the characters (a bit). I would have given the character bar a 4.5 if I could, but I can't. I thought that I didn't really connect much to Opal as a character, I don't even know why. And the love triangle felt a little forced, if you know what I mean, and not quite as lovable as the Yelena/Valek one. But I'm just being picky.

Nevertheless, Snyder definitely knows how to weave an interesting plot. Even though I prefer the Study series to this one, this is definitely a must-read if you have just finished the Study series and want to see more. :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Hatice

Maria V. Synder is an amazing author! This is a follow up to her Study series.

Opal Cowen is a magician glass maker. You may remember her as Yelena's friend. But she's completely the focus here. 

In Storm Glass she is sent on a quest to fix the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs. There, she realizes that her powers are far more vast than she thought. Opal's unique talents reveal a new kind of magic that could land her into jail. Filled with adventure, girl power, and romance, Storm Glass will leave you dying to get your hands on Sea Glass.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 18, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

GREAT!

Reader reviewed by Hatice

Maria V. Synder is an amazing author! This is a follow up to her Study series.

Opal Cowen is a magician glass maker. You may remember her as Yelena's friend. But she's completely the focus here. 

In Storm Glass she is sent on a quest to fix the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs. There, she realizes that her powers are far more vast than she thought. Opal's unique talents reveal a new kind of magic that could land her into jail. Filled with adventure, girl power, and romance, Storm Glass will leave you dying to get your hands on Sea Glass.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)