Books Young Adult Fiction Storm Glass (Glass #1)

Storm Glass (Glass #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e6/39/c3/8427_6080889-1348596756.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
555   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
May 01, 2009
ISBN
0778325644
Buy This Book
      
As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it's time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs, killing their most powerful magicians. The Stormdancers--particularly the mysterious and mercurial Kade--require Opal's unique talents to prevent it happening again. But when the mission goes awry, Opal must tap in to a new kind of magic as stunningly potent as it is frightening. And the further she delves into the intrigue behind the glass and magic, the more distorted things appear. With lives hanging in the balance--including her own--Opal must control powers she hadn't known she possessed...powers that might lead to disaster beyond anything she's ever known.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Okay, first thing you need to know about this book: Don't read it if you haven't read the Study Series. There are quite a few references to Yelena and stuff that happened in there, so be warned.

I am feeling very sorry for those poor magicians in the Keep. It doesn't ever stop for them, does it?

When I first heard of this book, I was so happy that I had another chance to get back into Yelena's world. I will say that I think the Study Series is better than this one, but it is still totally awesome 1) because it is linked to the Study Series and we get to re-enter Yelena's world 2) because it has got a good story line and introduces new kinds of magic and expands on the world we already know of.

Opal is our new heroine. She is studying to be a magician at the Keep but so far she's only got one sort of magic; making glass animals glow. If you haven't read the Study series, you might think that is pathetic, but I'm not going ot try and explain it all to you. What Opal really loves to do is blow glass.

One day, Opal gets sent on a mission to fix some glass orbs for the Storm dancers. They are people who harness the power of the storms using magic, put it into glass orbs and use it as batteries for their factories.

So anyway, obviously Opal gets into a huge mess when she gets there.

This book had a great plot and I loved how Maria used the same world but expanded on it and told us stuff that we may not have know about it.

I think that the only downside to this book was probably the characters (a bit). I would have given the character bar a 4.5 if I could, but I can't. I thought that I didn't really connect much to Opal as a character, I don't even know why. And the love triangle felt a little forced, if you know what I mean, and not quite as lovable as the Yelena/Valek one. But I'm just being picky.

Nevertheless, Snyder definitely knows how to weave an interesting plot. Even though I prefer the Study series to this one, this is definitely a must-read if you have just finished the Study series and want to see more. :)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Louisa Reviewed by Louisa November 22, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (119)

Continuing on from Yelena's adventures...but with a different heroine...

Okay, first thing you need to know about this book: Don't read it if you haven't read the Study Series. There are quite a few references to Yelena and stuff that happened in there, so be warned.

I am feeling very sorry for those poor magicians in the Keep. It doesn't ever stop for them, does it?

When I first heard of this book, I was so happy that I had another chance to get back into Yelena's world. I will say that I think the Study Series is better than this one, but it is still totally awesome 1) because it is linked to the Study Series and we get to re-enter Yelena's world 2) because it has got a good story line and introduces new kinds of magic and expands on the world we already know of.

Opal is our new heroine. She is studying to be a magician at the Keep but so far she's only got one sort of magic; making glass animals glow. If you haven't read the Study series, you might think that is pathetic, but I'm not going ot try and explain it all to you. What Opal really loves to do is blow glass.

One day, Opal gets sent on a mission to fix some glass orbs for the Storm dancers. They are people who harness the power of the storms using magic, put it into glass orbs and use it as batteries for their factories.

So anyway, obviously Opal gets into a huge mess when she gets there.

This book had a great plot and I loved how Maria used the same world but expanded on it and told us stuff that we may not have know about it.

I think that the only downside to this book was probably the characters (a bit). I would have given the character bar a 4.5 if I could, but I can't. I thought that I didn't really connect much to Opal as a character, I don't even know why. And the love triangle felt a little forced, if you know what I mean, and not quite as lovable as the Yelena/Valek one. But I'm just being picky.

Nevertheless, Snyder definitely knows how to weave an interesting plot. Even though I prefer the Study series to this one, this is definitely a must-read if you have just finished the Study series and want to see more. :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Hatice

Maria V. Synder is an amazing author! This is a follow up to her Study series.

Opal Cowen is a magician glass maker. You may remember her as Yelena's friend. But she's completely the focus here. 

In Storm Glass she is sent on a quest to fix the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs. There, she realizes that her powers are far more vast than she thought. Opal's unique talents reveal a new kind of magic that could land her into jail. Filled with adventure, girl power, and romance, Storm Glass will leave you dying to get your hands on Sea Glass.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 18, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

GREAT!

Reader reviewed by Hatice

Maria V. Synder is an amazing author! This is a follow up to her Study series.

Opal Cowen is a magician glass maker. You may remember her as Yelena's friend. But she's completely the focus here. 

In Storm Glass she is sent on a quest to fix the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs. There, she realizes that her powers are far more vast than she thought. Opal's unique talents reveal a new kind of magic that could land her into jail. Filled with adventure, girl power, and romance, Storm Glass will leave you dying to get your hands on Sea Glass.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)