Love on Cue

 
0.0
 
1.0 (1)
337   0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
1416968571
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0  (1)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by ReggieWrites

Another hilarious read from the Simon Pulse RoCom series!

Love on Cue
is great for those who like light comedy and easy romance but
personally, I don't think it's all that great. To me, Maggie seemed WAY
too desperate to be Derek's girlfriend. And the way she gets all
tongue-tied around Derek got old. It happens way to commonly in books.
I mean seriously!? In Love on Cue,
she can't even form a coherent sentence. In real life, I don't think
that would happen or if it does, then it wouldn't be common. I couldn't
help but grow annoyed and irritated with Maggie.

Derek.
He was VERY unrealistic. He was TOO perfect. In the book, he was
portrayed as someone who could do no wrong. He was adept and proficient
in EVERYTHING. I was just really unimpressed with his character.

It was random. I think that Hapka
just threw in random scenarios so that Maggie would always find herself
in an awkward position. They just didn't fit in with the book. There
wasn't any connection at all.

Errors. Has anyone noticed that on the back of the book it says 'Daniel' and not 'Derek'? Call me a perfectionist but I hate mistakes like these. It's one of my pet peeves.

The only thing that really stood out to me in this book was, unexpectedly,
Calla. She was the only character that constrained me to finish the
book. Calla's issue was that she was a little overweight. But she was
able to accept it and, eventually, joke about it.

The Bottom Line: I found Love on Cue to be disappointing but nevertheless funny. Don't stop reading Catherine Hapka though. Her book 'Twelve Dates of Christmas' is BETTER than this. I'll follow up with a review. But for now, C-
:-)

Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 27, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Love on Cue by Catherine Hapka

Reader reviewed by ReggieWrites

Another hilarious read from the Simon Pulse RoCom series!

Love on Cue
is great for those who like light comedy and easy romance but
personally, I don't think it's all that great. To me, Maggie seemed WAY
too desperate to be Derek's girlfriend. And the way she gets all
tongue-tied around Derek got old. It happens way to commonly in books.
I mean seriously!? In Love on Cue,
she can't even form a coherent sentence. In real life, I don't think
that would happen or if it does, then it wouldn't be common. I couldn't
help but grow annoyed and irritated with Maggie.

Derek.
He was VERY unrealistic. He was TOO perfect. In the book, he was
portrayed as someone who could do no wrong. He was adept and proficient
in EVERYTHING. I was just really unimpressed with his character.

It was random. I think that Hapka
just threw in random scenarios so that Maggie would always find herself
in an awkward position. They just didn't fit in with the book. There
wasn't any connection at all.

Errors. Has anyone noticed that on the back of the book it says 'Daniel' and not 'Derek'? Call me a perfectionist but I hate mistakes like these. It's one of my pet peeves.

The only thing that really stood out to me in this book was, unexpectedly,
Calla. She was the only character that constrained me to finish the
book. Calla's issue was that she was a little overweight. But she was
able to accept it and, eventually, joke about it.

The Bottom Line: I found Love on Cue to be disappointing but nevertheless funny. Don't stop reading Catherine Hapka though. Her book 'Twelve Dates of Christmas' is BETTER than this. I'll follow up with a review. But for now, C-
:-)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)