Love on Cue

 
0.0
 
1.0 (1)
386   0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
1416968571
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0  (1)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by ReggieWrites

Another hilarious read from the Simon Pulse RoCom series!

Love on Cue
is great for those who like light comedy and easy romance but
personally, I don't think it's all that great. To me, Maggie seemed WAY
too desperate to be Derek's girlfriend. And the way she gets all
tongue-tied around Derek got old. It happens way to commonly in books.
I mean seriously!? In Love on Cue,
she can't even form a coherent sentence. In real life, I don't think
that would happen or if it does, then it wouldn't be common. I couldn't
help but grow annoyed and irritated with Maggie.

Derek.
He was VERY unrealistic. He was TOO perfect. In the book, he was
portrayed as someone who could do no wrong. He was adept and proficient
in EVERYTHING. I was just really unimpressed with his character.

It was random. I think that Hapka
just threw in random scenarios so that Maggie would always find herself
in an awkward position. They just didn't fit in with the book. There
wasn't any connection at all.

Errors. Has anyone noticed that on the back of the book it says 'Daniel' and not 'Derek'? Call me a perfectionist but I hate mistakes like these. It's one of my pet peeves.

The only thing that really stood out to me in this book was, unexpectedly,
Calla. She was the only character that constrained me to finish the
book. Calla's issue was that she was a little overweight. But she was
able to accept it and, eventually, joke about it.

The Bottom Line: I found Love on Cue to be disappointing but nevertheless funny. Don't stop reading Catherine Hapka though. Her book 'Twelve Dates of Christmas' is BETTER than this. I'll follow up with a review. But for now, C-
:-)

Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 27, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Love on Cue by Catherine Hapka

Reader reviewed by ReggieWrites

Another hilarious read from the Simon Pulse RoCom series!

Love on Cue
is great for those who like light comedy and easy romance but
personally, I don't think it's all that great. To me, Maggie seemed WAY
too desperate to be Derek's girlfriend. And the way she gets all
tongue-tied around Derek got old. It happens way to commonly in books.
I mean seriously!? In Love on Cue,
she can't even form a coherent sentence. In real life, I don't think
that would happen or if it does, then it wouldn't be common. I couldn't
help but grow annoyed and irritated with Maggie.

Derek.
He was VERY unrealistic. He was TOO perfect. In the book, he was
portrayed as someone who could do no wrong. He was adept and proficient
in EVERYTHING. I was just really unimpressed with his character.

It was random. I think that Hapka
just threw in random scenarios so that Maggie would always find herself
in an awkward position. They just didn't fit in with the book. There
wasn't any connection at all.

Errors. Has anyone noticed that on the back of the book it says 'Daniel' and not 'Derek'? Call me a perfectionist but I hate mistakes like these. It's one of my pet peeves.

The only thing that really stood out to me in this book was, unexpectedly,
Calla. She was the only character that constrained me to finish the
book. Calla's issue was that she was a little overweight. But she was
able to accept it and, eventually, joke about it.

The Bottom Line: I found Love on Cue to be disappointing but nevertheless funny. Don't stop reading Catherine Hapka though. Her book 'Twelve Dates of Christmas' is BETTER than this. I'll follow up with a review. But for now, C-
:-)

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else ...

  • Books Aren't Dangerous Campaign

      Do you remember that book that changed your life as a reader, or maybe just your life in general? You do? That’s great!        Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series, have started a campaign called BOOKS AREN’T DANG ...

  • TOMORROWLAND - Drive Through Movie Review

    **********NO SPOILERS************ The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, give their thoughts on the new Disney film TOMORROWLAND.    QUESTION: If you could go to an alternate universe what would you want to see there? ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE SECRET SIDE OF EMPTY by Maria E. Andreu, releasing September 1, 2015 from Running Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maria:   YABC Readers!  I’m so excited to share the pape ...

  • May 2015 YABC Book Haul

    Hey YABCers! Once again, our office has been innundated with books, books, and  more BOOKS! We've run out of shelf space which can only mean one thing .... it's time for the May Book Haul! Enjoy the video and let us know in the comments which books you can't wait to add to your TBR. &nbs ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hello, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for INSIDIOUS by Dawn Metcalf, releasing August 25, 2015 from Harlequin TEEN. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dawn:   You know when you finish a story, you never really finish because there' ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

      This month's theme for the Librarian's corner is all about picture books you can share with teens! Picture books aren't just for kids and babies anymore. In fact, teens love storytime too!    For May, I am featuring some of my favorite picture books to share ...

  • The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival

        The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival--TBF 2015 Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Here at Young Adult Books Central, we LOVE YA! Fortunately for us, The Greater Rochester Book Festival held at Nazareth Collge devotes itself to s ...

  • Giveaway: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski (US Only)

    If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For By Jamie Tworkowski Release Date: May 26, 2015   About the Book In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, ...

  • Giveaway: Nova by Margaret Fortune (US Only)

    Nova by Margaret Fortune   Release Date: June 2nd   About the Book *36:00:00* The clock activates so suddenly in my mind, my head involuntarily jerks a bit to the side. The fog vanishes, dissipated in an instant as though it never was. Memories come slotting ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Briar Rose by Jane Yolen

    Happy Friday, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for BRIAR ROSE by Jane Yolen, releasing April 19, 2016 from Tor Teen.      Ready to see? Scroll, YABCers! Scroll! ...       ...     ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

TheEscape.jpg
Not everyone who goes into the woods comes out.... It was supposed to be a short hike, a way for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The realities of teen prostitution are revealed in this eye-opening, heartbreaking story from the author of America, which Booklist called...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The_Dogst.jpg
Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn. When I look, it disappears. Wait....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning re-imagining of Robin Hood, the first in an exciting new trilogy Forget everything you've ever heard about Robin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A summer romance filled with danger and lies Jane is ready for a fantastic summer. In fact, she’s pretty sure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fans of Pretty Little Liars and L.A. Candy will devour this fast-paced series from a writer New York Times bestselling...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mina is seventeen. A virgin. And pregnant. Mina is top of her class, girlfriend to the most ambitious guy in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I loved CHARMED . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough!” raves Amy Tintera, author of Reboot, of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pagan Jones went from America's sweetheart to fallen angel in one fateful night in 1960: the night a car accident...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a...
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
Category: Kids Fiction
A war torn country - a town that is burning. A single ship waits at the port for those who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The sequel to the highly praised and intricately plotted Nearly Gone--a YA urban mystery that's perfect for fans of Bones,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sustain the weak. Destroy the strong . A dark fable in the vein of Animal Farm, Watership Down, and The...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green's The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this darkly funny novel from the...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Acclaimed writer Margo Rabb's Kissing in America is "a wonderful novel about friendship, love, travel, life, hope, poetry, intelligence, and...
 
0.0
 
2.7 (1)
Given the way love turned her heart in the New York Times bestselling To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
There’s school, and then there’s the real world. If you’re lucky enough to survive the first, you owe it to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The author of OPENLY STRAIGHT returns with an epic road trip involving family history, gay history, the girlfriend our hero...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It was an average day at Harry Buttz Elementary until . . . KABLAM! The five-bean burritos churning in Darren...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)