Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger #5)

Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger #5)

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1062   0
Write Review
Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger #5)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 01, 1987
ISBN
067172942X
Buy This Book
      
Garden of Shadows is the "prequel" to the phenomenally popular series that began with Flowers in the Attic and continued with Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, and Seeds of Yesterday.

Here we meet the young, dashing Malcolm Foxworth-the man who started it all-and his new wife, Olivia. Tall, stern, bookish, and longing for love. Olivia thinks that her marriage to Malcolm will be all sunshine and roses. But soon enough the shadows begin to gather around Foxworth Hall, and Malcolm's dark side emerges. Malcolm's father returns, accompanied by a child bride, and Malcolm becomes obsessed with the pretty, vibrant young woman. Children are born; three boys and one special, beautiful girl. One of these children will hold the key to the shocking secret that will taint the Foxworths forever-a secret known only to the older generation, a secret that will reveal, at last, why Malcolm Foxworth and his wife Olivia became evil.

Once again. V.C. Andrews spins an enthralling tale of the tangled web of family emotions.

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

What makes Flowers grown in and Attic?

Reader reviewed by Jess

I really liked this book, so much so that I have read and reread the entire series that goes with it. This set of books, was my first big step into long novels when I was younger, before that it was only Goosebumps and Fearstreet by RL Stine. But, back to the book at hand. It was very interesting to learn exactly how the grandmother got as cruel as she turned out to be. All the small secrets and the torments that she was put through by marrying Malcome, even the things her father put her through, just horrid. It made me feel sorry for her in the end....well, until the kids showed up. The last chapter of this book, is the first meeting from the first book in the series. Very dramatic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)