Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger #5)

Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger #5)

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
1125   0
Write Review
Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger #5)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 01, 1987
ISBN
067172942X
Buy This Book
      
Garden of Shadows is the "prequel" to the phenomenally popular series that began with Flowers in the Attic and continued with Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, and Seeds of Yesterday.

Here we meet the young, dashing Malcolm Foxworth-the man who started it all-and his new wife, Olivia. Tall, stern, bookish, and longing for love. Olivia thinks that her marriage to Malcolm will be all sunshine and roses. But soon enough the shadows begin to gather around Foxworth Hall, and Malcolm's dark side emerges. Malcolm's father returns, accompanied by a child bride, and Malcolm becomes obsessed with the pretty, vibrant young woman. Children are born; three boys and one special, beautiful girl. One of these children will hold the key to the shocking secret that will taint the Foxworths forever-a secret known only to the older generation, a secret that will reveal, at last, why Malcolm Foxworth and his wife Olivia became evil.

Once again. V.C. Andrews spins an enthralling tale of the tangled web of family emotions.

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

What makes Flowers grown in and Attic?

Reader reviewed by Jess

I really liked this book, so much so that I have read and reread the entire series that goes with it. This set of books, was my first big step into long novels when I was younger, before that it was only Goosebumps and Fearstreet by RL Stine. But, back to the book at hand. It was very interesting to learn exactly how the grandmother got as cruel as she turned out to be. All the small secrets and the torments that she was put through by marrying Malcome, even the things her father put her through, just horrid. It made me feel sorry for her in the end....well, until the kids showed up. The last chapter of this book, is the first meeting from the first book in the series. Very dramatic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

A weekend retreat in the woods and an innocent game...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
A hilarious new Ninja Bunny adventure featuring a humongous carrot,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Lost and The Found
Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons from Mars
For fans of Dragons Love Tacos comes a fun, silly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Grandparents Love Me
From the illustrator of I Love Dad and I Love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Be the Change: A Grandfather Gandhi Story
In this breathtaking companion to the award-winning Grandfather Gandhi, Arun...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Five-Minute True Stories: Animal BFFs
Joker the dog loves to dive in and swim with...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Applesauce Weather
When the first apple falls from the tree, Faith and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Killer In Me
Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The domed city of Evanescence is in ruins. With nowhere...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“It’s dark magic brings him back.” ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
Travel to the colorful and chaotic streets of India from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreams
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller...
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Piper and Ash's story concludes in the fifth and final...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Piper is feeling a bit overwhelmed. With Seiya and Lyre...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)