Chalice

 
0.0
 
4.3 (3)
1458   0
Write Review
Chalice
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 18, 2008
ISBN
0399246762
Buy This Book
      
As the newly appointed Chalice, Mirasol is the most important member of the Master’s Circle. It is her duty to bind the Circle, the land and its people together with their new Master. But the new Master of Willowlands is a Priest of Fire, only drawn back into the human world by the sudden death of his brother. No one knows if it is even possible for him to live amongst his people. Mirasol wants the Master to have his chance, but her only training is as a beekeeper. How can she help settle their demesne during these troubled times and bind it to a Priest of Fire, the touch of whose hand can burn human flesh to the bone?

A captivating tale that reveals the healing power of duty and honour, love and honey.

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

An interesting, but slightly confusing, book

Reader reviewed by Lizzy

The
first thing I want to say about this book is that the beginning doesn't
really explain anything. That's not to say the writing or the story
were lacking, I just had a lot of "what is a ______" moments. For
example, you aren't really told much of what a Chalice is until a
little later in the story, nor do you really get a good grasp on who
exactly the Master is (and what it means to be a priest of Fire). Once
I got into the book, however, these things were explained a bit more
(still, there was some detail left to the imagination). The Master
could be described as a King, and the Chalice is sort of like a
healer/witch who has a close connection to the current master.


The
story is told from the point of view of the newly appointed Chalice,
who feels unprepared for her prestigious role. Most girls who are meant
to be appointed to the Chalice position spend years training just to
understand how to control magic. Through Mirasol's eyes we see what
exactly it means to be a Chalice, and also experience the change of the
Master from someone who is quiet and withdrawn, to someone who truly
cares for both Marisol, and the Willowlands.

Quite
honestly, I was worried that I wouldn't finish it due to lack of any
real action at the beginning. The story did eventually pick up, and by
the end I was really interested in what would happen to the characters.
It was an interesting concept, and I wish it had been longer, although
it was 272 pages, I felt that if the story had been a bit longer we
would have seen more character development, especially in the Master.


McKinley has also written retellings of fairy tales, such as: Beauty, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and The Door in the Hedge, which retells two different tales.


Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Excellent Fantasy

Reader reviewed by Mairi

Mirasol, a beekeeper in the Willowlands, is distressed when she learns that the Master and the Chalice have died in a fire, but she imagines her life will go on as it always has, not that she will become the new Chalice. She is the first to great the new Master, who was sent to be a priest of fire years ago and, it is warned, will return something less than human. Indeed, he comes back to the Willowlands he once loved with red eyes and burning flesh.

I have read all of Robin McKinley's books, and I must say that this one stands out from her usual work- it is both more and less fantastical that I expected. At first I did not expect I would like it, but I was drawn in by the absolutely beautiful cover and layout- the bee motif suits Mirasol well, I think, for I imagine she was better as beekeeper than as Chalice. Mainly, it was Mirasol herself who made this book great- she wasn't anywhere near as prickly as some of McKinley's other heroines, and I cannot imagine anyone not liking her.


People who like fantasy, particularly girls, would probably enjoy this book very much.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

McKinley's Back!

Reader reviewed by Beth

This book is a return to the beautiful prose that made me fall in love with Robin McKinley's writing. After the ill-fated Dragonhaven, I was rather skeptical of this book. I needn't have worried. Although I was confused for about half of the book, the writing was so beautiful and the story so compelling that I just had to know more. I recommend this book for those who already know and love McKinley and for those that have not yet been introduced to her genius.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Everless (Everless #1)
 
5.0
"Everless was my first read of the year and I do indeed feel guilty for reviewing it just now. The..."
Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."