Chalice

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ec/c7/3b/7303_2828595-1350399173.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.3 (3)
461   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 18, 2008
ISBN
0399246762
Buy This Book
      
As the newly appointed Chalice, Mirasol is the most important member of the Master’s Circle. It is her duty to bind the Circle, the land and its people together with their new Master. But the new Master of Willowlands is a Priest of Fire, only drawn back into the human world by the sudden death of his brother. No one knows if it is even possible for him to live amongst his people. Mirasol wants the Master to have his chance, but her only training is as a beekeeper. How can she help settle their demesne during these troubled times and bind it to a Priest of Fire, the touch of whose hand can burn human flesh to the bone?

A captivating tale that reveals the healing power of duty and honour, love and honey.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.3  (3)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Lizzy

The
first thing I want to say about this book is that the beginning doesn't
really explain anything. That's not to say the writing or the story
were lacking, I just had a lot of "what is a ______" moments. For
example, you aren't really told much of what a Chalice is until a
little later in the story, nor do you really get a good grasp on who
exactly the Master is (and what it means to be a priest of Fire). Once
I got into the book, however, these things were explained a bit more
(still, there was some detail left to the imagination). The Master
could be described as a King, and the Chalice is sort of like a
healer/witch who has a close connection to the current master.


The
story is told from the point of view of the newly appointed Chalice,
who feels unprepared for her prestigious role. Most girls who are meant
to be appointed to the Chalice position spend years training just to
understand how to control magic. Through Mirasol's eyes we see what
exactly it means to be a Chalice, and also experience the change of the
Master from someone who is quiet and withdrawn, to someone who truly
cares for both Marisol, and the Willowlands.

Quite
honestly, I was worried that I wouldn't finish it due to lack of any
real action at the beginning. The story did eventually pick up, and by
the end I was really interested in what would happen to the characters.
It was an interesting concept, and I wish it had been longer, although
it was 272 pages, I felt that if the story had been a bit longer we
would have seen more character development, especially in the Master.


McKinley has also written retellings of fairy tales, such as: Beauty, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and The Door in the Hedge, which retells two different tales.


Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 19, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

An interesting, but slightly confusing, book

Reader reviewed by Lizzy

The
first thing I want to say about this book is that the beginning doesn't
really explain anything. That's not to say the writing or the story
were lacking, I just had a lot of "what is a ______" moments. For
example, you aren't really told much of what a Chalice is until a
little later in the story, nor do you really get a good grasp on who
exactly the Master is (and what it means to be a priest of Fire). Once
I got into the book, however, these things were explained a bit more
(still, there was some detail left to the imagination). The Master
could be described as a King, and the Chalice is sort of like a
healer/witch who has a close connection to the current master.


The
story is told from the point of view of the newly appointed Chalice,
who feels unprepared for her prestigious role. Most girls who are meant
to be appointed to the Chalice position spend years training just to
understand how to control magic. Through Mirasol's eyes we see what
exactly it means to be a Chalice, and also experience the change of the
Master from someone who is quiet and withdrawn, to someone who truly
cares for both Marisol, and the Willowlands.

Quite
honestly, I was worried that I wouldn't finish it due to lack of any
real action at the beginning. The story did eventually pick up, and by
the end I was really interested in what would happen to the characters.
It was an interesting concept, and I wish it had been longer, although
it was 272 pages, I felt that if the story had been a bit longer we
would have seen more character development, especially in the Master.


McKinley has also written retellings of fairy tales, such as: Beauty, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and The Door in the Hedge, which retells two different tales.


Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Mairi

Mirasol, a beekeeper in the Willowlands, is distressed when she learns that the Master and the Chalice have died in a fire, but she imagines her life will go on as it always has, not that she will become the new Chalice. She is the first to great the new Master, who was sent to be a priest of fire years ago and, it is warned, will return something less than human. Indeed, he comes back to the Willowlands he once loved with red eyes and burning flesh.

I have read all of Robin McKinley's books, and I must say that this one stands out from her usual work- it is both more and less fantastical that I expected. At first I did not expect I would like it, but I was drawn in by the absolutely beautiful cover and layout- the bee motif suits Mirasol well, I think, for I imagine she was better as beekeeper than as Chalice. Mainly, it was Mirasol herself who made this book great- she wasn't anywhere near as prickly as some of McKinley's other heroines, and I cannot imagine anyone not liking her.


People who like fantasy, particularly girls, would probably enjoy this book very much.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader April 14, 2009
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Excellent Fantasy

Reader reviewed by Mairi

Mirasol, a beekeeper in the Willowlands, is distressed when she learns that the Master and the Chalice have died in a fire, but she imagines her life will go on as it always has, not that she will become the new Chalice. She is the first to great the new Master, who was sent to be a priest of fire years ago and, it is warned, will return something less than human. Indeed, he comes back to the Willowlands he once loved with red eyes and burning flesh.

I have read all of Robin McKinley's books, and I must say that this one stands out from her usual work- it is both more and less fantastical that I expected. At first I did not expect I would like it, but I was drawn in by the absolutely beautiful cover and layout- the bee motif suits Mirasol well, I think, for I imagine she was better as beekeeper than as Chalice. Mainly, it was Mirasol herself who made this book great- she wasn't anywhere near as prickly as some of McKinley's other heroines, and I cannot imagine anyone not liking her.


People who like fantasy, particularly girls, would probably enjoy this book very much.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Beth

This book is a return to the beautiful prose that made me fall in love with Robin McKinley's writing. After the ill-fated Dragonhaven, I was rather skeptical of this book. I needn't have worried. Although I was confused for about half of the book, the writing was so beautiful and the story so compelling that I just had to know more. I recommend this book for those who already know and love McKinley and for those that have not yet been introduced to her genius.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 09, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

McKinley's Back!

Reader reviewed by Beth

This book is a return to the beautiful prose that made me fall in love with Robin McKinley's writing. After the ill-fated Dragonhaven, I was rather skeptical of this book. I needn't have worried. Although I was confused for about half of the book, the writing was so beautiful and the story so compelling that I just had to know more. I recommend this book for those who already know and love McKinley and for those that have not yet been introduced to her genius.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)