Chalice

 
0.0
 
4.3 (3)
1323   0
Write Review
Chalice
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 18, 2008
ISBN
0399246762
Buy This Book
      
As the newly appointed Chalice, Mirasol is the most important member of the Master’s Circle. It is her duty to bind the Circle, the land and its people together with their new Master. But the new Master of Willowlands is a Priest of Fire, only drawn back into the human world by the sudden death of his brother. No one knows if it is even possible for him to live amongst his people. Mirasol wants the Master to have his chance, but her only training is as a beekeeper. How can she help settle their demesne during these troubled times and bind it to a Priest of Fire, the touch of whose hand can burn human flesh to the bone?

A captivating tale that reveals the healing power of duty and honour, love and honey.

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

An interesting, but slightly confusing, book

Reader reviewed by Lizzy

The
first thing I want to say about this book is that the beginning doesn't
really explain anything. That's not to say the writing or the story
were lacking, I just had a lot of "what is a ______" moments. For
example, you aren't really told much of what a Chalice is until a
little later in the story, nor do you really get a good grasp on who
exactly the Master is (and what it means to be a priest of Fire). Once
I got into the book, however, these things were explained a bit more
(still, there was some detail left to the imagination). The Master
could be described as a King, and the Chalice is sort of like a
healer/witch who has a close connection to the current master.


The
story is told from the point of view of the newly appointed Chalice,
who feels unprepared for her prestigious role. Most girls who are meant
to be appointed to the Chalice position spend years training just to
understand how to control magic. Through Mirasol's eyes we see what
exactly it means to be a Chalice, and also experience the change of the
Master from someone who is quiet and withdrawn, to someone who truly
cares for both Marisol, and the Willowlands.

Quite
honestly, I was worried that I wouldn't finish it due to lack of any
real action at the beginning. The story did eventually pick up, and by
the end I was really interested in what would happen to the characters.
It was an interesting concept, and I wish it had been longer, although
it was 272 pages, I felt that if the story had been a bit longer we
would have seen more character development, especially in the Master.


McKinley has also written retellings of fairy tales, such as: Beauty, a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and The Door in the Hedge, which retells two different tales.


Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Excellent Fantasy

Reader reviewed by Mairi

Mirasol, a beekeeper in the Willowlands, is distressed when she learns that the Master and the Chalice have died in a fire, but she imagines her life will go on as it always has, not that she will become the new Chalice. She is the first to great the new Master, who was sent to be a priest of fire years ago and, it is warned, will return something less than human. Indeed, he comes back to the Willowlands he once loved with red eyes and burning flesh.

I have read all of Robin McKinley's books, and I must say that this one stands out from her usual work- it is both more and less fantastical that I expected. At first I did not expect I would like it, but I was drawn in by the absolutely beautiful cover and layout- the bee motif suits Mirasol well, I think, for I imagine she was better as beekeeper than as Chalice. Mainly, it was Mirasol herself who made this book great- she wasn't anywhere near as prickly as some of McKinley's other heroines, and I cannot imagine anyone not liking her.


People who like fantasy, particularly girls, would probably enjoy this book very much.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

McKinley's Back!

Reader reviewed by Beth

This book is a return to the beautiful prose that made me fall in love with Robin McKinley's writing. After the ill-fated Dragonhaven, I was rather skeptical of this book. I needn't have worried. Although I was confused for about half of the book, the writing was so beautiful and the story so compelling that I just had to know more. I recommend this book for those who already know and love McKinley and for those that have not yet been introduced to her genius.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."