Books Young Adult Fiction Homecoming (Avalon High: Coronation #2)

Homecoming (Avalon High: Coronation #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/34/18/b5/6907_187813-1348235953.jpg
 
0.0
 
2.5 (2)
767   0
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 24, 2008
ISBN
9780061177095
Buy This Book
      
Avalon High seems like a typical high school, attended by typical students: There's Lance, the jock. Jennifer, the cheerleader. And Will, senior class president, quarterback, and all-around good guy. But not everybody at Avalon High is who they appear to be ... not even, as new student Ellie is about to discover, herself. What part does she play in the drama that is unfolding? What if the bizarre chain of events and coincidences she has pieced together means -- as with the court of King Arthur -- tragedy is fast approaching Avalon High?

Worst of all, what if there's nothing she can do about it?

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Plot 
 
2.5  (2)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Booked Books

Ellie's terrifying nightmares about a psychotic and tyrannical Marco begins soon after she encounters him in the park. Recently released from the mental hospital, Marco seems normal and harmless enough. Will, Ellie's boyfriend as well as Marco's brother, thinks otherwise. He absolutely cannot forgive Marco for attempting to kill him and Ellie before. As if that wasn't drama enough, Will is possibly the reincarnation of King Arthur, while Ellie is the reincarnation of the Lady of the Lake. All of this is according to Mr. Morton, their civics teacher, who also believes that the world would collapse if Will doesn't embrace his destiny by homecoming night, the day of the Hunter's Moon.
Worrying about all of this leaves little time for Ellie to think about the fact that she's been nominated for homecoming queen and that mean-girl Morgan is trying to sabotage her chances.


Another light and easy-to-read novel, I just sped through the story pretty quickly. There wasn't much substance in it, so I feel like there isn't much to say about it. It was an enjoyable read and would have been more so if it weren't so predictable. Admittedly, I haven't read the first book, so I'm sure there are important bits and pieces I've missed because of that. I do love the legend of King Arthur; so naturally, I love how it was placed in a modern-day setting. The story does end with a cliff-hanger, leaving room for the next book in the series. Overall, it's a good read if you're on-the-go or just bored and looking for something light to read.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader September 28, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Not Meg Cabot's Best...

Reader reviewed by Booked Books

Ellie's terrifying nightmares about a psychotic and tyrannical Marco begins soon after she encounters him in the park. Recently released from the mental hospital, Marco seems normal and harmless enough. Will, Ellie's boyfriend as well as Marco's brother, thinks otherwise. He absolutely cannot forgive Marco for attempting to kill him and Ellie before. As if that wasn't drama enough, Will is possibly the reincarnation of King Arthur, while Ellie is the reincarnation of the Lady of the Lake. All of this is according to Mr. Morton, their civics teacher, who also believes that the world would collapse if Will doesn't embrace his destiny by homecoming night, the day of the Hunter's Moon.
Worrying about all of this leaves little time for Ellie to think about the fact that she's been nominated for homecoming queen and that mean-girl Morgan is trying to sabotage her chances.


Another light and easy-to-read novel, I just sped through the story pretty quickly. There wasn't much substance in it, so I feel like there isn't much to say about it. It was an enjoyable read and would have been more so if it weren't so predictable. Admittedly, I haven't read the first book, so I'm sure there are important bits and pieces I've missed because of that. I do love the legend of King Arthur; so naturally, I love how it was placed in a modern-day setting. The story does end with a cliff-hanger, leaving room for the next book in the series. Overall, it's a good read if you're on-the-go or just bored and looking for something light to read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by TheBookworm

Just another comic book.

Avalon High Coronation Volume 2: Homecoming by Meg Cabot Illustrated by Jinky Coronado*
2 out of 5 stars

Homecoming Volume Two in the Avalon High Coronation by Meg Cabot and illustrated by Jinky Coronado was not really literature at all, just a thicker comic book.

Marco, Wills dangerous brother, has been released from the mental hospital. Now what is Ellie suppose to do? With Marco on the loose again, she and Will are both in danger. But then again, how can they be in danger? All that stuff about Will being the reincarnation of King Arthur isnt real. Just some loony teachers idea. Why then is Ellie having nightmares about the end of the world? Mr. Morton, is convinced Ellies boyfriend, Will, is the reincarnation of King Arthur. And if Will doesnt believe that he is by The Hunters Moon, which is also Homecoming night, the world is going to end. How can Ellie convince Will he is the reincarnation of King Arthur, run for homecoming queen, survive school and Mr. Morton, solve Wills family problems, and not to mention, save the world?

There really wasnt a whole lot of words. The main thing this graphic novel had was pictures. I dont understand why they put Meg Cabots name so much larger than the Jinky Coronados on the book cover. Jinky Coronado obviously had the harder and longer job.

The pictures really are what told the story. If the first chapter hadnt recapped Volume One I would have been totally lost. I never really got into it. The main girl, Ellie, broke down crying to many times for me. It portrayed her being weak and feeble, which I dont believe was the authors intentions. Ellies boyfriend, Will, was portrayed as stubborn and unbelieving of everything Ellie said to him. I thought the characters just werent very likable. Nothing in this book stood out at me or made me want more.

Homecoming was really short and not remember able.

Review Date: August 13th, 2008

*This book provided by a TeensReadToo.com Contest.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 12, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Just another comic book.

Reader reviewed by TheBookworm

Just another comic book.

Avalon High Coronation Volume 2: Homecoming by Meg Cabot Illustrated by Jinky Coronado*
2 out of 5 stars

Homecoming Volume Two in the Avalon High Coronation by Meg Cabot and illustrated by Jinky Coronado was not really literature at all, just a thicker comic book.

Marco, Wills dangerous brother, has been released from the mental hospital. Now what is Ellie suppose to do? With Marco on the loose again, she and Will are both in danger. But then again, how can they be in danger? All that stuff about Will being the reincarnation of King Arthur isnt real. Just some loony teachers idea. Why then is Ellie having nightmares about the end of the world? Mr. Morton, is convinced Ellies boyfriend, Will, is the reincarnation of King Arthur. And if Will doesnt believe that he is by The Hunters Moon, which is also Homecoming night, the world is going to end. How can Ellie convince Will he is the reincarnation of King Arthur, run for homecoming queen, survive school and Mr. Morton, solve Wills family problems, and not to mention, save the world?

There really wasnt a whole lot of words. The main thing this graphic novel had was pictures. I dont understand why they put Meg Cabots name so much larger than the Jinky Coronados on the book cover. Jinky Coronado obviously had the harder and longer job.

The pictures really are what told the story. If the first chapter hadnt recapped Volume One I would have been totally lost. I never really got into it. The main girl, Ellie, broke down crying to many times for me. It portrayed her being weak and feeble, which I dont believe was the authors intentions. Ellies boyfriend, Will, was portrayed as stubborn and unbelieving of everything Ellie said to him. I thought the characters just werent very likable. Nothing in this book stood out at me or made me want more.

Homecoming was really short and not remember able.

Review Date: August 13th, 2008

*This book provided by a TeensReadToo.com Contest.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)