Homecoming (Avalon High: Coronation #2)

Homecoming (Avalon High: Coronation #2)

 
0.0
 
2.5 (2)
1020   0
Write Review
Homecoming (Avalon High: Coronation #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 24, 2008
ISBN
9780061177095
Buy This Book
      
Avalon High seems like a typical high school, attended by typical students: There's Lance, the jock. Jennifer, the cheerleader. And Will, senior class president, quarterback, and all-around good guy. But not everybody at Avalon High is who they appear to be ... not even, as new student Ellie is about to discover, herself. What part does she play in the drama that is unfolding? What if the bizarre chain of events and coincidences she has pieced together means -- as with the court of King Arthur -- tragedy is fast approaching Avalon High?

Worst of all, what if there's nothing she can do about it?

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Not Meg Cabot's Best...

Reader reviewed by Booked Books

Ellie's terrifying nightmares about a psychotic and tyrannical Marco begins soon after she encounters him in the park. Recently released from the mental hospital, Marco seems normal and harmless enough. Will, Ellie's boyfriend as well as Marco's brother, thinks otherwise. He absolutely cannot forgive Marco for attempting to kill him and Ellie before. As if that wasn't drama enough, Will is possibly the reincarnation of King Arthur, while Ellie is the reincarnation of the Lady of the Lake. All of this is according to Mr. Morton, their civics teacher, who also believes that the world would collapse if Will doesn't embrace his destiny by homecoming night, the day of the Hunter's Moon.
Worrying about all of this leaves little time for Ellie to think about the fact that she's been nominated for homecoming queen and that mean-girl Morgan is trying to sabotage her chances.


Another light and easy-to-read novel, I just sped through the story pretty quickly. There wasn't much substance in it, so I feel like there isn't much to say about it. It was an enjoyable read and would have been more so if it weren't so predictable. Admittedly, I haven't read the first book, so I'm sure there are important bits and pieces I've missed because of that. I do love the legend of King Arthur; so naturally, I love how it was placed in a modern-day setting. The story does end with a cliff-hanger, leaving room for the next book in the series. Overall, it's a good read if you're on-the-go or just bored and looking for something light to read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Just another comic book.

Reader reviewed by TheBookworm

Just another comic book.

Avalon High Coronation Volume 2: Homecoming by Meg Cabot Illustrated by Jinky Coronado*
2 out of 5 stars

Homecoming Volume Two in the Avalon High Coronation by Meg Cabot and illustrated by Jinky Coronado was not really literature at all, just a thicker comic book.

Marco, Wills dangerous brother, has been released from the mental hospital. Now what is Ellie suppose to do? With Marco on the loose again, she and Will are both in danger. But then again, how can they be in danger? All that stuff about Will being the reincarnation of King Arthur isnt real. Just some loony teachers idea. Why then is Ellie having nightmares about the end of the world? Mr. Morton, is convinced Ellies boyfriend, Will, is the reincarnation of King Arthur. And if Will doesnt believe that he is by The Hunters Moon, which is also Homecoming night, the world is going to end. How can Ellie convince Will he is the reincarnation of King Arthur, run for homecoming queen, survive school and Mr. Morton, solve Wills family problems, and not to mention, save the world?

There really wasnt a whole lot of words. The main thing this graphic novel had was pictures. I dont understand why they put Meg Cabots name so much larger than the Jinky Coronados on the book cover. Jinky Coronado obviously had the harder and longer job.

The pictures really are what told the story. If the first chapter hadnt recapped Volume One I would have been totally lost. I never really got into it. The main girl, Ellie, broke down crying to many times for me. It portrayed her being weak and feeble, which I dont believe was the authors intentions. Ellies boyfriend, Will, was portrayed as stubborn and unbelieving of everything Ellie said to him. I thought the characters just werent very likable. Nothing in this book stood out at me or made me want more.

Homecoming was really short and not remember able.

Review Date: August 13th, 2008

*This book provided by a TeensReadToo.com Contest.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)