Homecoming (Avalon High: Coronation #2)

Homecoming (Avalon High: Coronation #2)

 
0.0
 
2.5 (2)
1509   0
Write Review
Homecoming (Avalon High: Coronation #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 24, 2008
ISBN
9780061177095
Buy This Book
      
Avalon High seems like a typical high school, attended by typical students: There's Lance, the jock. Jennifer, the cheerleader. And Will, senior class president, quarterback, and all-around good guy. But not everybody at Avalon High is who they appear to be ... not even, as new student Ellie is about to discover, herself. What part does she play in the drama that is unfolding? What if the bizarre chain of events and coincidences she has pieced together means -- as with the court of King Arthur -- tragedy is fast approaching Avalon High?

Worst of all, what if there's nothing she can do about it?

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Not Meg Cabot's Best...

Reader reviewed by Booked Books

Ellie's terrifying nightmares about a psychotic and tyrannical Marco begins soon after she encounters him in the park. Recently released from the mental hospital, Marco seems normal and harmless enough. Will, Ellie's boyfriend as well as Marco's brother, thinks otherwise. He absolutely cannot forgive Marco for attempting to kill him and Ellie before. As if that wasn't drama enough, Will is possibly the reincarnation of King Arthur, while Ellie is the reincarnation of the Lady of the Lake. All of this is according to Mr. Morton, their civics teacher, who also believes that the world would collapse if Will doesn't embrace his destiny by homecoming night, the day of the Hunter's Moon.
Worrying about all of this leaves little time for Ellie to think about the fact that she's been nominated for homecoming queen and that mean-girl Morgan is trying to sabotage her chances.


Another light and easy-to-read novel, I just sped through the story pretty quickly. There wasn't much substance in it, so I feel like there isn't much to say about it. It was an enjoyable read and would have been more so if it weren't so predictable. Admittedly, I haven't read the first book, so I'm sure there are important bits and pieces I've missed because of that. I do love the legend of King Arthur; so naturally, I love how it was placed in a modern-day setting. The story does end with a cliff-hanger, leaving room for the next book in the series. Overall, it's a good read if you're on-the-go or just bored and looking for something light to read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Just another comic book.

Reader reviewed by TheBookworm

Just another comic book.

Avalon High Coronation Volume 2: Homecoming by Meg Cabot Illustrated by Jinky Coronado*
2 out of 5 stars

Homecoming Volume Two in the Avalon High Coronation by Meg Cabot and illustrated by Jinky Coronado was not really literature at all, just a thicker comic book.

Marco, Wills dangerous brother, has been released from the mental hospital. Now what is Ellie suppose to do? With Marco on the loose again, she and Will are both in danger. But then again, how can they be in danger? All that stuff about Will being the reincarnation of King Arthur isnt real. Just some loony teachers idea. Why then is Ellie having nightmares about the end of the world? Mr. Morton, is convinced Ellies boyfriend, Will, is the reincarnation of King Arthur. And if Will doesnt believe that he is by The Hunters Moon, which is also Homecoming night, the world is going to end. How can Ellie convince Will he is the reincarnation of King Arthur, run for homecoming queen, survive school and Mr. Morton, solve Wills family problems, and not to mention, save the world?

There really wasnt a whole lot of words. The main thing this graphic novel had was pictures. I dont understand why they put Meg Cabots name so much larger than the Jinky Coronados on the book cover. Jinky Coronado obviously had the harder and longer job.

The pictures really are what told the story. If the first chapter hadnt recapped Volume One I would have been totally lost. I never really got into it. The main girl, Ellie, broke down crying to many times for me. It portrayed her being weak and feeble, which I dont believe was the authors intentions. Ellies boyfriend, Will, was portrayed as stubborn and unbelieving of everything Ellie said to him. I thought the characters just werent very likable. Nothing in this book stood out at me or made me want more.

Homecoming was really short and not remember able.

Review Date: August 13th, 2008

*This book provided by a TeensReadToo.com Contest.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Genuine Fraud
 
3.3
"GENUINE FRAUD by E. Lockhart is a character-driven thriller that is told in reverse chronological order. In essence, the book..."
Together at Midnight
 
3.3
"A cute and bittersweet story of young love at the wrong time. The story: Kendall has just returned..."
The Thousandth Floor
 
4.0
"Everything about this book is so glamorous, dramatic, and intriguing. Right down to that stunning cover. Katharine McGee..."
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
 
3.3
"It took me a long time to finish Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, but overall, this book turned out to..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
3.3
"A contemporary YA romance—heavy on the romance—with an Indian-American take on the attraction of opposites. The story is told..."
It's Not Me, It's You
 
3.7
"'It's Not Me, It's You' by Stephanie Kate Strohm provides a unique and somewhat irregular look into the dynamics of..."
You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome
 
5.0
"'You're Weird: A Creative Journal for Misfits, Oddballs, and Anyone Else Who's Uniquely Awesome' by Kate Peterson will allow anyone..."
The Riddle (Pellinor #2)
 
4.7
"THE RIDDLE by Alison Croggon is the second in the author's Pellinor series, and it picks up right where book..."
A Taxonomy of Love
 
3.3
"A story of love that spans a childhood. The story: Spencer is a lonely boy with Tourette's when he..."
The Selection Coloring Book
 
4.0
"Selection fans get excited! THE SELECTION COLORING BOOK, based on the series by Kiera Cass, is getting ready to celebrate..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Dune (Dune Chronicles #1)
 
5.0
"Its a classic. Not much more I can add."
On A LARP
 
3.3
"In ON A LARP, Sid is known to be a hacker after a past school prank, and she's a good..."
Code Name Verity
 
4.3
"The year is 1943. The setting locations are England, and Nazi-occupied France. The book is told in a..."
Good and Gone
 
3.7
"Road tripping with a purpose, Good and Bad is a journey, the reader won't soon forget. Lexi's brother,..."
Glow
 
5.0
"'There's a certain kind of light that I should have been afraid of all along.' Radium was discovered..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."