The Legend of Mickey Tussler

The Legend of Mickey Tussler

 
0.0
 
3.4 (5)
970   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0-312-38109-3
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

5 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.4
Plot 
 
3.2  (5)
Characters 
 
3.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Autistic Character Great Inspiration

I enjoyed very much reading Mickey's story.

Good Points
I received The Legend of Mickey Tussler from the author for my honest review.

When I was first asked to read and review I was a little skeptical because although I do love baseball it’s not my favorite topic to read about all the time. But after reading the synopsis and learning about the main character Mickey who has autism but still wants to be a baseball store. His story is very inspiring.

We meet Mickey while he is still living on his farm with his mother and his abusive father. Immediately I felt sorry for him because people didn’t really understand autism back then so basically anyone that had it was just labeled a retard. This Is exactly what poor Mickey had to deal with everywhere even from his own father. But luckily coach for the Milwaukee Brewers Arthur Murphy comes along and gives Mickey the chance of a lifetime.

I ended up really enjoying this story. I loved Mickey’s character a lot. He was entertaining, always had something positive to say no matter what was going on. He was a very talkative person and I loved that, so it annoyed me when the people he was babbling to would get annoyed because he was just talking I mean he can’t really help it. But I think I got over that quickly because Mickey didn’t seem to mind much when people told him to shut up.

His mom, Molly is another person I felt bad for because she was stuck in a nightmare that she couldn’t get out of. She hated the fact that her husband abused her and Mickey both verbally and physically. She really needed a way out and thankfully baseball was her savior as well.

I was a little afraid that because this book is about baseball that some of the game scenes would bore me but they didn’t at all. Every time there was a game in the book I actually felt like I was watching one and I was on the edge of my chair every time there was a stressful game!

I very much enjoyed this book which I gave a 4 out of 5 stars, and I can’t wait to check out what happens next in the companion novel Sophomore Campaign.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

I didn't like this book

While this book is well-written, I didn't like it at all. It just wasn't my type of book. I didn't like any of the characters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

I Loved It!

Reader reviewed by Bubba

I sort of agree with the other two kids who have read this book. I really like the main character Mickey. I thought he was interesting and not at all like some of the other characters I have read in school. I also really liked the way the author took baseball and combined it with some other things. It made the story really go fast and it never felt like I was reading a book. It was more like watching a movie or something like that.I think that kids who like sports will definitely like this book. I know I did. Maybe my school can include it on their Summer reading list. I wish we had to read more books like this one. Reading should be fun.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

The Best Book I Have Ever Read!

Reader reviewed by Jamie

I am not one to read a ton of books. The truth is, I much prefer to talk on-line or watch movies. The few books I have read have been pretty much boring and not very interesting. The Legend of Mickey Tussler is neither of those things. From the very beginning of the story, I was captured by this amazing character Mickey and all of the things that happened to him while growing up on a farm. The boy's parents, especially his father, are not too helpful and so Mickey struggles alot. This reminds me of so many of my friends who have parents that just do not "get them." I was also amazed at the author's ability to make Mickey and all of the characters so life like. The baseball scenes were cool, and the writing just sort of flowed. I was done with the book in record time -- 3 days. That has never happened before. I think thjis is the sort of book that should be read in schools. It teaches you about tolerating others who are different and shows kids that reading can be fun!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Great Book!

Reader reviewed by Brett

Imagine being a 17 year old autistic boy living in the 1940's with a horribly abusive father and no friends or school to attend. Now imagine that you have this amazing throwing arm, but nobody knows about it until one day, you are discovered by some scout. This is the life of Mickey Tussler. The story of Mickey is both interesting and exciting, and at times, very sad. But I have to say that it is one of the best books I have ever read, and many of my friends who are also in high school feel the same way. Although some of the vocabulary is difficult, the writing is really great. Every high school kid should read this book. The first chapter shows inspiration, with a scout randomly coming to Mickey's house. It seems like a dream, and shows inspiration that one boy, who isn't as `perfect' as everyone, shows anyone could do anything. Look for your talents, and look through your flaws. I think that is what the author was trying to say. He hit home with this story, and hopefully he will write many more stories like this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)