Books Young Adult Fiction The Legend of Mickey Tussler

The Legend of Mickey Tussler

 
0.0
 
3.2 (5)
723   0
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0-312-38109-3
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Plot 
 
3.2  (5)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
I enjoyed very much reading Mickey's story.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Paige Reviewed by Paige April 06, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (53)

Autistic Character Great Inspiration

I enjoyed very much reading Mickey's story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
While this book is well-written, I didn't like it at all. It just wasn't my type of book. I didn't like any of the characters.
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

I didn't like this book

While this book is well-written, I didn't like it at all. It just wasn't my type of book. I didn't like any of the characters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Bubba

I sort of agree with the other two kids who have read this book. I really like the main character Mickey. I thought he was interesting and not at all like some of the other characters I have read in school. I also really liked the way the author took baseball and combined it with some other things. It made the story really go fast and it never felt like I was reading a book. It was more like watching a movie or something like that.I think that kids who like sports will definitely like this book. I know I did. Maybe my school can include it on their Summer reading list. I wish we had to read more books like this one. Reading should be fun.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 28, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

I Loved It!

Reader reviewed by Bubba

I sort of agree with the other two kids who have read this book. I really like the main character Mickey. I thought he was interesting and not at all like some of the other characters I have read in school. I also really liked the way the author took baseball and combined it with some other things. It made the story really go fast and it never felt like I was reading a book. It was more like watching a movie or something like that.I think that kids who like sports will definitely like this book. I know I did. Maybe my school can include it on their Summer reading list. I wish we had to read more books like this one. Reading should be fun.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Brett

Imagine being a 17 year old autistic boy living in the 1940's with a horribly abusive father and no friends or school to attend. Now imagine that you have this amazing throwing arm, but nobody knows about it until one day, you are discovered by some scout. This is the life of Mickey Tussler. The story of Mickey is both interesting and exciting, and at times, very sad. But I have to say that it is one of the best books I have ever read, and many of my friends who are also in high school feel the same way. Although some of the vocabulary is difficult, the writing is really great. Every high school kid should read this book. The first chapter shows inspiration, with a scout randomly coming to Mickey's house. It seems like a dream, and shows inspiration that one boy, who isn't as `perfect' as everyone, shows anyone could do anything. Look for your talents, and look through your flaws. I think that is what the author was trying to say. He hit home with this story, and hopefully he will write many more stories like this.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 06, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Great Book!

Reader reviewed by Brett

Imagine being a 17 year old autistic boy living in the 1940's with a horribly abusive father and no friends or school to attend. Now imagine that you have this amazing throwing arm, but nobody knows about it until one day, you are discovered by some scout. This is the life of Mickey Tussler. The story of Mickey is both interesting and exciting, and at times, very sad. But I have to say that it is one of the best books I have ever read, and many of my friends who are also in high school feel the same way. Although some of the vocabulary is difficult, the writing is really great. Every high school kid should read this book. The first chapter shows inspiration, with a scout randomly coming to Mickey's house. It seems like a dream, and shows inspiration that one boy, who isn't as `perfect' as everyone, shows anyone could do anything. Look for your talents, and look through your flaws. I think that is what the author was trying to say. He hit home with this story, and hopefully he will write many more stories like this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Jamie

I am not one to read a ton of books. The truth is, I much prefer to talk on-line or watch movies. The few books I have read have been pretty much boring and not very interesting. The Legend of Mickey Tussler is neither of those things. From the very beginning of the story, I was captured by this amazing character Mickey and all of the things that happened to him while growing up on a farm. The boy's parents, especially his father, are not too helpful and so Mickey struggles alot. This reminds me of so many of my friends who have parents that just do not "get them." I was also amazed at the author's ability to make Mickey and all of the characters so life like. The baseball scenes were cool, and the writing just sort of flowed. I was done with the book in record time -- 3 days. That has never happened before. I think thjis is the sort of book that should be read in schools. It teaches you about tolerating others who are different and shows kids that reading can be fun!
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader July 06, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

The Best Book I Have Ever Read!

Reader reviewed by Jamie

I am not one to read a ton of books. The truth is, I much prefer to talk on-line or watch movies. The few books I have read have been pretty much boring and not very interesting. The Legend of Mickey Tussler is neither of those things. From the very beginning of the story, I was captured by this amazing character Mickey and all of the things that happened to him while growing up on a farm. The boy's parents, especially his father, are not too helpful and so Mickey struggles alot. This reminds me of so many of my friends who have parents that just do not "get them." I was also amazed at the author's ability to make Mickey and all of the characters so life like. The baseball scenes were cool, and the writing just sort of flowed. I was done with the book in record time -- 3 days. That has never happened before. I think thjis is the sort of book that should be read in schools. It teaches you about tolerating others who are different and shows kids that reading can be fun!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)