The Legend of Mickey Tussler

The Legend of Mickey Tussler

 
0.0
 
3.4 (5)
1792   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0-312-38109-3
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

5 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.4
Plot 
 
3.2  (5)
Characters 
 
3.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Autistic Character Great Inspiration

I enjoyed very much reading Mickey's story.

Good Points
I received The Legend of Mickey Tussler from the author for my honest review.

When I was first asked to read and review I was a little skeptical because although I do love baseball it’s not my favorite topic to read about all the time. But after reading the synopsis and learning about the main character Mickey who has autism but still wants to be a baseball store. His story is very inspiring.

We meet Mickey while he is still living on his farm with his mother and his abusive father. Immediately I felt sorry for him because people didn’t really understand autism back then so basically anyone that had it was just labeled a retard. This Is exactly what poor Mickey had to deal with everywhere even from his own father. But luckily coach for the Milwaukee Brewers Arthur Murphy comes along and gives Mickey the chance of a lifetime.

I ended up really enjoying this story. I loved Mickey’s character a lot. He was entertaining, always had something positive to say no matter what was going on. He was a very talkative person and I loved that, so it annoyed me when the people he was babbling to would get annoyed because he was just talking I mean he can’t really help it. But I think I got over that quickly because Mickey didn’t seem to mind much when people told him to shut up.

His mom, Molly is another person I felt bad for because she was stuck in a nightmare that she couldn’t get out of. She hated the fact that her husband abused her and Mickey both verbally and physically. She really needed a way out and thankfully baseball was her savior as well.

I was a little afraid that because this book is about baseball that some of the game scenes would bore me but they didn’t at all. Every time there was a game in the book I actually felt like I was watching one and I was on the edge of my chair every time there was a stressful game!

I very much enjoyed this book which I gave a 4 out of 5 stars, and I can’t wait to check out what happens next in the companion novel Sophomore Campaign.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

I didn't like this book

While this book is well-written, I didn't like it at all. It just wasn't my type of book. I didn't like any of the characters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

I Loved It!

Reader reviewed by Bubba

I sort of agree with the other two kids who have read this book. I really like the main character Mickey. I thought he was interesting and not at all like some of the other characters I have read in school. I also really liked the way the author took baseball and combined it with some other things. It made the story really go fast and it never felt like I was reading a book. It was more like watching a movie or something like that.I think that kids who like sports will definitely like this book. I know I did. Maybe my school can include it on their Summer reading list. I wish we had to read more books like this one. Reading should be fun.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

The Best Book I Have Ever Read!

Reader reviewed by Jamie

I am not one to read a ton of books. The truth is, I much prefer to talk on-line or watch movies. The few books I have read have been pretty much boring and not very interesting. The Legend of Mickey Tussler is neither of those things. From the very beginning of the story, I was captured by this amazing character Mickey and all of the things that happened to him while growing up on a farm. The boy's parents, especially his father, are not too helpful and so Mickey struggles alot. This reminds me of so many of my friends who have parents that just do not "get them." I was also amazed at the author's ability to make Mickey and all of the characters so life like. The baseball scenes were cool, and the writing just sort of flowed. I was done with the book in record time -- 3 days. That has never happened before. I think thjis is the sort of book that should be read in schools. It teaches you about tolerating others who are different and shows kids that reading can be fun!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Great Book!

Reader reviewed by Brett

Imagine being a 17 year old autistic boy living in the 1940's with a horribly abusive father and no friends or school to attend. Now imagine that you have this amazing throwing arm, but nobody knows about it until one day, you are discovered by some scout. This is the life of Mickey Tussler. The story of Mickey is both interesting and exciting, and at times, very sad. But I have to say that it is one of the best books I have ever read, and many of my friends who are also in high school feel the same way. Although some of the vocabulary is difficult, the writing is really great. Every high school kid should read this book. The first chapter shows inspiration, with a scout randomly coming to Mickey's house. It seems like a dream, and shows inspiration that one boy, who isn't as `perfect' as everyone, shows anyone could do anything. Look for your talents, and look through your flaws. I think that is what the author was trying to say. He hit home with this story, and hopefully he will write many more stories like this.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
"#Murderfunding is an engaging and fast-paced sequel to #murdertrending. Alcatraz 2.0 has been shut down and #CinderellaSurvivor (Dee) and her..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."