The Wolf Pit

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
534   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0374291950
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Outstanding

Reader reviewed by Mairi

While her only son, called Robin, is away fighting in the Civil War, Aemilia meets a mute slave girl, Agate Williamson, who convinces her to buy her freedom. She does and, while Robin suffers away from home, Agate (who renames herself Agate Salvia Freebody) tells Aemilia the story of her life and how she came to be mute. The two women bond over the story, for neither has led an easy life- Aemilia lost her husband and most of her children, and Agate has been cruelly treated.

I read this book not because I was particularly interested in it (the Civil War is very over represented in historical fiction) but because it did not look like a bad book and I needed something to read. I am glad I read it because, while it did not put a new perspective on things, it made the old perspective much more vibrant. The fact that it alternated between Robin's story and Agate's made it particularly interesting.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good historical fiction, for it is that- after reading it, other book about the Civil War seem dull and unimaginative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

    

   

   

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

25664625.jpg
Little Red is on her way to visit Auntie Rosie...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
27210475.jpg
For fans of Fancy Nancy, Ladybug Girl, and Chu’s First...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cake Pop Crush
Alicia Ramirez has always loved baking. Her family owns Say...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Recreated (The Reawakened Series)
From Colleen Houck, New York Times bestselling author of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Still a Gorilla
Will Willy be another type of animal? No! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Please Say Please
How do you ask for what you'd like? Do...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat's Got Class
New York Times bestselling author and artist James Dean brings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Quinn Cutler is sixteen and the daughter of a high-profile...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
***Finalist in the National Indie Excellence Awards for Young...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Icarus
Daedelum's children pray for the honor of being chosen...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Run
Run
Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lost-in-Wonderland-evernightpublishing-JayAheer2016-smallpreview.jpg
Monsters, serial killers, and imaginary friends—being a Wonderlander can...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
P.S. I Like You
Signed, sealed, delivered... While spacing out in Chemistry class,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw
For the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose & Thorn (Ash & Bramble #2)
This beauty isn’t sleeping! Sarah Prineas’s darkly imaginative retelling breaks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Retreat (The After Trilogy: Book One)
Earth was ruined. Humankind destroyed. And it’s old news. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)