The Wolf Pit

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
509   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0374291950
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Outstanding

Reader reviewed by Mairi

While her only son, called Robin, is away fighting in the Civil War, Aemilia meets a mute slave girl, Agate Williamson, who convinces her to buy her freedom. She does and, while Robin suffers away from home, Agate (who renames herself Agate Salvia Freebody) tells Aemilia the story of her life and how she came to be mute. The two women bond over the story, for neither has led an easy life- Aemilia lost her husband and most of her children, and Agate has been cruelly treated.

I read this book not because I was particularly interested in it (the Civil War is very over represented in historical fiction) but because it did not look like a bad book and I needed something to read. I am glad I read it because, while it did not put a new perspective on things, it made the old perspective much more vibrant. The fact that it alternated between Robin's story and Agate's made it particularly interesting.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good historical fiction, for it is that- after reading it, other book about the Civil War seem dull and unimaginative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frannie and Tru
When Frannie Little eavesdrops on her parents fighting she discovers...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)