Books Young Adult Fiction The Wolf Pit

The Wolf Pit

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
299   0
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0374291950
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Mairi

While her only son, called Robin, is away fighting in the Civil War, Aemilia meets a mute slave girl, Agate Williamson, who convinces her to buy her freedom. She does and, while Robin suffers away from home, Agate (who renames herself Agate Salvia Freebody) tells Aemilia the story of her life and how she came to be mute. The two women bond over the story, for neither has led an easy life- Aemilia lost her husband and most of her children, and Agate has been cruelly treated.

I read this book not because I was particularly interested in it (the Civil War is very over represented in historical fiction) but because it did not look like a bad book and I needed something to read. I am glad I read it because, while it did not put a new perspective on things, it made the old perspective much more vibrant. The fact that it alternated between Robin's story and Agate's made it particularly interesting.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good historical fiction, for it is that- after reading it, other book about the Civil War seem dull and unimaginative.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 15, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Outstanding

Reader reviewed by Mairi

While her only son, called Robin, is away fighting in the Civil War, Aemilia meets a mute slave girl, Agate Williamson, who convinces her to buy her freedom. She does and, while Robin suffers away from home, Agate (who renames herself Agate Salvia Freebody) tells Aemilia the story of her life and how she came to be mute. The two women bond over the story, for neither has led an easy life- Aemilia lost her husband and most of her children, and Agate has been cruelly treated.

I read this book not because I was particularly interested in it (the Civil War is very over represented in historical fiction) but because it did not look like a bad book and I needed something to read. I am glad I read it because, while it did not put a new perspective on things, it made the old perspective much more vibrant. The fact that it alternated between Robin's story and Agate's made it particularly interesting.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good historical fiction, for it is that- after reading it, other book about the Civil War seem dull and unimaginative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)