The Wolf Pit

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
461   0
Write Review
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0374291950
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Outstanding

Reader reviewed by Mairi

While her only son, called Robin, is away fighting in the Civil War, Aemilia meets a mute slave girl, Agate Williamson, who convinces her to buy her freedom. She does and, while Robin suffers away from home, Agate (who renames herself Agate Salvia Freebody) tells Aemilia the story of her life and how she came to be mute. The two women bond over the story, for neither has led an easy life- Aemilia lost her husband and most of her children, and Agate has been cruelly treated.

I read this book not because I was particularly interested in it (the Civil War is very over represented in historical fiction) but because it did not look like a bad book and I needed something to read. I am glad I read it because, while it did not put a new perspective on things, it made the old perspective much more vibrant. The fact that it alternated between Robin's story and Agate's made it particularly interesting.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good historical fiction, for it is that- after reading it, other book about the Civil War seem dull and unimaginative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)