Keturah and Lord Death

Keturah and Lord Death

 
0.0
 
4.7 (4)
1311   0
Write Review
Keturah and Lord Death
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 28, 2006
ISBN
1932425292
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (4)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

It will tell you a story of magic and love..

The story was sad and sweet at the same time, I loved it!
I highly recommend it.

Good Points
“I will tell you a story of magic and love, of daring and death, and one to comfort your heart. It will be the truest story I have ever told. Now listen, and tell me if it is not so"

Oh it was so!!
This book is about Keturah,a very beautiful 16 year old storyteller. Her ability to have people wanting to hear more is what got her a "favor" from Lord Death to live a day longer. We watch her wandering around the village trying to find her true love so she can save the village and herself from Death.
Lord Death is described to us more humane that we would expect him to be...
“What does it feel like to die, sir?” I asked. “It hurts—I know only that.” We walked for some time in silence. At last he said, “It is life that hurts you, not death.”

I liked Martine Leavitt's writing and the way she described the scenery and the events. It like I was alongside Keturah through the whole novel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Can a good story save you from Death?

Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

It was after reading another review on this book that made me decided to read it. It is not a thick book, and i finished reading this in 1 day. It is a very pretty story about true love and death. This book is written in first person, with the main character telling her story as it unravels.

Keturah is an amazing story-teller, and when she was sixteen, she got lost in the forest and met Death himself. She told Death the begining of a tale about girl finding a love that will conquor even death. She bargined with Death, gaining another day to live for the ending of the story. If she can find true love in this one day, Death with spare her. Death also warned Keturah about a plague that is coming to her town.

Can Keturah find true love in one day and convince him to propose on the spot? Can she stop the plague from killing all that she holds dear? Can she help her friends get their happy endings? Will she be lost to Death or will she conquor Death with true love?

I really enjoyed this story of a girl who dreams of true love and is determined to find it, who is not afraid of Death but is willing to sacrafice herself for the lives of everyone in the village. This story gives the reader a whole new perspective on death, and how by only being so close to death will you realise how wonderful life and everything that you take for granted is.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Stunning

Reader reviewed by Nabi

Once upon a time in a small village there lived a girl named Keturah. One day she say the hart and she decided to follow it. But she lost the hart and with that, she lost the way. She wandered for days in the forest until finally Lord Death comes for her. Keturah is not ready to leave her life and so she begins to weave a tale. It is a story of love. A love so great that it will conquer all. A love that Death can only long for. Keturah withholds the ending and so Death strikes a bargain. If she can find her true love in a day then he will let her live. If not she will die....


Martine Leavitt's storytelling is flawless and the ending is spectacular. I can't wait for Martine Leavitt's next book to be released.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Fairy tale romance

Reader reviewed by mlecompt

Keturah gets lost in the forest one night and remains lost for three days. When Death finally comes for her, she convinces him to let her have one more day of life and to allow her to keep living if she can find her true love. She keeps stringing Death along as a visit from the King prompts a fair and Keturah desperately searches for her true love.

This book was paced a little slowly for me in some parts, but it is a good book in the fairy tale genre. For readers who like romantic fairy tales.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Lifeline
 
4.0
"Eli has it all until he falls prey to the addiction of drugs. His last use of heroin nearly kills..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Need an adventure to get lost in? Read this book!! It is gripping from beginning to end with..."
Stealing Liberty
 
4.7
"I am amazed as to how versatile Jennifer Froelich is as an author. Each book is so creative and unique..."
Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."