Books Young Adult Fiction Keturah and Lord Death

Keturah and Lord Death

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/90/9f/b2/keturah-and-lord-death-49-1375456358.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (4)
474   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 28, 2006
ISBN
1932425292
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (4)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
The story was sad and sweet at the same time, I loved it!
I highly recommend it.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

It will tell you a story of magic and love..

The story was sad and sweet at the same time, I loved it!
I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

It was after reading another review on this book that made me decided to read it. It is not a thick book, and i finished reading this in 1 day. It is a very pretty story about true love and death. This book is written in first person, with the main character telling her story as it unravels.

Keturah is an amazing story-teller, and when she was sixteen, she got lost in the forest and met Death himself. She told Death the begining of a tale about girl finding a love that will conquor even death. She bargined with Death, gaining another day to live for the ending of the story. If she can find true love in this one day, Death with spare her. Death also warned Keturah about a plague that is coming to her town.

Can Keturah find true love in one day and convince him to propose on the spot? Can she stop the plague from killing all that she holds dear? Can she help her friends get their happy endings? Will she be lost to Death or will she conquor Death with true love?

I really enjoyed this story of a girl who dreams of true love and is determined to find it, who is not afraid of Death but is willing to sacrafice herself for the lives of everyone in the village. This story gives the reader a whole new perspective on death, and how by only being so close to death will you realise how wonderful life and everything that you take for granted is.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 19, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Can a good story save you from Death?

Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

It was after reading another review on this book that made me decided to read it. It is not a thick book, and i finished reading this in 1 day. It is a very pretty story about true love and death. This book is written in first person, with the main character telling her story as it unravels.

Keturah is an amazing story-teller, and when she was sixteen, she got lost in the forest and met Death himself. She told Death the begining of a tale about girl finding a love that will conquor even death. She bargined with Death, gaining another day to live for the ending of the story. If she can find true love in this one day, Death with spare her. Death also warned Keturah about a plague that is coming to her town.

Can Keturah find true love in one day and convince him to propose on the spot? Can she stop the plague from killing all that she holds dear? Can she help her friends get their happy endings? Will she be lost to Death or will she conquor Death with true love?

I really enjoyed this story of a girl who dreams of true love and is determined to find it, who is not afraid of Death but is willing to sacrafice herself for the lives of everyone in the village. This story gives the reader a whole new perspective on death, and how by only being so close to death will you realise how wonderful life and everything that you take for granted is.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Nabi

Once upon a time in a small village there lived a girl named Keturah. One day she say the hart and she decided to follow it. But she lost the hart and with that, she lost the way. She wandered for days in the forest until finally Lord Death comes for her. Keturah is not ready to leave her life and so she begins to weave a tale. It is a story of love. A love so great that it will conquer all. A love that Death can only long for. Keturah withholds the ending and so Death strikes a bargain. If she can find her true love in a day then he will let her live. If not she will die....


Martine Leavitt's storytelling is flawless and the ending is spectacular. I can't wait for Martine Leavitt's next book to be released.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 19, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Stunning

Reader reviewed by Nabi

Once upon a time in a small village there lived a girl named Keturah. One day she say the hart and she decided to follow it. But she lost the hart and with that, she lost the way. She wandered for days in the forest until finally Lord Death comes for her. Keturah is not ready to leave her life and so she begins to weave a tale. It is a story of love. A love so great that it will conquer all. A love that Death can only long for. Keturah withholds the ending and so Death strikes a bargain. If she can find her true love in a day then he will let her live. If not she will die....


Martine Leavitt's storytelling is flawless and the ending is spectacular. I can't wait for Martine Leavitt's next book to be released.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by mlecompt

Keturah gets lost in the forest one night and remains lost for three days. When Death finally comes for her, she convinces him to let her have one more day of life and to allow her to keep living if she can find her true love. She keeps stringing Death along as a visit from the King prompts a fair and Keturah desperately searches for her true love.

This book was paced a little slowly for me in some parts, but it is a good book in the fairy tale genre. For readers who like romantic fairy tales.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 18, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Fairy tale romance

Reader reviewed by mlecompt

Keturah gets lost in the forest one night and remains lost for three days. When Death finally comes for her, she convinces him to let her have one more day of life and to allow her to keep living if she can find her true love. She keeps stringing Death along as a visit from the King prompts a fair and Keturah desperately searches for her true love.

This book was paced a little slowly for me in some parts, but it is a good book in the fairy tale genre. For readers who like romantic fairy tales.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)