Books Young Adult Fiction Keturah and Lord Death

Keturah and Lord Death

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/90/9f/b2/keturah-and-lord-death-49-1375456358.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (4)
521   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 28, 2006
ISBN
1932425292
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (4)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
The story was sad and sweet at the same time, I loved it!
I highly recommend it.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

It will tell you a story of magic and love..

The story was sad and sweet at the same time, I loved it!
I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

It was after reading another review on this book that made me decided to read it. It is not a thick book, and i finished reading this in 1 day. It is a very pretty story about true love and death. This book is written in first person, with the main character telling her story as it unravels.

Keturah is an amazing story-teller, and when she was sixteen, she got lost in the forest and met Death himself. She told Death the begining of a tale about girl finding a love that will conquor even death. She bargined with Death, gaining another day to live for the ending of the story. If she can find true love in this one day, Death with spare her. Death also warned Keturah about a plague that is coming to her town.

Can Keturah find true love in one day and convince him to propose on the spot? Can she stop the plague from killing all that she holds dear? Can she help her friends get their happy endings? Will she be lost to Death or will she conquor Death with true love?

I really enjoyed this story of a girl who dreams of true love and is determined to find it, who is not afraid of Death but is willing to sacrafice herself for the lives of everyone in the village. This story gives the reader a whole new perspective on death, and how by only being so close to death will you realise how wonderful life and everything that you take for granted is.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 19, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Can a good story save you from Death?

Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

It was after reading another review on this book that made me decided to read it. It is not a thick book, and i finished reading this in 1 day. It is a very pretty story about true love and death. This book is written in first person, with the main character telling her story as it unravels.

Keturah is an amazing story-teller, and when she was sixteen, she got lost in the forest and met Death himself. She told Death the begining of a tale about girl finding a love that will conquor even death. She bargined with Death, gaining another day to live for the ending of the story. If she can find true love in this one day, Death with spare her. Death also warned Keturah about a plague that is coming to her town.

Can Keturah find true love in one day and convince him to propose on the spot? Can she stop the plague from killing all that she holds dear? Can she help her friends get their happy endings? Will she be lost to Death or will she conquor Death with true love?

I really enjoyed this story of a girl who dreams of true love and is determined to find it, who is not afraid of Death but is willing to sacrafice herself for the lives of everyone in the village. This story gives the reader a whole new perspective on death, and how by only being so close to death will you realise how wonderful life and everything that you take for granted is.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Nabi

Once upon a time in a small village there lived a girl named Keturah. One day she say the hart and she decided to follow it. But she lost the hart and with that, she lost the way. She wandered for days in the forest until finally Lord Death comes for her. Keturah is not ready to leave her life and so she begins to weave a tale. It is a story of love. A love so great that it will conquer all. A love that Death can only long for. Keturah withholds the ending and so Death strikes a bargain. If she can find her true love in a day then he will let her live. If not she will die....


Martine Leavitt's storytelling is flawless and the ending is spectacular. I can't wait for Martine Leavitt's next book to be released.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 19, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Stunning

Reader reviewed by Nabi

Once upon a time in a small village there lived a girl named Keturah. One day she say the hart and she decided to follow it. But she lost the hart and with that, she lost the way. She wandered for days in the forest until finally Lord Death comes for her. Keturah is not ready to leave her life and so she begins to weave a tale. It is a story of love. A love so great that it will conquer all. A love that Death can only long for. Keturah withholds the ending and so Death strikes a bargain. If she can find her true love in a day then he will let her live. If not she will die....


Martine Leavitt's storytelling is flawless and the ending is spectacular. I can't wait for Martine Leavitt's next book to be released.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by mlecompt

Keturah gets lost in the forest one night and remains lost for three days. When Death finally comes for her, she convinces him to let her have one more day of life and to allow her to keep living if she can find her true love. She keeps stringing Death along as a visit from the King prompts a fair and Keturah desperately searches for her true love.

This book was paced a little slowly for me in some parts, but it is a good book in the fairy tale genre. For readers who like romantic fairy tales.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 18, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Fairy tale romance

Reader reviewed by mlecompt

Keturah gets lost in the forest one night and remains lost for three days. When Death finally comes for her, she convinces him to let her have one more day of life and to allow her to keep living if she can find her true love. She keeps stringing Death along as a visit from the King prompts a fair and Keturah desperately searches for her true love.

This book was paced a little slowly for me in some parts, but it is a good book in the fairy tale genre. For readers who like romantic fairy tales.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)