Amber

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/1b/b2/bc/5900_2332535-1349881078.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
498   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 01, 2007
ISBN
0595470858
Buy This Book
      
Amber Lee thinks she is haunted. Approaching her 10th birthday, she and her mom have moved again. But she is sure they have been followed-by The Voice. It stalks her wherever she goes, and is causing her to do bad things now. Could The Voice belong to an evil spirit? Is it just her imagination?

Editor reviews

Amber Lee is almost ten years old. She lives with her mother and the two of them have been moving all of her life. In the last five years, Amber has been to twelve different schools, so shes used to being the new girl. The worst part is that she never gets to say good-bye.

The frequent and unpredictable moves are necessary to hide from her mothers violent ex-boyfriends. Amber and her mom are like a team, and her mom is really Ambers only friend in the world. There was one time, when one of the ex-boyfriends came back to find them in their apartment, and Amber and her mother fought together to close the door on him. Amber remembers how safe she felt, how relieved she was when she heard the click of the lock. They fled the next day.

Even though her mom might not always be there for her, Amber knows that the love between them is strong. Ambers love for her mom is unconditional love of the purest form. Regardless of what addictions her mom might have or what she does for a living, Amber is never angry or resentful. Instead, she depends on her mom for love and protection.

One way for Amber to copy with her rough life is with her imagination. When things get especially bad, she pretends that she is in a fantasy world where she is a princess and nothing bad can happen to her. Recently though, she has been plagued by The Voice. A nightmare come to life that haunts her with all of her worst memories.

Her 10th birthday is in just a few days, but with the bumpy ride that is her life, Amber has no idea what her birthday has in store for her.

Dave Webb tells a difficult story authentically through Ambers eyes, describing situations and thoughts in the way that only a child can. He thoroughly explores the relationship between mother and daughter in a story so touching that it brought tears to my eyes. While this story is written in a way that younger children will be able to understand and relate, some of the themes of violence and drugs might not be appropriate for younger children. This book is labeled as suitable for 14+, but I think if there are mature younger readers whose parents approve, they would learn a lot from Ambers story as well. By the same token, although this story is written from the perspective of a ten-year-old, older readers are sure to enjoy and relate to Ambers story as well. Reading this story made me cherish my family so much more, and made me more grateful for the stable life that Im living right now.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Haunting Sorrow & Sincere Hope

Amber Lee is almost ten years old. She lives with her mother and the two of them have been moving all of her life. In the last five years, Amber has been to twelve different schools, so shes used to being the new girl. The worst part is that she never gets to say good-bye.

The frequent and unpredictable moves are necessary to hide from her mothers violent ex-boyfriends. Amber and her mom are like a team, and her mom is really Ambers only friend in the world. There was one time, when one of the ex-boyfriends came back to find them in their apartment, and Amber and her mother fought together to close the door on him. Amber remembers how safe she felt, how relieved she was when she heard the click of the lock. They fled the next day.

Even though her mom might not always be there for her, Amber knows that the love between them is strong. Ambers love for her mom is unconditional love of the purest form. Regardless of what addictions her mom might have or what she does for a living, Amber is never angry or resentful. Instead, she depends on her mom for love and protection.

One way for Amber to copy with her rough life is with her imagination. When things get especially bad, she pretends that she is in a fantasy world where she is a princess and nothing bad can happen to her. Recently though, she has been plagued by The Voice. A nightmare come to life that haunts her with all of her worst memories.

Her 10th birthday is in just a few days, but with the bumpy ride that is her life, Amber has no idea what her birthday has in store for her.

Dave Webb tells a difficult story authentically through Ambers eyes, describing situations and thoughts in the way that only a child can. He thoroughly explores the relationship between mother and daughter in a story so touching that it brought tears to my eyes. While this story is written in a way that younger children will be able to understand and relate, some of the themes of violence and drugs might not be appropriate for younger children. This book is labeled as suitable for 14+, but I think if there are mature younger readers whose parents approve, they would learn a lot from Ambers story as well. By the same token, although this story is written from the perspective of a ten-year-old, older readers are sure to enjoy and relate to Ambers story as well. Reading this story made me cherish my family so much more, and made me more grateful for the stable life that Im living right now.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)