Books Young Adult Fiction Scary Beautiful

Scary Beautiful

 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
704   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
068987619X
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by ambeen

This is such a sweet book. The perfect piece of fluff to read after a long day. The romance is, of course, the focal point as in the other Simon RoComs. The only thing that I think could have made the book even better is if Billy was a lot geekier. He's supposed to be this geeked out dude, but he's actually just a normal guy who is smart. Not exactly as geeky as the summary leads the reader to believe, or the cover for that matter. A geekier Billy could have made for more tension in the book too. Chloe's friends all seemed to approve of Billy so there was no real "ew, a geek?" stuff to overcome. I love an underdog story so maybe that's why I was wanting more of that tension! Overall though, I would definitely recommend Scary Beautiful!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 11, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Sweet and Fluffy

Reader reviewed by ambeen

This is such a sweet book. The perfect piece of fluff to read after a long day. The romance is, of course, the focal point as in the other Simon RoComs. The only thing that I think could have made the book even better is if Billy was a lot geekier. He's supposed to be this geeked out dude, but he's actually just a normal guy who is smart. Not exactly as geeky as the summary leads the reader to believe, or the cover for that matter. A geekier Billy could have made for more tension in the book too. Chloe's friends all seemed to approve of Billy so there was no real "ew, a geek?" stuff to overcome. I love an underdog story so maybe that's why I was wanting more of that tension! Overall though, I would definitely recommend Scary Beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by abscae

"Chloe Rand's life is great."

That's how Chloe views her life. She has a serious boyfriend, and life just works for her. But when her boyfriend moves across the country, and suddenly decides that keeping up a long distance relationship isn't worth it, Chloe's suddenly single. And that might not mean much more than a broken heart to someone else, but with someone like Chloe, a 'scary beautiful' gal, the girls are suddenly acting like she's gonna steal all the boys or something. And the guys are acting just as weird.

Yet Chloe falls hard for a guy: Billy, the geek. And Chloe's lost on what to do around him.

I actually liked the book. I loved the concept of it, and I loved the writing, it wasn't as superficial as other books might be.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 15, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

surprising

Reader reviewed by abscae

"Chloe Rand's life is great."

That's how Chloe views her life. She has a serious boyfriend, and life just works for her. But when her boyfriend moves across the country, and suddenly decides that keeping up a long distance relationship isn't worth it, Chloe's suddenly single. And that might not mean much more than a broken heart to someone else, but with someone like Chloe, a 'scary beautiful' gal, the girls are suddenly acting like she's gonna steal all the boys or something. And the guys are acting just as weird.

Yet Chloe falls hard for a guy: Billy, the geek. And Chloe's lost on what to do around him.

I actually liked the book. I loved the concept of it, and I loved the writing, it wasn't as superficial as other books might be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One
Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After almost a year in Japan, Katie Greene has finally unearthed the terrible secret behind her boyfriend Tomohiro's deadly ability...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
chain reactions.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
LEGO Chain Reactions is packed full of ideas, instructions, and inspiration for 10 LEGO machines that spin, swing, pivot, roll,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for teen readers who are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For decades, Sami has kept the key to the geniean and human races hidden. She is used to a life...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting new stand-alone football novel. When...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)