Books Young Adult Fiction Scary Beautiful

Scary Beautiful

 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
589   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
ISBN
068987619X
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by ambeen

This is such a sweet book. The perfect piece of fluff to read after a long day. The romance is, of course, the focal point as in the other Simon RoComs. The only thing that I think could have made the book even better is if Billy was a lot geekier. He's supposed to be this geeked out dude, but he's actually just a normal guy who is smart. Not exactly as geeky as the summary leads the reader to believe, or the cover for that matter. A geekier Billy could have made for more tension in the book too. Chloe's friends all seemed to approve of Billy so there was no real "ew, a geek?" stuff to overcome. I love an underdog story so maybe that's why I was wanting more of that tension! Overall though, I would definitely recommend Scary Beautiful!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 11, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Sweet and Fluffy

Reader reviewed by ambeen

This is such a sweet book. The perfect piece of fluff to read after a long day. The romance is, of course, the focal point as in the other Simon RoComs. The only thing that I think could have made the book even better is if Billy was a lot geekier. He's supposed to be this geeked out dude, but he's actually just a normal guy who is smart. Not exactly as geeky as the summary leads the reader to believe, or the cover for that matter. A geekier Billy could have made for more tension in the book too. Chloe's friends all seemed to approve of Billy so there was no real "ew, a geek?" stuff to overcome. I love an underdog story so maybe that's why I was wanting more of that tension! Overall though, I would definitely recommend Scary Beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by abscae

"Chloe Rand's life is great."

That's how Chloe views her life. She has a serious boyfriend, and life just works for her. But when her boyfriend moves across the country, and suddenly decides that keeping up a long distance relationship isn't worth it, Chloe's suddenly single. And that might not mean much more than a broken heart to someone else, but with someone like Chloe, a 'scary beautiful' gal, the girls are suddenly acting like she's gonna steal all the boys or something. And the guys are acting just as weird.

Yet Chloe falls hard for a guy: Billy, the geek. And Chloe's lost on what to do around him.

I actually liked the book. I loved the concept of it, and I loved the writing, it wasn't as superficial as other books might be.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 15, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

surprising

Reader reviewed by abscae

"Chloe Rand's life is great."

That's how Chloe views her life. She has a serious boyfriend, and life just works for her. But when her boyfriend moves across the country, and suddenly decides that keeping up a long distance relationship isn't worth it, Chloe's suddenly single. And that might not mean much more than a broken heart to someone else, but with someone like Chloe, a 'scary beautiful' gal, the girls are suddenly acting like she's gonna steal all the boys or something. And the guys are acting just as weird.

Yet Chloe falls hard for a guy: Billy, the geek. And Chloe's lost on what to do around him.

I actually liked the book. I loved the concept of it, and I loved the writing, it wasn't as superficial as other books might be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)