Books Young Adult Fiction The Other Sister

The Other Sister

 
4.0
 
5.0 (2)
622   0
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0738709336
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

Josey's world is turned upside down when her parents tell her that the child they had and gave up for adoption in high school is coming back into their lives. In the blink of an eye, this new, perfect sister is welcomed into their family, by everyone but Josey, who suddenly realizes that she doesn't know who she is or where she fits anymore.

Situations such as these are very rare, which makes this novel different, perhaps even more so because author S. T. Underdahl has experienced this kind of reunion firsthand. The story is engaging, but the dialogue seemed to me a bit too pat, the first-person narration seemed a little bit too detached, a little bit too clinical for a sixteen-year-old, even a budding psychologist--although when you get to the end you may understand better why Josey's voice wasn't 100% believable. The well-drawn characters of Josey's brothers and best friends and the discussion of the nature/nurture debate are the high points of this novel that gives a different, interesting perspective on the issue of adoption and the question of what constitutes a family.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Marla Arbach Reviewed by Marla Arbach June 26, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

A different perspective on family

Josey's world is turned upside down when her parents tell her that the child they had and gave up for adoption in high school is coming back into their lives. In the blink of an eye, this new, perfect sister is welcomed into their family, by everyone but Josey, who suddenly realizes that she doesn't know who she is or where she fits anymore.

Situations such as these are very rare, which makes this novel different, perhaps even more so because author S. T. Underdahl has experienced this kind of reunion firsthand. The story is engaging, but the dialogue seemed to me a bit too pat, the first-person narration seemed a little bit too detached, a little bit too clinical for a sixteen-year-old, even a budding psychologist--although when you get to the end you may understand better why Josey's voice wasn't 100% believable. The well-drawn characters of Josey's brothers and best friends and the discussion of the nature/nurture debate are the high points of this novel that gives a different, interesting perspective on the issue of adoption and the question of what constitutes a family.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by TheBookworm

A Realistic Uncommon, Interesting Book

The Other Sister by S. T. Underdahl
Publication Date: 2007
5 out of 5 stars

Its a regular, ordinary school night when Joseys regular, ordinary life is changed forever. Her family Christmas card is missing a face. Joseys parents had a child when they were still in high school and were forced to give the baby up for adoption. Twenty-five years later the baby is now getting in contact with her birth mother. Josey is astonished. How could her parents not tell her and her brothers that they had an older sister somewhere? Her new sister is kind, smart, engaged, becoming a psychologist, talented, and& perfect. Josey struggles with her emotions about her sister and her new place in the family. Shouldnt Josey feel happy to finally have an older sister? If so, why isnt she?

The Other Sister was a realistic book with an uncommon, interesting plot dealing with a birth-family reunion.

This book was fairly short. It was only 248 pages with a spread out, easy to read layout. BUT, even though this book was short I believe it covered all the topics, events, emotions, thoughts, and points that were needed to effectively make The Other Sister realistic and believable.

In good books, characters become people. You start to think of them as human beings with thoughts and feelings. The worst part of a book to me is when it ends. Many books just leave you wondering what happened to them, even though you know that theyre just gone. I was extremely happy to find an epilogue at the end of this book. It gave you an idea of what they went on to do, not their full biographies or anything, but just a short wrapper-upper that lets you know they went on living.

The Other Sister is a good, clean book that I would feel fine suggesting not only to highschoolers, but also to middleschoolers.

Date Reviewed: October 23rd, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader October 22, 2008
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A Realistic Uncommon, Interesting Book

Reader reviewed by TheBookworm

A Realistic Uncommon, Interesting Book

The Other Sister by S. T. Underdahl
Publication Date: 2007
5 out of 5 stars

Its a regular, ordinary school night when Joseys regular, ordinary life is changed forever. Her family Christmas card is missing a face. Joseys parents had a child when they were still in high school and were forced to give the baby up for adoption. Twenty-five years later the baby is now getting in contact with her birth mother. Josey is astonished. How could her parents not tell her and her brothers that they had an older sister somewhere? Her new sister is kind, smart, engaged, becoming a psychologist, talented, and& perfect. Josey struggles with her emotions about her sister and her new place in the family. Shouldnt Josey feel happy to finally have an older sister? If so, why isnt she?

The Other Sister was a realistic book with an uncommon, interesting plot dealing with a birth-family reunion.

This book was fairly short. It was only 248 pages with a spread out, easy to read layout. BUT, even though this book was short I believe it covered all the topics, events, emotions, thoughts, and points that were needed to effectively make The Other Sister realistic and believable.

In good books, characters become people. You start to think of them as human beings with thoughts and feelings. The worst part of a book to me is when it ends. Many books just leave you wondering what happened to them, even though you know that theyre just gone. I was extremely happy to find an epilogue at the end of this book. It gave you an idea of what they went on to do, not their full biographies or anything, but just a short wrapper-upper that lets you know they went on living.

The Other Sister is a good, clean book that I would feel fine suggesting not only to highschoolers, but also to middleschoolers.

Date Reviewed: October 23rd, 2008

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Pageant Babe

The other sister is about a families reunion with a child they put up for adoption many years prior. Josey the protagonist was set with her life, she knew what she wanted out of life and she was happy being the only daughter in her family and the "smart" one. Little did Josey know that her parents held a secert from everyone else. Another child. When the "perfect sister" contacts Joseys family joseys life is turned upside down. This book was just "okay" to me, until the last line. Its a best read.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 21, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

This book has a GREAT twist!

Reader reviewed by Pageant Babe

The other sister is about a families reunion with a child they put up for adoption many years prior. Josey the protagonist was set with her life, she knew what she wanted out of life and she was happy being the only daughter in her family and the "smart" one. Little did Josey know that her parents held a secert from everyone else. Another child. When the "perfect sister" contacts Joseys family joseys life is turned upside down. This book was just "okay" to me, until the last line. Its a best read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)