Books Young Adult Fiction Dream Spinner

Dream Spinner

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/bf/a3/d9/5188_558087-1352922732.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
501   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 01, 2006
ISBN
0738709190
Buy This Book
      
Selected for the Book Sense Autumn 2006 Children's Pick List

Disfigured by a car accident that also killed her dad, Jori has been transformed from a popular high school student into a bitter loner. Fatherless, isolated, and betrayed by her best friend, Jori is angry at the world. And now her sister Lisa has disappeared, unable to cope with the changes in her family. Walking home from school one day, Jori stumbles upon a strange house and meets Professor DePris, who shows her a living tapestry woven from dreams. Distrustful of the eccentric old man and the telepathic spider who weaves for him, she resists entering the dream tapestry until she realizes her sister is trapped inside. It's up to Jori to enter the tapestry and rescue Lisa from the monstrous old man who is feasting on her fantasies. But how can Jori convince Lisa to leave this fantastic, yet dangerous, world where anything--even reuniting with their father--is possible?

Editor reviews

Jori has been bitter and lonely since her family was torn apart by a tragic accident and the disappearance of her younger sister. But when she gets drawn into a wonderful dream world where her family can be whole again, she has to make the difficult choice between going back to the way things were or deciding to live in the present, even if it means facing a lot of hard knocks so she can keep on moving forward.

Maybe it's the fact that I don't love spiders (as you can see from the cover art, they're a central motif), maybe it's because stories about dream worlds aren't my favourite; whatever the reason, Dream Spinner wasn't a book that I was dying to read the second I got my hands on it. But believe me, if I'd known how good it was, I wouldn't have wasted a single minute. Spunky, standoffish Jori is a delightful character and her strange ally Newt is adorable. The dreamworld relationship between Newt and the loveable Kieran is particularly appealing; their scenes are some of the brightest and most memorable. Although more than half of the story is a journey through a dream world, the magical land itself is less important than what the characters learn about themselves while they're there. The only criticism I can make is that a few more scenes featuring supporting characters Newt and Derek in the real world might have made it easier to understand their personalities; but then, Jori is notorious for not giving people chances anymore, so maybe the fact that we don't get to know them before they enter the dream world is in keeping with that. Dream Spinner is an original and empowering tale about finding within yourself the strength to go on and to help others to do the same.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Marla Arbach Reviewed by Marla Arbach May 23, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

Anyone can be a hero

Jori has been bitter and lonely since her family was torn apart by a tragic accident and the disappearance of her younger sister. But when she gets drawn into a wonderful dream world where her family can be whole again, she has to make the difficult choice between going back to the way things were or deciding to live in the present, even if it means facing a lot of hard knocks so she can keep on moving forward.

Maybe it's the fact that I don't love spiders (as you can see from the cover art, they're a central motif), maybe it's because stories about dream worlds aren't my favourite; whatever the reason, Dream Spinner wasn't a book that I was dying to read the second I got my hands on it. But believe me, if I'd known how good it was, I wouldn't have wasted a single minute. Spunky, standoffish Jori is a delightful character and her strange ally Newt is adorable. The dreamworld relationship between Newt and the loveable Kieran is particularly appealing; their scenes are some of the brightest and most memorable. Although more than half of the story is a journey through a dream world, the magical land itself is less important than what the characters learn about themselves while they're there. The only criticism I can make is that a few more scenes featuring supporting characters Newt and Derek in the real world might have made it easier to understand their personalities; but then, Jori is notorious for not giving people chances anymore, so maybe the fact that we don't get to know them before they enter the dream world is in keeping with that. Dream Spinner is an original and empowering tale about finding within yourself the strength to go on and to help others to do the same.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)