Books Young Adult Fiction Dream Spinner

Dream Spinner

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/bf/a3/d9/5188_558087-1352922732.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
518   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 01, 2006
ISBN
0738709190
Buy This Book
      
Selected for the Book Sense Autumn 2006 Children's Pick List

Disfigured by a car accident that also killed her dad, Jori has been transformed from a popular high school student into a bitter loner. Fatherless, isolated, and betrayed by her best friend, Jori is angry at the world. And now her sister Lisa has disappeared, unable to cope with the changes in her family. Walking home from school one day, Jori stumbles upon a strange house and meets Professor DePris, who shows her a living tapestry woven from dreams. Distrustful of the eccentric old man and the telepathic spider who weaves for him, she resists entering the dream tapestry until she realizes her sister is trapped inside. It's up to Jori to enter the tapestry and rescue Lisa from the monstrous old man who is feasting on her fantasies. But how can Jori convince Lisa to leave this fantastic, yet dangerous, world where anything--even reuniting with their father--is possible?

Editor reviews

Jori has been bitter and lonely since her family was torn apart by a tragic accident and the disappearance of her younger sister. But when she gets drawn into a wonderful dream world where her family can be whole again, she has to make the difficult choice between going back to the way things were or deciding to live in the present, even if it means facing a lot of hard knocks so she can keep on moving forward.

Maybe it's the fact that I don't love spiders (as you can see from the cover art, they're a central motif), maybe it's because stories about dream worlds aren't my favourite; whatever the reason, Dream Spinner wasn't a book that I was dying to read the second I got my hands on it. But believe me, if I'd known how good it was, I wouldn't have wasted a single minute. Spunky, standoffish Jori is a delightful character and her strange ally Newt is adorable. The dreamworld relationship between Newt and the loveable Kieran is particularly appealing; their scenes are some of the brightest and most memorable. Although more than half of the story is a journey through a dream world, the magical land itself is less important than what the characters learn about themselves while they're there. The only criticism I can make is that a few more scenes featuring supporting characters Newt and Derek in the real world might have made it easier to understand their personalities; but then, Jori is notorious for not giving people chances anymore, so maybe the fact that we don't get to know them before they enter the dream world is in keeping with that. Dream Spinner is an original and empowering tale about finding within yourself the strength to go on and to help others to do the same.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Marla Arbach Reviewed by Marla Arbach May 23, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

Anyone can be a hero

Jori has been bitter and lonely since her family was torn apart by a tragic accident and the disappearance of her younger sister. But when she gets drawn into a wonderful dream world where her family can be whole again, she has to make the difficult choice between going back to the way things were or deciding to live in the present, even if it means facing a lot of hard knocks so she can keep on moving forward.

Maybe it's the fact that I don't love spiders (as you can see from the cover art, they're a central motif), maybe it's because stories about dream worlds aren't my favourite; whatever the reason, Dream Spinner wasn't a book that I was dying to read the second I got my hands on it. But believe me, if I'd known how good it was, I wouldn't have wasted a single minute. Spunky, standoffish Jori is a delightful character and her strange ally Newt is adorable. The dreamworld relationship between Newt and the loveable Kieran is particularly appealing; their scenes are some of the brightest and most memorable. Although more than half of the story is a journey through a dream world, the magical land itself is less important than what the characters learn about themselves while they're there. The only criticism I can make is that a few more scenes featuring supporting characters Newt and Derek in the real world might have made it easier to understand their personalities; but then, Jori is notorious for not giving people chances anymore, so maybe the fact that we don't get to know them before they enter the dream world is in keeping with that. Dream Spinner is an original and empowering tale about finding within yourself the strength to go on and to help others to do the same.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
At fourteen, Catrina MacGreagor was left to care for her nine siblings after her mother passed. She didn't truly mind,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)