Books Young Adult Fiction Dream Spinner

Dream Spinner

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/bf/a3/d9/5188_558087-1352922732.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
610   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 01, 2006
ISBN
0738709190
Buy This Book
      
Selected for the Book Sense Autumn 2006 Children's Pick List

Disfigured by a car accident that also killed her dad, Jori has been transformed from a popular high school student into a bitter loner. Fatherless, isolated, and betrayed by her best friend, Jori is angry at the world. And now her sister Lisa has disappeared, unable to cope with the changes in her family. Walking home from school one day, Jori stumbles upon a strange house and meets Professor DePris, who shows her a living tapestry woven from dreams. Distrustful of the eccentric old man and the telepathic spider who weaves for him, she resists entering the dream tapestry until she realizes her sister is trapped inside. It's up to Jori to enter the tapestry and rescue Lisa from the monstrous old man who is feasting on her fantasies. But how can Jori convince Lisa to leave this fantastic, yet dangerous, world where anything--even reuniting with their father--is possible?

Editor reviews

Jori has been bitter and lonely since her family was torn apart by a tragic accident and the disappearance of her younger sister. But when she gets drawn into a wonderful dream world where her family can be whole again, she has to make the difficult choice between going back to the way things were or deciding to live in the present, even if it means facing a lot of hard knocks so she can keep on moving forward.

Maybe it's the fact that I don't love spiders (as you can see from the cover art, they're a central motif), maybe it's because stories about dream worlds aren't my favourite; whatever the reason, Dream Spinner wasn't a book that I was dying to read the second I got my hands on it. But believe me, if I'd known how good it was, I wouldn't have wasted a single minute. Spunky, standoffish Jori is a delightful character and her strange ally Newt is adorable. The dreamworld relationship between Newt and the loveable Kieran is particularly appealing; their scenes are some of the brightest and most memorable. Although more than half of the story is a journey through a dream world, the magical land itself is less important than what the characters learn about themselves while they're there. The only criticism I can make is that a few more scenes featuring supporting characters Newt and Derek in the real world might have made it easier to understand their personalities; but then, Jori is notorious for not giving people chances anymore, so maybe the fact that we don't get to know them before they enter the dream world is in keeping with that. Dream Spinner is an original and empowering tale about finding within yourself the strength to go on and to help others to do the same.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Marla Arbach Reviewed by Marla Arbach May 23, 2007
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

Anyone can be a hero

Jori has been bitter and lonely since her family was torn apart by a tragic accident and the disappearance of her younger sister. But when she gets drawn into a wonderful dream world where her family can be whole again, she has to make the difficult choice between going back to the way things were or deciding to live in the present, even if it means facing a lot of hard knocks so she can keep on moving forward.

Maybe it's the fact that I don't love spiders (as you can see from the cover art, they're a central motif), maybe it's because stories about dream worlds aren't my favourite; whatever the reason, Dream Spinner wasn't a book that I was dying to read the second I got my hands on it. But believe me, if I'd known how good it was, I wouldn't have wasted a single minute. Spunky, standoffish Jori is a delightful character and her strange ally Newt is adorable. The dreamworld relationship between Newt and the loveable Kieran is particularly appealing; their scenes are some of the brightest and most memorable. Although more than half of the story is a journey through a dream world, the magical land itself is less important than what the characters learn about themselves while they're there. The only criticism I can make is that a few more scenes featuring supporting characters Newt and Derek in the real world might have made it easier to understand their personalities; but then, Jori is notorious for not giving people chances anymore, so maybe the fact that we don't get to know them before they enter the dream world is in keeping with that. Dream Spinner is an original and empowering tale about finding within yourself the strength to go on and to help others to do the same.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • What's New in YA--September 1, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!     Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume. Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken f ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: I Love Him, I Love Him Not by Ella Martin + Giveaway (US Only)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for I LOVE HIM, I LOVE HIM NOT by Ella Martin, releasing September 29, 2015 from Clean Reads/Astraea Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Ella:   Hi, guys! Thanks for joining me ...

  • Author Chat with Pat Schmatz

      Contributed by Eden Grey   Eden Grey: Where did the concept of Lizard Radio come from? Did you start with the main character, Kivali, or was it something else? Pat Schmatz: The concept for Lizard Radio started in my sketch book a few summ ...

  • First in Line--Press Release

      RANDOM HOUSE CHILDREN’S BOOKS LAUNCHES NEW YOUNG ADULT PROGRAM “FIRST IN LINE” First In Line offers YA readers exclusive advance access to authors and behind-the-book content. New York, NY—Random House Children ...

  • YABC August Book Haul

    It's here! It's Here! The August Book Haul is finally here! Enjoy this mountain of wordy-filled goodness.  Yay for books! ...

  • Giveaway: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (US Only)

    MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS 20th Century Fox In theaters September 18, 2015   The Maze was just the beginning! See Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials in theaters September 18   In this next chapter of the epic “Maze Runner” saga, Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) a ...

  • Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

    TOO COOL TO BRAG. TORREY’S MY DOG, BOB, INTRODUCES KIDS TO A DIFFERENT WAY TO BE GREAT Raab Associates   Quiet dignity is vastly underrated, but it’s a quality shared by those who are truly fortunate to have learne ...

  • Author Trisha Leigh's TOP 5 OTPs

    Today we welcome Trisha Leigh, author of RETURN ONCE MORE, to the blog to share with us her top 5 OTPs!  RETURN ONCE MORE is a book about a teenage girl caught between her responsibility to document the past and her desire to use time travel in order to meet her one true love—even if he ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Emerge: The Edge by Melissa A. Craven + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for EMERGE: THE EDGE by Melissa A. Craven, releasing September 29, 2015 from Midnight Hour Studio. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hello YABCers! And welc ...

  • On the Horizon

      DC Comics’ Lois Lane Returns in Lois Lane: Double Down from Switch Press  Second Book in the New Young Adult Series by Gwenda Bond   MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (August 24, 2015) – DC Comics’ iconic character Lois Lane will be back for more in Lois Lane: Dou ...

  • What's New in YA--August 25, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Inspired by Victor Hugo’s classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine.   Paris, 1832 ...

  • Exclusive Sneak Peek at LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins + Giveaway (US Only)

    LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins Release Date: September 29, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine / Del Rey Hardcover   About the Book With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A. Higgins spins a riveting science fict ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Follow alongside of ten-year-old Tammy Wurtherington, the little doll girl from River Falls, Ohio in this exciting new adventure that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Washington, D.C. 2112 United States Time Travel Bureau Regina Bellows, junior agent at the U.S. Time Travel Bureau, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lark Singer’s relationship with her mother is prickly to say the least. As she enters a musical competition that could...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to A Thousand Pieces of You by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray, Marguerite races through...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A girl’s dark destiny could cause the unraveling of the world in this spellbinding novel from the author of A...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
"A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
17 year old Ember Denning has made an art of isolating herself. She prefers the dead. She spends her days...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
n this exciting and action-packed adventure by an award-winning author, a young girl discovers her secret ancient bloodline. The fate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ELIDAIRE_The_Tome_of_Knowledge_COVER.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Four years after the murder of his mother, Revel Harcourt, leader of a group of an ancient race of demon-hunting...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Metal crumpled, screamed as the force sent bodies in all directions. Instant stink of burnt rubber, glimpse of an arm...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has… Haley Patterson has had a crush on...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are looking for a place...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
nspired by Victor Hugo's classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
13 days.jpg
When Luke Manchett’s estranged father dies unexpectedly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance: a collection...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The world is a far different place in 2259. Thirty years of world war, rampant bombing, and the melting of...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Leia Swanson has always believed in monsters, especially after one killed her parents when she was seven years old. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Remarque, a lonely boy raised by his grandfather, discovers a gateway that could lead him to everything he's ever wanted......
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)