Pellinor Trilogy: The Naming

Pellinor Trilogy: The Naming

 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
641   0
Write Review
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0763631620
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

really good book

Reader reviewed by liv

Olivia Wakefield

The Naming

The book that I read was The Naming by Alison Croggon. The book focuses
on the amazing and hard life of a girl named Maerad. She starts out a
slave captured after her parents were brutally killed , and has been
living stuck in Gilmans cot with no chance for escape . Until a man
named Cadvan comes , only he can see the powers that other slaves have
labeled as evil and witchcraft , and with his help they escape . Slowly
she learns her huge part in having to save the corrupt nations from the
uprising of the Nameless One who seeks to destroy and take over all of
Annar as he once has .I would describe the main character Marerad as
tough. . She has faced many hardships in life ,yet still gets up and
faces her destiny and takes every day as it comes . I love how dramatic
the book is and how there is never a dull moment . You are always left
on your toes with every new conflict and fight that occurs . The
descriptions make it feel like you are right there with the characters
whenever something happens. The authors style, slowly reveals the true
secrets across the book of who Maerad truly is. Alison Croggon also at
one moment makes a setting and place seem calm , but then a minute
later she turns it into a battlefield testing the wit Maerad and Cadvan
have against their opponents. I would recommend this book to anyone who
loves action and likes a lot of suspense along with great descriptions
and drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

really good book

Reader reviewed by liv

Olivia Wakefield

The Naming

The book that I read was The Naming by Alison Croggon. The book focuses
on the amazing and hard life of a girl named Maerad. She starts out a
slave captured after her parents were brutally killed , and has been
living stuck in Gilmans cot with no chance for escape . Until a man
named Cadvan comes , only he can see the powers that other slaves have
labeled as evil and witchcraft , and with his help they escape . Slowly
she learns her huge part in having to save the corrupt nations from the
uprising of the Nameless One who seeks to destroy and take over all of
Annar as he once has .I would describe the main character Marerad as
tough. . She has faced many hardships in life ,yet still gets up and
faces her destiny and takes every day as it comes . I love how dramatic
the book is and how there is never a dull moment . You are always left
on your toes with every new conflict and fight that occurs . The
descriptions make it feel like you are right there with the characters
whenever something happens. The authors style, slowly reveals the true
secrets across the book of who Maerad truly is. Alison Croggon also at
one moment makes a setting and place seem calm , but then a minute
later she turns it into a battlefield testing the wit Maerad and Cadvan
have against their opponents. I would recommend this book to anyone who
loves action and likes a lot of suspense along with great descriptions
and drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Good first novel & Amazing fantasy book

Reader reviewed by Sara

"Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child after her family is destroyed in war. she is unaware that she possesses a powerful gift, one that marks her as a member of the school of Pellinor. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the Great Bards of Lirigon, that her true heritage and extraordinary destiny unfold. Now she and her new teacher must survive a journey through a time and place where the dark forces they battle stem from the deepest recesses of otherworldly terror."

I wasn't sure whether to get this book at the store one day but decided to risk it, and it was definately worth it! It was one of the best fantasy book I'd read in a long time, even though the book was slow at first. Maerad was a great heroine. She never seems to do any of the stupid things that many main characters do, but she isn't boring.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frannie and Tru
When Frannie Little eavesdrops on her parents fighting she discovers...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)