Pellinor Trilogy: The Naming

Pellinor Trilogy: The Naming

 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
596   0
Write Review
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0763631620
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

really good book

Reader reviewed by liv

Olivia Wakefield

The Naming

The book that I read was The Naming by Alison Croggon. The book focuses
on the amazing and hard life of a girl named Maerad. She starts out a
slave captured after her parents were brutally killed , and has been
living stuck in Gilmans cot with no chance for escape . Until a man
named Cadvan comes , only he can see the powers that other slaves have
labeled as evil and witchcraft , and with his help they escape . Slowly
she learns her huge part in having to save the corrupt nations from the
uprising of the Nameless One who seeks to destroy and take over all of
Annar as he once has .I would describe the main character Marerad as
tough. . She has faced many hardships in life ,yet still gets up and
faces her destiny and takes every day as it comes . I love how dramatic
the book is and how there is never a dull moment . You are always left
on your toes with every new conflict and fight that occurs . The
descriptions make it feel like you are right there with the characters
whenever something happens. The authors style, slowly reveals the true
secrets across the book of who Maerad truly is. Alison Croggon also at
one moment makes a setting and place seem calm , but then a minute
later she turns it into a battlefield testing the wit Maerad and Cadvan
have against their opponents. I would recommend this book to anyone who
loves action and likes a lot of suspense along with great descriptions
and drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

really good book

Reader reviewed by liv

Olivia Wakefield

The Naming

The book that I read was The Naming by Alison Croggon. The book focuses
on the amazing and hard life of a girl named Maerad. She starts out a
slave captured after her parents were brutally killed , and has been
living stuck in Gilmans cot with no chance for escape . Until a man
named Cadvan comes , only he can see the powers that other slaves have
labeled as evil and witchcraft , and with his help they escape . Slowly
she learns her huge part in having to save the corrupt nations from the
uprising of the Nameless One who seeks to destroy and take over all of
Annar as he once has .I would describe the main character Marerad as
tough. . She has faced many hardships in life ,yet still gets up and
faces her destiny and takes every day as it comes . I love how dramatic
the book is and how there is never a dull moment . You are always left
on your toes with every new conflict and fight that occurs . The
descriptions make it feel like you are right there with the characters
whenever something happens. The authors style, slowly reveals the true
secrets across the book of who Maerad truly is. Alison Croggon also at
one moment makes a setting and place seem calm , but then a minute
later she turns it into a battlefield testing the wit Maerad and Cadvan
have against their opponents. I would recommend this book to anyone who
loves action and likes a lot of suspense along with great descriptions
and drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Good first novel & Amazing fantasy book

Reader reviewed by Sara

"Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child after her family is destroyed in war. she is unaware that she possesses a powerful gift, one that marks her as a member of the school of Pellinor. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the Great Bards of Lirigon, that her true heritage and extraordinary destiny unfold. Now she and her new teacher must survive a journey through a time and place where the dark forces they battle stem from the deepest recesses of otherworldly terror."

I wasn't sure whether to get this book at the store one day but decided to risk it, and it was definately worth it! It was one of the best fantasy book I'd read in a long time, even though the book was slow at first. Maerad was a great heroine. She never seems to do any of the stupid things that many main characters do, but she isn't boring.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)