Books Young Adult Fiction Pellinor Trilogy: The Naming

Pellinor Trilogy: The Naming

 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
414   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0763631620
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (3)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by liv

Olivia Wakefield

The Naming

The book that I read was The Naming by Alison Croggon. The book focuses
on the amazing and hard life of a girl named Maerad. She starts out a
slave captured after her parents were brutally killed , and has been
living stuck in Gilmans cot with no chance for escape . Until a man
named Cadvan comes , only he can see the powers that other slaves have
labeled as evil and witchcraft , and with his help they escape . Slowly
she learns her huge part in having to save the corrupt nations from the
uprising of the Nameless One who seeks to destroy and take over all of
Annar as he once has .I would describe the main character Marerad as
tough. . She has faced many hardships in life ,yet still gets up and
faces her destiny and takes every day as it comes . I love how dramatic
the book is and how there is never a dull moment . You are always left
on your toes with every new conflict and fight that occurs . The
descriptions make it feel like you are right there with the characters
whenever something happens. The authors style, slowly reveals the true
secrets across the book of who Maerad truly is. Alison Croggon also at
one moment makes a setting and place seem calm , but then a minute
later she turns it into a battlefield testing the wit Maerad and Cadvan
have against their opponents. I would recommend this book to anyone who
loves action and likes a lot of suspense along with great descriptions
and drama.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 03, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

really good book

Reader reviewed by liv

Olivia Wakefield

The Naming

The book that I read was The Naming by Alison Croggon. The book focuses
on the amazing and hard life of a girl named Maerad. She starts out a
slave captured after her parents were brutally killed , and has been
living stuck in Gilmans cot with no chance for escape . Until a man
named Cadvan comes , only he can see the powers that other slaves have
labeled as evil and witchcraft , and with his help they escape . Slowly
she learns her huge part in having to save the corrupt nations from the
uprising of the Nameless One who seeks to destroy and take over all of
Annar as he once has .I would describe the main character Marerad as
tough. . She has faced many hardships in life ,yet still gets up and
faces her destiny and takes every day as it comes . I love how dramatic
the book is and how there is never a dull moment . You are always left
on your toes with every new conflict and fight that occurs . The
descriptions make it feel like you are right there with the characters
whenever something happens. The authors style, slowly reveals the true
secrets across the book of who Maerad truly is. Alison Croggon also at
one moment makes a setting and place seem calm , but then a minute
later she turns it into a battlefield testing the wit Maerad and Cadvan
have against their opponents. I would recommend this book to anyone who
loves action and likes a lot of suspense along with great descriptions
and drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by liv

Olivia Wakefield

The Naming

The book that I read was The Naming by Alison Croggon. The book focuses
on the amazing and hard life of a girl named Maerad. She starts out a
slave captured after her parents were brutally killed , and has been
living stuck in Gilmans cot with no chance for escape . Until a man
named Cadvan comes , only he can see the powers that other slaves have
labeled as evil and witchcraft , and with his help they escape . Slowly
she learns her huge part in having to save the corrupt nations from the
uprising of the Nameless One who seeks to destroy and take over all of
Annar as he once has .I would describe the main character Marerad as
tough. . She has faced many hardships in life ,yet still gets up and
faces her destiny and takes every day as it comes . I love how dramatic
the book is and how there is never a dull moment . You are always left
on your toes with every new conflict and fight that occurs . The
descriptions make it feel like you are right there with the characters
whenever something happens. The authors style, slowly reveals the true
secrets across the book of who Maerad truly is. Alison Croggon also at
one moment makes a setting and place seem calm , but then a minute
later she turns it into a battlefield testing the wit Maerad and Cadvan
have against their opponents. I would recommend this book to anyone who
loves action and likes a lot of suspense along with great descriptions
and drama.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 03, 2010
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

really good book

Reader reviewed by liv

Olivia Wakefield

The Naming

The book that I read was The Naming by Alison Croggon. The book focuses
on the amazing and hard life of a girl named Maerad. She starts out a
slave captured after her parents were brutally killed , and has been
living stuck in Gilmans cot with no chance for escape . Until a man
named Cadvan comes , only he can see the powers that other slaves have
labeled as evil and witchcraft , and with his help they escape . Slowly
she learns her huge part in having to save the corrupt nations from the
uprising of the Nameless One who seeks to destroy and take over all of
Annar as he once has .I would describe the main character Marerad as
tough. . She has faced many hardships in life ,yet still gets up and
faces her destiny and takes every day as it comes . I love how dramatic
the book is and how there is never a dull moment . You are always left
on your toes with every new conflict and fight that occurs . The
descriptions make it feel like you are right there with the characters
whenever something happens. The authors style, slowly reveals the true
secrets across the book of who Maerad truly is. Alison Croggon also at
one moment makes a setting and place seem calm , but then a minute
later she turns it into a battlefield testing the wit Maerad and Cadvan
have against their opponents. I would recommend this book to anyone who
loves action and likes a lot of suspense along with great descriptions
and drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Sara

"Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child after her family is destroyed in war. she is unaware that she possesses a powerful gift, one that marks her as a member of the school of Pellinor. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the Great Bards of Lirigon, that her true heritage and extraordinary destiny unfold. Now she and her new teacher must survive a journey through a time and place where the dark forces they battle stem from the deepest recesses of otherworldly terror."

I wasn't sure whether to get this book at the store one day but decided to risk it, and it was definately worth it! It was one of the best fantasy book I'd read in a long time, even though the book was slow at first. Maerad was a great heroine. She never seems to do any of the stupid things that many main characters do, but she isn't boring.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 24, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Good first novel & Amazing fantasy book

Reader reviewed by Sara

"Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child after her family is destroyed in war. she is unaware that she possesses a powerful gift, one that marks her as a member of the school of Pellinor. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the Great Bards of Lirigon, that her true heritage and extraordinary destiny unfold. Now she and her new teacher must survive a journey through a time and place where the dark forces they battle stem from the deepest recesses of otherworldly terror."

I wasn't sure whether to get this book at the store one day but decided to risk it, and it was definately worth it! It was one of the best fantasy book I'd read in a long time, even though the book was slow at first. Maerad was a great heroine. She never seems to do any of the stupid things that many main characters do, but she isn't boring.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)