The Girlfriend Project

The Girlfriend Project

 
5.0
 
3.8 (4)
923   0
Write Review
Publisher
Age Range
12+
ISBN
0802796249
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Reed's suddenly a hottie...but he hasn't changed inside

Reed has always been totally clueless when it comes to girls, but hes hoping senior year will change all of that. Not only did he shoot up to 61, but he got contacts (and ditched the coke bottle glasses) and got his braces off. And his two best friends (who also happen to be fraternal girl & boy twins), who have never had much trouble in the romance department, Ronnie and Lonnie are starting up The Girlfriend Project the mission: get Reed a girlfriend.

From the very first day of school, its obvious that things are different now. Reed may feel as insecure and nervous on the inside as he always has, but even the hot, uber-popular girls at school seem to be digging on him. Even, in fact, the one girl that hed tried to ask out and who totally blew him off.

Reeds a little clueless, but very charming (I mean, hey, where was this guy when I was in high school??) and definitely doesnt have a big head about his new found popularity. In fact, he cant quite believe it. So it completely stuns him when he winds up asking out two girls within minutes of each other and they both say yes.

Of course, now is when the real panic sets in, but he makes it through the weekend and actually learns a few things. Thats when Ronnie (shes the girl twin) has the idea of setting Reed up with a website where he can post questions and get answers from girls. After posting to the school listserv, Reed is suddenly Mr. It on campus. Hes starting to practically feel stalked.

But theres a problem. Something he hardly even admits to himself. Because, you see, he doesnt want just any girl. He really kind of wants Ronnie. Ronnie, of course, has a boyfriend (a true lunkhead). But when that boyfriend tromps on her heart, its Reed she turns to and suddenly Reed finds himself exactly where he wants to be in Ronnies arms.

Can it really be that easy? Is this what was meant to be? Or does Reed have a few more lessons to learn?

I really liked this book and the character of Reed. Hes very lovable and believable. Its easy to see why the girls start flocking to him once they figure out what is what. He contrasts well with Lonnie, whos been playing the part of a player for years (though hes not a bad guy underneath; being a player is just how hes coped with his own insecurities).

Recommended for readers aged 12 and up. While theres kissing and dating going on, theres nothing that will make parents particular nervous.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Delicous

Reader reviewed by Jannah

This is definitley a book to lighten your mood, the book has amazing characters, and a totally unexpected ending, the book has ups and downs, but it will always end up funny in some form. I liked the part near the ending when he tells his freind he likes her and I love everyones reactions through out the book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

awesome

Reader reviewed by Hillary

Reed has always been a dork. But the summer before his senior year of high school, he ditched his glasses for contacts, got his braces taken off, and grew a few inches. Now all the girls he's been after since freshmen year are after him. But talking to the girls isn't as easy as his AP classes. But his best friends, Ronnie and Lonnie are there to help. Lonnie's the guy who can get any girl he wants and his twin sister Ronnie is the prettiest, and most popular, girl in school. They're determined to get Reed a girlfriend before school ends. So Ronnie sets up thegirlfriendproject.com to help Reed find a girl who interests him that is also interested in him. And it's not long before the entire school hears about the site.

The Girlfriend Project was a very interesting and original story about high school dating. I thought that the writing was excellent and the cover is so cute. I bought it because I liked the cover so much. At first it sounded like the part of Inside the Mind of Gideon Rayburn where Gideon's two friends tried to find him a girlfriend, but it was way different then I expected. I still loved it though. And it was short. I haven't read any books under 200 pages in a while. If you haven't read it yet, you should. Especially now that it's in it's super pretty paperback form. (I don't know how long it's been like that, and I probably wouldn't have ever found it if I hadn't gone tot he Breaking Dawn release party.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

It was okay....

Reader reviewed by Amanda Marasco

Over the summer Reed Walton turns...well, hot. Reed is used to being the geek. The guy no one but his best friends would talk to, but now he's the hot topic. How is Reed supposed to understand why people like him now? He is still the same Reed on the inside. Reed's friends Ronnie and Lonnie try to help him understand, which leads them to creating a dating site just for Reed called The Girlfriend Project. But Reed is reluctant to work with them, he just wants to be himself. Reeds overcomes many hilarious obstacles in this novel.

I couldn't help but love this book. It was fun to read about the inner geek in Reed. The book made me want to give everyone a chance no matter how different they were, because they just might be a pretty cool person. Reed kept making me laugh with all his witty remarks. My only complaint about this book would be that it was predictable. I knew what was going to happen before it did.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

New Hottie in Town

Reader reviewed by Natalie

Reed,a senior in high school,has never been on a date or even kissed a girl for that matter. Now he's good looking.He did not intend to change his looks and become popular. He simply got taller and got a haircut. But hey, it worked out. With the help of his best friends, fraternal twins Lonnie and Ronnie, he manages to become popular.They create The Girlfriend Project which is basically their advice and lists of dating do's and don'ts.Somehow, it turns into a website - thegirlfriendproject.com - where teens from school leave feedback.

Because of that, Reed starts acting more confident, girls from school and work notice him. But Reed is not satisfied with the shallow girls he's been dating. Instead he starts to like his bes friend Ronnie (she's a girl)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frannie and Tru
When Frannie Little eavesdrops on her parents fighting she discovers...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)