Books Young Adult Fiction Getting the Girl

Getting the Girl

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/15/45/94/getting-the-girl-wolfe-brothers-3-68-1374848284.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.8 (4)
652   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 30, 2001
ISBN
0439389496
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Plot 
 
3.8  (4)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
I haven’t read any of the other books in the Wolfe brother’s series, and I don’t really think there is any particular order to them. Cameron Wolfe is so sincere and adorable; I really couldn’t put this book down because I had to know how things would turn out for him. It’s a beautiful love story intertwined with Cam trying to find his part in life.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Emily Savant Reviewed by Emily Savant May 01, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (274)

Good

I haven’t read any of the other books in the Wolfe brother’s series, and I don’t really think there is any particular order to them. Cameron Wolfe is so sincere and adorable; I really couldn’t put this book down because I had to know how things would turn out for him. It’s a beautiful love story intertwined with Cam trying to find his part in life.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Alyssa

Getting the Girl is about more than just a girl. Its about a boy, his brother and a desire to be somebody. Cameron is the shy one, who lingers in the shadow of his charismatic older brother, Ruben Wolfe. Ruben is good at everything, good at sports, good at getting the girl. Camerons perfectly content to remain in the shadows until Octavia comes& Camerons finally found the girl. The only problem-the girl is going out with Ruben. The author adds in many subplots including Cams relationship to his brother, Steve. Indeed, Markus Zusak is a skilled writer who shapes Cameron in such a way that anyone, girl or boy, can relate to him. Getting the Girl is just as beautiful as his other books and definitely a must read.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader October 21, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A touching, heartrending tale of brotherhood

Reader reviewed by Alyssa

Getting the Girl is about more than just a girl. Its about a boy, his brother and a desire to be somebody. Cameron is the shy one, who lingers in the shadow of his charismatic older brother, Ruben Wolfe. Ruben is good at everything, good at sports, good at getting the girl. Camerons perfectly content to remain in the shadows until Octavia comes& Camerons finally found the girl. The only problem-the girl is going out with Ruben. The author adds in many subplots including Cams relationship to his brother, Steve. Indeed, Markus Zusak is a skilled writer who shapes Cameron in such a way that anyone, girl or boy, can relate to him. Getting the Girl is just as beautiful as his other books and definitely a must read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Leah



I honestly didn't like the story very much because it was a weird story. I couldn't really follow what was going on. The main character likes his brothers girlfriend, after they break up, he sees this as his chance. Something did happen between them but in the end it didn't work out. It was a very sad ending. Its also written in British English and its sometimes hard to undestand.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 17, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

not that great

Reader reviewed by Leah



I honestly didn't like the story very much because it was a weird story. I couldn't really follow what was going on. The main character likes his brothers girlfriend, after they break up, he sees this as his chance. Something did happen between them but in the end it didn't work out. It was a very sad ending. Its also written in British English and its sometimes hard to undestand.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

Cameron Wolfe is living in the shadows of his older brothers-- Steve, whose calm assurance wins him fans both on and off the soccer field, and Rube, who always gets the girl. Cameron feels like a pathetic loser, and knows that all he has going for him is his writing. But then a girl comes on to him. A beautiful, lovely girl. Only problem is, she's Rube's ex-girlfriend. Rube is furious, and when the girl finds out that she's come between two brothers, she abandons Cameron. Can Cam become his own man?

Only Zusak could pull off this plot without making it either stupid or sappy. His characters are brilliant, and Cameron is another pathetic-but-lovable character in the mold of "I Am the Messenger's" Ed Kennedy. Although certain scenes seem unnecessarily tense at times (particularly the conversations between Cameron and Steve), the relationship between Cameron and his brothers is brilliant, and readers can't help but feel for Cam.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 19, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A boy's guide to unrequited love

Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

Cameron Wolfe is living in the shadows of his older brothers-- Steve, whose calm assurance wins him fans both on and off the soccer field, and Rube, who always gets the girl. Cameron feels like a pathetic loser, and knows that all he has going for him is his writing. But then a girl comes on to him. A beautiful, lovely girl. Only problem is, she's Rube's ex-girlfriend. Rube is furious, and when the girl finds out that she's come between two brothers, she abandons Cameron. Can Cam become his own man?

Only Zusak could pull off this plot without making it either stupid or sappy. His characters are brilliant, and Cameron is another pathetic-but-lovable character in the mold of "I Am the Messenger's" Ed Kennedy. Although certain scenes seem unnecessarily tense at times (particularly the conversations between Cameron and Steve), the relationship between Cameron and his brothers is brilliant, and readers can't help but feel for Cam.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)