Getting the Girl

 
0.0
 
3.9 (4)
1422   0
Write Review
Getting the Girl
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 30, 2001
ISBN
0439389496
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.9
Plot 
 
3.8  (4)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Good

I haven’t read any of the other books in the Wolfe brother’s series, and I don’t really think there is any particular order to them. Cameron Wolfe is so sincere and adorable; I really couldn’t put this book down because I had to know how things would turn out for him. It’s a beautiful love story intertwined with Cam trying to find his part in life.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A touching, heartrending tale of brotherhood

Reader reviewed by Alyssa

Getting the Girl is about more than just a girl. Its about a boy, his brother and a desire to be somebody. Cameron is the shy one, who lingers in the shadow of his charismatic older brother, Ruben Wolfe. Ruben is good at everything, good at sports, good at getting the girl. Camerons perfectly content to remain in the shadows until Octavia comes& Camerons finally found the girl. The only problem-the girl is going out with Ruben. The author adds in many subplots including Cams relationship to his brother, Steve. Indeed, Markus Zusak is a skilled writer who shapes Cameron in such a way that anyone, girl or boy, can relate to him. Getting the Girl is just as beautiful as his other books and definitely a must read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

not that great

Reader reviewed by Leah



I honestly didn't like the story very much because it was a weird story. I couldn't really follow what was going on. The main character likes his brothers girlfriend, after they break up, he sees this as his chance. Something did happen between them but in the end it didn't work out. It was a very sad ending. Its also written in British English and its sometimes hard to undestand.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A boy's guide to unrequited love

Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

Cameron Wolfe is living in the shadows of his older brothers-- Steve, whose calm assurance wins him fans both on and off the soccer field, and Rube, who always gets the girl. Cameron feels like a pathetic loser, and knows that all he has going for him is his writing. But then a girl comes on to him. A beautiful, lovely girl. Only problem is, she's Rube's ex-girlfriend. Rube is furious, and when the girl finds out that she's come between two brothers, she abandons Cameron. Can Cam become his own man?

Only Zusak could pull off this plot without making it either stupid or sappy. His characters are brilliant, and Cameron is another pathetic-but-lovable character in the mold of "I Am the Messenger's" Ed Kennedy. Although certain scenes seem unnecessarily tense at times (particularly the conversations between Cameron and Steve), the relationship between Cameron and his brothers is brilliant, and readers can't help but feel for Cam.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."
Zombie Abbey
 
4.0
"It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"i really loved this book, the plot and the characters. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the..."
Kat and Meg Conquer the World
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: The course of friendship, like love, doesn’t run smoothly. Epcot at Disney World nearly broke up my..."