Books Young Adult Fiction Getting the Girl

Getting the Girl

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/15/45/94/getting-the-girl-wolfe-brothers-3-68-1374848284.jpg
 
0.0
 
3.8 (4)
616   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 30, 2001
ISBN
0439389496
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 4 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Plot 
 
3.8  (4)
Characters 
 
N/A  (0)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
I haven’t read any of the other books in the Wolfe brother’s series, and I don’t really think there is any particular order to them. Cameron Wolfe is so sincere and adorable; I really couldn’t put this book down because I had to know how things would turn out for him. It’s a beautiful love story intertwined with Cam trying to find his part in life.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Emily Savant Reviewed by Emily Savant May 01, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (271)

Good

I haven’t read any of the other books in the Wolfe brother’s series, and I don’t really think there is any particular order to them. Cameron Wolfe is so sincere and adorable; I really couldn’t put this book down because I had to know how things would turn out for him. It’s a beautiful love story intertwined with Cam trying to find his part in life.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Alyssa

Getting the Girl is about more than just a girl. Its about a boy, his brother and a desire to be somebody. Cameron is the shy one, who lingers in the shadow of his charismatic older brother, Ruben Wolfe. Ruben is good at everything, good at sports, good at getting the girl. Camerons perfectly content to remain in the shadows until Octavia comes& Camerons finally found the girl. The only problem-the girl is going out with Ruben. The author adds in many subplots including Cams relationship to his brother, Steve. Indeed, Markus Zusak is a skilled writer who shapes Cameron in such a way that anyone, girl or boy, can relate to him. Getting the Girl is just as beautiful as his other books and definitely a must read.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader October 21, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A touching, heartrending tale of brotherhood

Reader reviewed by Alyssa

Getting the Girl is about more than just a girl. Its about a boy, his brother and a desire to be somebody. Cameron is the shy one, who lingers in the shadow of his charismatic older brother, Ruben Wolfe. Ruben is good at everything, good at sports, good at getting the girl. Camerons perfectly content to remain in the shadows until Octavia comes& Camerons finally found the girl. The only problem-the girl is going out with Ruben. The author adds in many subplots including Cams relationship to his brother, Steve. Indeed, Markus Zusak is a skilled writer who shapes Cameron in such a way that anyone, girl or boy, can relate to him. Getting the Girl is just as beautiful as his other books and definitely a must read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Leah



I honestly didn't like the story very much because it was a weird story. I couldn't really follow what was going on. The main character likes his brothers girlfriend, after they break up, he sees this as his chance. Something did happen between them but in the end it didn't work out. It was a very sad ending. Its also written in British English and its sometimes hard to undestand.
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader December 17, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

not that great

Reader reviewed by Leah



I honestly didn't like the story very much because it was a weird story. I couldn't really follow what was going on. The main character likes his brothers girlfriend, after they break up, he sees this as his chance. Something did happen between them but in the end it didn't work out. It was a very sad ending. Its also written in British English and its sometimes hard to undestand.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

Cameron Wolfe is living in the shadows of his older brothers-- Steve, whose calm assurance wins him fans both on and off the soccer field, and Rube, who always gets the girl. Cameron feels like a pathetic loser, and knows that all he has going for him is his writing. But then a girl comes on to him. A beautiful, lovely girl. Only problem is, she's Rube's ex-girlfriend. Rube is furious, and when the girl finds out that she's come between two brothers, she abandons Cameron. Can Cam become his own man?

Only Zusak could pull off this plot without making it either stupid or sappy. His characters are brilliant, and Cameron is another pathetic-but-lovable character in the mold of "I Am the Messenger's" Ed Kennedy. Although certain scenes seem unnecessarily tense at times (particularly the conversations between Cameron and Steve), the relationship between Cameron and his brothers is brilliant, and readers can't help but feel for Cam.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 19, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A boy's guide to unrequited love

Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

Cameron Wolfe is living in the shadows of his older brothers-- Steve, whose calm assurance wins him fans both on and off the soccer field, and Rube, who always gets the girl. Cameron feels like a pathetic loser, and knows that all he has going for him is his writing. But then a girl comes on to him. A beautiful, lovely girl. Only problem is, she's Rube's ex-girlfriend. Rube is furious, and when the girl finds out that she's come between two brothers, she abandons Cameron. Can Cam become his own man?

Only Zusak could pull off this plot without making it either stupid or sappy. His characters are brilliant, and Cameron is another pathetic-but-lovable character in the mold of "I Am the Messenger's" Ed Kennedy. Although certain scenes seem unnecessarily tense at times (particularly the conversations between Cameron and Steve), the relationship between Cameron and his brothers is brilliant, and readers can't help but feel for Cam.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)