Getting the Girl

 
0.0
 
3.9 (4)
1307   0
Write Review
Getting the Girl
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 30, 2001
ISBN
0439389496
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.9
Plot 
 
3.8  (4)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Good

I haven’t read any of the other books in the Wolfe brother’s series, and I don’t really think there is any particular order to them. Cameron Wolfe is so sincere and adorable; I really couldn’t put this book down because I had to know how things would turn out for him. It’s a beautiful love story intertwined with Cam trying to find his part in life.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A touching, heartrending tale of brotherhood

Reader reviewed by Alyssa

Getting the Girl is about more than just a girl. Its about a boy, his brother and a desire to be somebody. Cameron is the shy one, who lingers in the shadow of his charismatic older brother, Ruben Wolfe. Ruben is good at everything, good at sports, good at getting the girl. Camerons perfectly content to remain in the shadows until Octavia comes& Camerons finally found the girl. The only problem-the girl is going out with Ruben. The author adds in many subplots including Cams relationship to his brother, Steve. Indeed, Markus Zusak is a skilled writer who shapes Cameron in such a way that anyone, girl or boy, can relate to him. Getting the Girl is just as beautiful as his other books and definitely a must read.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

not that great

Reader reviewed by Leah



I honestly didn't like the story very much because it was a weird story. I couldn't really follow what was going on. The main character likes his brothers girlfriend, after they break up, he sees this as his chance. Something did happen between them but in the end it didn't work out. It was a very sad ending. Its also written in British English and its sometimes hard to undestand.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A boy's guide to unrequited love

Reader reviewed by Bookworm9

Cameron Wolfe is living in the shadows of his older brothers-- Steve, whose calm assurance wins him fans both on and off the soccer field, and Rube, who always gets the girl. Cameron feels like a pathetic loser, and knows that all he has going for him is his writing. But then a girl comes on to him. A beautiful, lovely girl. Only problem is, she's Rube's ex-girlfriend. Rube is furious, and when the girl finds out that she's come between two brothers, she abandons Cameron. Can Cam become his own man?

Only Zusak could pull off this plot without making it either stupid or sappy. His characters are brilliant, and Cameron is another pathetic-but-lovable character in the mold of "I Am the Messenger's" Ed Kennedy. Although certain scenes seem unnecessarily tense at times (particularly the conversations between Cameron and Steve), the relationship between Cameron and his brothers is brilliant, and readers can't help but feel for Cam.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."