Maybe This Time

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
59   0
Write Review
Maybe This Time
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 09, 2019
ISBN
978-1338210088
Buy This Book
      
One year. Nine events. Nine chances to . . . fall in love?

Weddings. Funerals. Barbecues. New Year's Eve parties. Name the occasion, and Sophie Evans will be there. Well, she has to be there. Sophie works for the local florist, so she can be found at every big event in her small hometown, arranging bouquets and managing family dramas.

Enter Andrew Hart. The son of the fancy new chef in town, Andrew is suddenly required to attend all the same events as Sophie. Entitled, arrogant, preppy Andrew. Sophie just wants to get her job done and finish up her sketches so she can apply to design school. But every time she turns around, there is Andrew, getting in her way and making her life more complicated. Until one day she wonders if maybe complicated isn't so bad after all . . .

Told over the course of one year and following Sophie from event to event, this delightful novel from master of romantic comedy Kasie West shows how love can blossom in unexpected places.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Year Round Flowers

Sophie is bound and determined to make it out of her small Alabama town and attend design school in New York City for college. To earn money, she is working at a florists, and since the town is small, the owner also does a lot of event planning, and Sophie must go along to help. Her best friend, Micah, is often at these events, since her father is the local caterer. Since business is difficult, he has applied to have Jett Harte, a former television chef and personality, mentor his business for a year in exchange for a share of it when the business is doing better. This would be fine, except that Jett is a bit of a difficult diva, and his son, Andrew, isn't any better. Smug, privileged, and very sure of himself, Andrew introduces himself to Sophie by messing up some of her arrangements, and almost all of their interactions end poorly. The book follows the calendar of events through the year, so we start at Valentine's Day at the local senior center, hit Mother's Day celebrations, weddings, and end up at Thanksgiving dinner. At each event, we can track Sophie's progress at college and scholarship applications, get a glimpse of her difficult family life, and watch as she and Andrew spar and get into trouble on the job. Micah thinks that the two have a spark, but Sophie is too determined to make her college dreams come true to focus on a romance with a boy who is often annoying. Is Micah a better judge of character than her friend?

Good Points
Kasie West writes intriguing high school romances that also appeal to middle school students, due to their lack of sexual references and other more mature themes. The settings are usually more grown up, with the main characters having jobs and other responsibilities. This is a hard combination to find, and readers who enjoy Jennifer Colasanti, Sarah Dessen and Jennifer E. Smith will find these books a great way to wile away a summer day.

The small Alabama town, with its cast of quirky characters, is a fun setting against which to place a variety of celebrations. From a town picnic to a local fall festival, Sophie gets to work with her friends during amusing events. Who doesn't want to spend time at a senior citizens' Valentine celebration, or at a New Year's Eve barn dance, especially when there is the promise of romance in the air?

Micah is a great friend, and I love to see teens with jobs they enjoy. Even though Sophie's passion is fashion design, she channels her creative energy into the floral arrangements. Andrew is a bit of a mystery, and a decent guy whose quirky father is inordinately difficult. I'm not usually a fan of the Cybil Shepard/Bruce Willis Moonlighting sort of romance, where the characters hate each other and fight all the time but eventually fall in love. This isn't quite like that; Sophie and Andrew just get off on the wrong foot and can't seem to get their bearings with each other.

Romance books are always popular, and Maybe This Time takes the reader along for a year of festive celebrations where hard work and romantic possibilities go hand in hand, and are even accompanied by a corsage!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."
Little Rabbit Lost
 
4.5
"LITTLE RABBIT LOST follows Little Rabbit as he celebrates his birthday with his family. Little Rabbit wakes up feeling grown..."
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
 
5.0
"Books about girls who love science are always winners! Cece and her friends are trying to win their..."
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray For the First Day of School
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Hannah is starting first grade and excited about making friends. Only, every time..."