Brawler

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
51   0
Write Review
Brawler
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 26, 2019
ISBN
978-1338157758
Buy This Book
      
Eddie MacIntyre--Mac to a handful of friends--is Pennsylvania's most promising wrestler. His future is bright with scholarship offers and the dream of helping his struggling mom. But then comes a fateful match at the state championship, when his famous rage consumes him and he assaults a referee. In an instant, Mac loses all he and his mom have worked to build since his abusive father was locked up years ago.

Facing arrest, Mac runs away to another town, where he is taken in by a shady promoter who has followed his career. He recruits Mac into Brawlers, an illegal underground fighting ring run by a gangland boss. This is a bloodsport that has no rules . . . but offers plenty of reward.

Mac teams up with Khajee, a girl with the fighting skills he'll need to learn to survive . . . and her own dark past tying her to the head of the ring. Together the two must figure out their place in a world that hasn't been kind to them . . . and forge a future that could be.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Martial Arts and Domestic Abuse

Eddie McGuire is a talented high school wrestler with a horribly short fuse. This is no doubt a result of the abuse he endured from his father early in his life, but his father has been in jail for eight years. Eddie (or Mac) and his mother barely get by, and he's hoping to get a college scholarship and be able to one day get a good job and help his mother out. When a ref at a tournament makes him angry, he lets a punch fly, and just like that, his chances of college are gone. Not only that, but he may be looking at jail time. Detective Harrow, who helped lock his father up, comes to the family and tells them what is going on. Mac doesn't see any other way out, and decides to run away. He is quickly approached by people who knew his father and have been following his wrestling career. The promoter runs the Brawlers, an illegal group that stages violent, no-holds-barred fights around town and makes a lot of money off the betting. This is as good an opportunity as any for a teen on the run, and Mac is soon ensconced in the home of Khajee and her elderly uncle. The two owe the promoter, and Khajee trains Mac while she goes to school and Mac keeps an eye on the uncle, Than. While he is a good wrestler, Mac doesn't know much about martial arts, but Khajee manages to train him enough that his underlying anger makes him a powerful opponent. He tries to get money to his mother, who desperately wants him to come home. He is also given the chance to make peace with his father, although this ends in a terrifying scene of violence, with the father being on the receiving end for a change. After the decline and death of Than, Mac realizes that he can' stay on the run forever, and he tries to figure out what to do with his life.

Good Points
While this book is definitely violent, with lots of scenes in the ring as well as the beat down Mac delivers to his father, it does not have much bad language, and has no sexual activity or other things that would make it objectionable to middle grade readers. This is a very hard thing to do, but I always appreciate it. Some middle school students want books that are fairly dark, and this is a great choice for readers who like Carl Deuker's titles (especially the 2005 Runner), Volponi's Black and White, and Alphin's Counterfeit Son. These books all have characters who fight against overwhelming odds as best they can.

It is refreshing that Mac and Khajee never slip into a romantic relationship. They are both teens dealing with adult problems, and they support each other and help each other out without complicating matters. Khajee is a great athlete and shows Mac that he can learn a lot from her. Watching the two of them try to care for Than was heartbreaking and showed that with all of their problems, they were both very mature.

Certainly, there are some things in the book that seem odd. Would Khajee's uncle really be indebted to the promoter to the point where both of their lives were held in thrall to him? Would Mac really have been able to run away, stay close to home, and not have been found by the police? Would he have been able to visit and beat up his father? I believed the motivation for that-- Mac hasn't gotten any counseling for his anger issues (also realistic, since his mother was struggling so much), and when presented with an opportunity to beat up his father, I can see him wanting to do that.

Brawler is an unusual book that adds a sports twist to a book that has a feel similar to spy books, has sympathetic characters in dire circumstances, and that will speak to teen readers who want a book that makes their own lives seem happy in comparison!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."
Little Rabbit Lost
 
4.5
"LITTLE RABBIT LOST follows Little Rabbit as he celebrates his birthday with his family. Little Rabbit wakes up feeling grown..."
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
 
5.0
"Books about girls who love science are always winners! Cece and her friends are trying to win their..."
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray For the First Day of School
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Hannah is starting first grade and excited about making friends. Only, every time..."