The Voice in my Head

The Voice in my Head

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
200   0
Write Review
The Voice in my Head
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 28, 2019
ISBN
978-1335008497
Buy This Book
      

For Indigo Phillips, life has always been about basking in the shadow of her identical twin, Violet—the perfectly dressed, gentle, popular sister. The only problem the girls had in their lives was the occasional chaos that came with being part of the Phillips family brood. But when Violet becomes terminally ill and plans to die on her own terms via medically assisted death, Indigo spirals into desperation in her efforts to cope. That’s when she begins to hear a mysterious voice—a voice claiming to be God. The Voice insists that if she takes Violet to a remote rock formation in the Arizona desert, her sister will live. Incredibly, Violet agrees to go—if their dysfunctional family tags along for the ride. With all nine members stuffed into a wonky old paratransit bus, including their controlling older sister and distant mother, Indigo must find a way to face insecurities she’s spent a lifetime masking and step up to lead the trip. As she deals with outrageous mishaps, strange lodgings and even stranger folks along the way, Indigo will figure out how to come to terms with her sister, her family…and the voice in her head.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

charming story of family, love, and healing

THE VOICE IN MY HEAD begins with Indigo standing on a building, praying to God for her sister to live and trying to bargain. When she hears a voice, she slips and falls. Later, at the hospital, she had some severe injuries but still hears the voice. Her much older sister, Michelle, is a nurse practitioner and checks her out against medical advice so that they can go home. Indigo’s twin sister, Violet, is terminally ill with a respiratory disease for which there is no treatment or cure. Violet has elected to choose medically-assisted suicide or euthanasia.

The voice Indigo is hearing tells her that if she brings Violet to a park in Arizona and has her hike to the Wave (2.5 miles), Violet will live. Indigo gives this message to Violet when she is supposed to be saying goodbye and dumps the medication out the window. Violet ends up deciding to go on the trip and make the hike- but only if the whole family goes too.

There’s a lot to unpack in the story. At the forefront, it deals with some really big issues, such as grief, loss, terminal illness, and euthanasia. Secondarily, there are some smaller issues that come up such as racism and what it is like to be black in this country. Despite the overwhelmingly sad story, the author has managed to infuse some humor and healing into the book, and it ends up being quite entertaining- from the priest with his colorful bus and new-age good nature, the Voice which may be God, and the family dynamics.

The characters were all really well constructed, and there’s a lot to be said about the family and how they come together and build new understanding on the long trip. Whereas often in stories about death, the grieving and healing occurs after, in this book, it happens along with the trip. We see the characters (particularly Indigo) growing throughout the book.

Overall, this is an engaging contemporary YA about family, (familial) love, and healing. With a charming cast of characters and appropriately infused humor, this story is chock full of heart. I would highly recommend for anyone looking for a thoughtful book that presents a lot of topics for further discussion/consideration.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pirate Queen: The Legend of Grace O'Malley
A captivating retelling of the story of Grace O’Malley, the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Call It a Doomsday
There are many ways the world could end. A fire....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The moment I declared the last word, I felt a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
"Elidi is a Goddess, or she will be when she ascends but to do that she must survive an attack..."
 
5.0
"Lemon's story focuses on finding an identity when you don't have one. She has to overcome her unforgettable name and..."
Falling For My Nemesis
 
4.8
"This book was so good. The Story: Mia and Carson have always hated each other. As Carson's brother's best..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"Some books hit you right in the feels (or a bit lower). This is one of them. In the..."
 
4.0
"This book is not like anything else I have ever read and I thought it was great!!! you will need..."
Above The Star
 
5.0
""Though reminiscent of beloved fantasies -- think A Wrinkle in Time meets The Princess Bride -- Above the Star is..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"I'm not going to lie, I was a bit skeptical when I started this book. As someone in a wheelchair,..."
My Virtual Prince Charming
 
4.0
"Luke is one of the popular crowd, but he has a nerdy secret. He loves to play the online game..."
Oath Taker
 
3.0
"OATH TAKER starts out super intriguing. As the reader, you’re immediately pulled into a world of light and dark magic,..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"The story: Peyton has lost so much over the past eighteen months. Her brother passed away in a horrible accident,..."
Catching Ivy
 
4.8
"Feedback There are certain things I don’t like in books. Insta-love and perfect plans out of nowhere - just to..."
We Thought We Were Invincible
 
4.8
"Callie is trying to survive high school and get out of her small Florida town. When her best friend moves..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"n the third and final installment in the ‘The Clay Lion’ trilogy, Charlie’s little sister Melody takes her own trip..."
The Girl with Seven Wishes
 
5.0
"After helping her sister Lalana escape with her true love, Zadie must face the consequences. The new sultan of Astaran..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve been a big fan of both Craven and MacQueen for many years so when I heard they were collaborating..."
What He Hides
 
4.8
"Fans of Karen McManus will enjoy the twists and turns in WHAT HE HIDES. When Lauren’s mom becomes the..."
Two Like Me and You
 
4.8
"TWO LIKE ME AND YOU is a laugh-out-loud, heartwarming story that fans of John Green will adore. Edwin gets..."
Twelfth Knight
 
4.5
"This story kept me engaged from the first page to the last. The Story: Violet is a new student..."