Happy Messy Scary Love

Happy Messy Scary Love

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
164   0
Write Review
Happy Messy Scary Love
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 14, 2019
ISBN
978-1419734892
Buy This Book
      

As everyone at her Brooklyn high school announces their summer adventures, Olivia harbors a dirty secret: Her plan is to binge-watch horror movies and chat with her online friend, Elm. Olivia and Elm have never shared personal details, apart from their ages and the fact that Elm’s aunt is a low-budget horror filmmaker. Then Elm pushes Olivia to share her identity and sends her a selfie of his own. Olivia is shocked by how cute he is! In a moment of panic, assuming she and Elm will never meet in real life, she sends a photo of her gorgeous friend Katie. But things are about to get even more complicated when Olivia’s parents send her to the Catskills, and she runs into the one person she never thought she would see. This sweet and funny summertime romance is perfect for fans of Love and Gelato and The Unexpected Everything.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

cute romance

HAPPY MESSY SCARY LOVE follows Olivia aka Carrie from her Reddit username over the summer. Olivia is a horror movie fan and dreams of writing and directing them one day. She applied to do a summer program at NYU, but she procrastinated and didn't put forth her best effort leaving her to be rejected. Instead, her mother lines up a job for her at a zipline place- which is especially terrible because Olivia is afraid of heights.

Olivia has been talking to a guy she met on Reddit whom she knows as Elm from his username. They both love horror movies and found out they were the same age. He proposes to swap photos, but when Olivia sees his picture, she panics and winds up eventually sending her BFF Katie's picture. What she doesn't expect is to meet the real Elm later, as Jake. She recognizes him right away, but of course, he does not recognize her.

Things begin to spiral out of control as Olivia doubles down on the lies and keeps the farce going. At the same time, she and Jake are connecting in real life, but we all know this tower of cards will come crumbling down at any moment. The lies keep on getting bigger and bigger.

This was a YA contemporary romance which is based on a catfish-like premise. I loved Jake, and how sweet he is plus his 'dad jokes.' Olivia also experiences a lot of personal growth over the summer, which makes this an overall light-hearted book. I do wish she would have told the truth earlier, but this was a lot of the tension in the book- and teenagers do not always make the smartest choices. However, it was an overall fun romance with loads of cute scenes.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Don't Date Rosa Santos
Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea-at least, that's...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Darknessontheedgeoftown.jpg
Chief Jim Hopper reveals long-awaited secrets to Eleven about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Air Awakens
A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Ghost
A gripping psychological thriller. Inspired by a serial killer...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Stolen Breath
The Swarm is unrecognizable, untraceable, and unpredictable—random attacks on the...
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cursed Beauty
Aurora Rose Brynhild is out of time. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The C Word
Addison: Secrets have a way of getting out....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aphelion
Ky isn’t your typical seventeen-year-old girl. She's an alien hunter.Ky...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Announcing Trouble
I may know everything there is to know about baseball,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seneca Lake
It's 1944, and high school senior Meg Michaels has always...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freshman Witch
Of course, magic is real. Everybody knows that. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sarai and The Around The World Fair
When Sarai outgrows her bike, she worries she'll never get...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Of Beast and Beauty
7 vengeful sisters 7 fairytale kingdoms 7 daughters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Pepper Party Picks The Perfect Pet (The Pepper Party, #1)
Meet the Peppers. Funny runs in the family....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sarai and The Around The World Fair
 
3.0
"Though rich and vibrant in illustrations and culture, Sarai and the Around the World Fair is a slow-mover. ..."
The Pepper Party Picks The Perfect Pet (The Pepper Party, #1)
 
5.0
"Absolute fun is one way to summarize The Pepper Party Picks the Perfect Pet. Perfectly placed and brilliant illustrations helped..."
Dirt
 
4.0
"After Yonder's mom dies, she and her dad are struck with grief and have trouble picking up the pieces. It..."
Where the Heart Is
 
5.0
"The start of thirteen-year-old Rachel’s summer doesn’t go as she planned. Tensions are high at her home and she knows..."
Smile: How Young Charlie Chaplin Taught the World to Laugh (and Cry)
 
4.0
"'Smile: How Young Charlie Chaplin Taught the World to Laugh (and Cry)' by Gary Golio, illustrated by Ted Young, is..."
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
 
4.0
"PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands..."
Truman
 
5.0
"TRUMAN is an unbelievably sweet story about a tortoise. Truman the tortoise lives with his best friend and owner Sarah,..."
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
 
4.0
"THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD features cartoony planets and drawings along with poems on each page. Topical, clever,..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."