Storm and Fury

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
302   0
Write Review
Storm and Fury
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 11, 2019
ISBN
978-1335218797
Buy This Book
      

Enter a world of gargoyle protectors, rising demons and one girl with an explosive secret. Eighteen-year-old Trinity Marrow may be going blind, but she can see and communicate with ghosts and spirits. Her unique gift is part of a secret so dangerous that she’s been in hiding for years in an isolated compound fiercely guarded by Wardens—gargoyle shape-shifters who protect humankind from demons. If the demons discover the truth about Trinity, they’ll devour her, flesh and bone, to enhance their own powers. When Wardens from another clan arrive with disturbing reports that something out there is killing both demons and Wardens, Trinity’s safe world implodes. Not the least because one of the outsiders is the most annoying and fascinating person she’s ever met. Zayne has secrets of his own that will upend her world yet again—but working together becomes imperative once demons breach the compound and Trinity’s secret comes to light. To save her family and maybe the world, she’ll have to put her trust in Zayne. But all bets are off as a supernatural war is unleashed…

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

wonderful light-hearted YA fantasy/romance

With Armentrout’s characteristic snark and swoony romance, STORM AND FURY will not disappoint fans who have been eagerly awaiting this new spin-off series. As a spin-off, fans will love revisiting the world and characters of the Dark Elements trilogy. While it is not necessary to have read the previous trilogy to understand this book, I would still recommend catching up on it, in part because it is a wonderful trilogy and in part because while this book introduces the world lightly, the previous books gave a lot of helpful context.

Trinity is eighteen and has grown up at the Warden compound, believing herself to be a weapon. She is bonded to Misha, a Warden who is her assigned and bonded Protector and who is like a brother to her. Wardens are, in the most simplistic terms, shape-shifting gargoyles who hunt demons. Demons come in many forms and generally wreak havoc. Angels also exist and help guide the Wardens, mostly staying out of direct human or demon contact. What we know is expanded in this new book, and the world of the Dark Elements trilogy becomes larger and more complex.

Everything begins to change when some of the DC clan of Wardens come to the compound asking for help against a new problem. Trinity is particularly drawn to the handsome Zayne, and he seems to be drawn to her. When outside events escalate, they must work together to figure out what is going on. Their pull is undeniable, but each have issues they must start to work through before they can come together.

What I loved: Armentrout’s books all have some wonderful banter and snark, and this book is no exception. I absolutely loved the banter and flirting between Zayne and Trinity- it is top notch. Add that to action and mystery, and it is a fast-paced page-turner that will keep you up late reading. I also really adored the new character of Peanut, a ghost who died in the 1980s that talks to Trinity. His dialogue was some of the funniest and cheekiest in the book. We also get to see old favorites that fans will be delighted to have reappear in this new series.

On top of that, there are also some important messages about invisible disabilities. Trinity has a visual problem and rare disorder shared by the author. As such, this really shines through the book and introduces readers to some important issues.

Final verdict: With fantastic world-building and a whole new story, this spin-off series is a must-read for fans of light-hearted YA fantasy, action/adventure, and romance. New and old fans will rejoice in the fast-paced plot, delicious banter, and steamy romance. The next book in this delightful series cannot come soon enough!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Angels, Demons, and Gorgoyle Shapeshifters!

Trinity has never been allowed to leave her home compound because of her secret. Here, she has friends, a protector, and the Wardens to look after her, even though there’s rarely a demon attack. The Wardens are these really cool and unique gargoyle shifters. They protect the world from demons and Trinity has trouble finding her place while hiding the truth.

Enter Zayne, a Warden who she can’t help but be drawn to. But he can never discover the secret of who she really is. When demons attack her home and take her best friend, Zayne is the only one who can help her find him. However, the path he takes goes against everything she’s ever been taught.

I love the lead female, Trinity, because she’s someone likable and I could relate to her. She’s so nosy and I love it. I love the tension between Trinity and Zayne and how they work so well together. The twists throughout the book, especially the end, has me eager for the second!


Final Verdict: I would recommend this book to fans of fantasy, paranormal, shifters, demons, angels, and romance.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."
Little Rabbit Lost
 
4.5
"LITTLE RABBIT LOST follows Little Rabbit as he celebrates his birthday with his family. Little Rabbit wakes up feeling grown..."
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
 
5.0
"Books about girls who love science are always winners! Cece and her friends are trying to win their..."
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray For the First Day of School
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Hannah is starting first grade and excited about making friends. Only, every time..."