House of Salt and Sorrows

House of Salt and Sorrows

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
118   0
Write Review
House of Salt and Sorrows
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 06, 2019
ISBN
978-1984831927
Buy This Book
      
Annaleigh lives a sheltered life at Highmoor, a manor by the sea, with her sisters, their father, and stepmother. Once they were twelve, but loneliness fills the grand halls now that four of the girls' lives have been cut short. Each death was more tragic than the last--the plague, a plummeting fall, a drowning, a slippery plunge--and there are whispers throughout the surrounding villages that the family is cursed by the gods.

Disturbed by a series of ghostly visions, Annaleigh becomes increasingly suspicious that the deaths were no accidents. Her sisters have been sneaking out every night to attend glittering balls, dancing until dawn in silk gowns and shimmering slippers, and Annaleigh isn't sure whether to try to stop them or to join their forbidden trysts. Because who--or what--are they really dancing with?

When Annaleigh's involvement with a mysterious stranger who has secrets of his own intensifies, it's a race to unravel the darkness that has fallen over her family--before it claims her next. House of Salt and Sorrows is a spellbinding novel filled with magic and the rustle of gossamer skirts down long, dark hallways. Get ready to be swept away.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: April 05, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

darkly haunting and spell-binding

HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS is an elegant and enchanting dark YA fantasy. Fans of the 12 Dancing Princesses will be delighted by this deliciously haunting retelling. Annaleigh is the sixth of twelve daughters whose lives have been filled with death. On the islands where they live and her father currently holds the dukedom, the eldest child inherits, whether or not they are male. Annaleigh never imagined she would be in a viable position to inherit, and she has been completely shocked by the events that have led to her having only one older sister, Camille, left. As the four before her have died, Annaleigh suspects that she or Camille are next.

The deaths began with the loss of their mother after childbirth and have continued for so many years that the mourning customs have been their only customs. The series of deaths have led the people around them to believe that the Thaumus family is cursed. However, Annaleigh looks beyond the deaths to suspect murder. As she investigates, stranger and stranger happenings have her second-guessing herself and everything she sees and knows.

With her new stepmother expecting and the shroud of sorrow hanging over the family for so long, everyone but Annaleigh is eager to move on and forget the past. When they find a portal that will take them anywhere, the sisters are all ready to adorn their beautiful gowns and shoes and dance all night at elegant balls. However, Annaleigh is focused on discovering who might be targeting their family before it is too late. With twists and turns and a handsome love interest, this book is completely spell-binding.

Annaleigh is a beautifully crafted character and easy to relate to. Through her eyes, we witness the (at times) horrors and mysteries that shroud the Thaumus family. This is easily a book which kept me up at night turning pages and is difficult to put down. The premise is expertly executed, capturing the 12 Dancing Princesses in a unique and completely fascinating way. As one of my favorite fairytales, I had high expectations, and they were completely met and exceeded.

In terms of the love interest for Annaleigh, this felt a little insta-love-ish, and I was on-board later in the story, though I had a hard time getting into them as a couple. I would have either liked more build up to the romance or for it to be excluded (there is certainly enough else to keep the reader’s eager attention). Other than that, the book has a fantastic build to a twisty and perfect conclusion. The setting is lyrically crafted and absolutely ideal for this dark and spell-binding story. Everything is wrapped up so well at the end also- what a perfect stand-alone novel!

I highly recommend for people who like horror/thrillers, mysteries, fantasy, and dark fairytale retellings. I would add warnings for murders, suicide, and mental illness. Perfect for fans of WINTERSONG and THE WHITE STAG.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Me, Shakespeare and the Anti-Love Club
Heartbroken and spurned Kassidy starts an Anti-Love Club in response...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
Sacrifice all you have to survive. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Akakies, a peaceful, technologically advanced alien species known as...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new, revised edition of Edward Willett’s multi-award-winning young adult...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Love at First Fight
Band Geek vs Quarterback... One humiliating photo, a stupid...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ellie Quinn has spent most of her sixteen years behind...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
King Geek vs the Cheerleader Julia Farrow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer vs Player Some girls have a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Long live Solaris. One bloodthirsty ruler has...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A woman awoken in air, a soldier forged by fire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Soldier... Sorcerer... Savior... Who is Vhalla Yarl? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
No Place Like Here
Ashlyn Zanotti has big plans for the summer. She’s...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Mermaid Upstairs
Yesterday 16-year-old Emily’s mother was a high-powered attorney. Today...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
Dr. Snow Has Got To Go
 
3.5
"Dr. Snow Has To Go is a loosely illustrated chapter book with humor that just might go over some young..."
Mangoes, Mischief, and Tales of Friendship
 
4.0
"MANGOES, MISCHIEF, AND TALES OF FRIENDSHIP is based off of Indian folklore. It's broken up into two parts, but both..."
Secrets of a Fangirl
 
5.0
"Sarah Anne is the biggest fan of the MK Nightshade series, but it's taboo in the popular world of her..."
Jaclyn Hyde
 
5.0
"JACLYN HYDE is a fun middle grade retelling of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Jaclyn is..."
The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #2)
 
4.5
"Fans of the Wings of Fire Series won't want to miss the graphic novels. The colors are bright and the..."
Secrets of a Fangirl
 
4.0
"SECRETS OF A FANGIRL is a fun contemporary middle grade about embracing yourself for who you are and what you..."
Scream Site
 
4.0
"After reading Justina Ireland's YA, Dread Nation, which has a solid amount of scare, I was ecstatic to pick up..."
Willbee the Bumblebee
 
5.0
"The story has a beautiful rhythm to it as Willbee the Bumblebee flies around the lovely garden he calls home...."
A Wolf Called Wander
 
4.5
"Roseanne Parry’s book, A Wolf Called Wander is based on a real story about a wolf who became separated from..."
New Kid
 
4.5
"'New Kid' by Jerry Craft follows main character Jordan, a seventh grader who wants to go to an art school,..."
Dragons Eat Noodles on Tuesdays
 
4.0
"DRAGONS EAT NOODLES ON TUESDAY is a silly story about two monsters who are trying to tell a story. However,..."
Lizzy McTizzy and the Busy Dizzy Day
 
4.0
"Lizzy McTizzy is late for a party but she can't find her shoe. She looks everywhere both inside and outside..."
Hello Knights
 
5.0
"HELLO KNIGHTS is all about the life of a knight. There's armor, a king, a queen, knights marching here and..."
Future Astronaut (Future Baby)
 
5.0
"FUTURE ASTRONAUT is a completely charming and brightly colored book that compares astronauts to babies. For instance, astronauts eat from..."
Will Giraffe Laugh?
 
4.0
"When Giraffe wakes up, he feels grumpy and doesn't want to smile. His friends want to cheer him up so..."
Zen Happiness
 
5.0
"ZEN HAPPINESS features twelve different Zen sayings. The first one is "We are born again with each new day." ZEN..."
Baby Love
 
4.0
"BABY LOVE has been redone as a board book with a mirror. The characters are animals and it's about what..."
Animal Stories (BOB Books)
 
5.0
"The pacing and simplistic words in the set ANIMAL STORIES (BOB BOOKS) is just what the emerging reader needs. The..."
Mama Loves Her Silly Goose
 
5.0
"Sandra Magsamen is back with Nursery Rhymes this time. Her signature format and bright, simple colors are perfect for any..."