The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)

The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
112   0
Write Review
The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 04, 2019
ISBN
9780399177446
Buy This Book
      
One young woman learns the true nature of power—both her own and others’—in the riveting conclusion to The Waking Land Trilogy.

“Bates brilliantly concludes an impressive high fantasy trilogy with this tale of scheming and magic.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Sophy Dunbarron—the illegitimate daughter of a king who never was—has always felt like an impostor. Separated from her birth mother, raised by parents mourning the loss of their true daughter, and unacknowledged by her father, Sophy desires only a place and a family to call her own. But fate has other ideas. Caught up in Elanna Valtai’s revolution, Sophy has become the reigning monarch of a once-divided country—a role she has been groomed her whole life to fill.

But as she quickly discovers, wearing a crown is quite a different thing from keeping a crown. With an influx of magic-bearing refugees pouring across the border, resources already thinned by war are stretched to the breaking point. Half the nobility in her court want her deposed, and the other half question her every decision. And every third person seems to be spontaneously manifesting magical powers.

When Elanna is captured and taken to Paladis, Sophy’s last ally seems to have vanished. Now it is up to her alone to navigate a political maze that becomes more complex and thorny by the day. And worse, Sophy is hiding a huge secret—one that could destroy her tenuous hold on the crown forever.

Don’t miss any of Callie Bates’s magical Waking Land trilogy:
THE WAKING LAND • THE MEMORY OF FIRE • THE SOUL OF POWER

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Enthralling YA fantasy

THE SOUL OF POWER is a strong conclusion in The Waking Land trilogy. While the first book focused on Elanna (El) and the second on Jahan, this third book is all about Sophy Dunbarron, now the queen of Eren and Caeris. This book requires the context of the first two to really get into and thus does not work as a stand-alone. Eren and Caeris were countries once together but have separated becoming enemies and having one conquer the other. They were both under the power of Paladis, and sorcery has been outlawed/thought to be evil.

El, the Caveadear or steward of the land, has awakened the land and participated in the rebellion of the people against the then rulers. Now, installing Sophy and fighting against neighboring kingdoms, she is captured by Paladis and their Witch Hunters. Sophy has already sent Jahan to Paladis as ambassador, and her hold on the people is tenuous with hatred between Ereni and Caerisians still lying under the surface. As Sophy tries to navigate the political landscape, she must worry about other rebellions and dissatisfactions- and the secret she carries.

As tensions continue to rise, Sophy is increasingly aware of the difficulties of ruling. She must decide not only what is best for the people but also for herself as she fills the role she was raised to fill. While the characters from previous books are present here, there are many new characters and/or old characters who are now given larger roles, that are completely enchanting. This whole series is filled with extraordinarily well-crafted people who leap off the page in their descriptions and mannerisms. Each book has completely brought me into this realm.

This book has less romance than in the past, as Sophy is already with Alistair. Her main objectives are career-related (if we can call ruling the country as such), and this is always refreshing in the YA literature. The world is so well-crafted that it is easy to imagine and completely enthralling, much in the way of high fantasy books like Lord of the Rings. This whole series has been such a fascinating and engaging ride that I highly recommend for people who like YA or adult fantasy, and especially for fans of The Girl of Fire and Thorns series.

Overall, this is a great finale in a fantastic series, and I highly recommend you read it from start to finish. With beautifully crafted characters and amazing world-building, The Waking Land trilogy is a wonderfully enthralling journey. I would add warnings for rape (past/not in detail), sexism, torture (not described in detail), and gruesome deaths.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Enter the Core (Max Tilt #3)
Max Tilt thinks his luck is finally changing, thanks to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hugs and Kisses for the Grouchy Ladybug
From the World of Eric Carle comes a brand-new book...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hush, Little Bunny
Hush, Little Bunny is a heartwarming, lyrical love letter from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fangs for Everything (Crimebiters #4)
The CrimeBiters gang got its start with help from my...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer Babies (Babies in the Park)
An endearing board book with adorable babies on the go...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter
Rina Nelle Mont has never been a part of...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Riverdale.jpg
Based on the massively successful CW show, Riverdale, this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emmie and the Tudor King
One moment, Emmie is writing her high school history paper;...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology)
First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Afterward
Romantic high fantasy from the bestselling author of Star...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tell Me Everything
Your secret's safe...until it's not. Ivy's always preferred to...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Genie Dagger
A magical dagger. An evil genie. A hidden past....
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Fox and the Box
In this debut picture book, author-illustrator Yvonne Ivinson invites readers...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lambslide
Nicolette Farmer is running for class president, and the rest...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am a Wonder Woman
An entertaining look at some of the most influential women...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun Down, Monsters Up!
Pitchfork Pines Preschool is anything but normal. Once the sun...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Enter the Core (Max Tilt #3)
 
4.0
"Max and his cousin Alex are still enjoying the benefits of the serum that has cured Max's mom and his..."
Hugs and Kisses for the Grouchy Ladybug
 
4.5
"HUGS AND KISSES FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG features, of course, the iconic character of the grouchy ladybug and which examines..."
Hush, Little Bunny
 
5.0
"HUSH, LITTLE BUNNY is a beautifully reimagined version of the song, “Hush, Little Baby.” Featuring a papa bunny and his..."
Fangs for Everything (Crimebiters #4)
 
4.0
"Jimmy and his friends are back for this fourth and final installment, which starts with a bit of a shocker......"
Summer Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
5.0
"SUMMER BABIES is a fun board book that celebrates summer with babies playing in the park. Using summery colors and..."
Fox and the Box
 
5.0
"FOX AND THE BOX is a charming picture book that follows a fox as he/she converts a box into a..."
Lambslide
 
5.0
"LAMBSLIDE is an elegant picture book that follows three little lambs, who are all pretty sure the world revolves around..."
Sun Down, Monsters Up!
 
5.0
"SUN DOWN, MONSTERS UP! introduces the characters of Pitchfork Pines Preschool. This special preschool hosts the children of famous monsters..."
How Do I Love Thee?
 
5.0
"HOW DO I LOVE THEE? features a beautiful poem and lovely illustrations in a celebration of love between friends and..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
3.5
"PIPPIN NO LICKIN is a picture book which follows the cat, Pippin. Although most cats know how to clean themselves..."
Bone Hollow
 
4.0
"BONE HOLLOW follows Gabe, a young boy who lives with Miss Cleo, a woman who cares for him exactly as..."
The Missing Easter Bunny (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"THE MISSING EASTER BUNNY is a colorful and bright celebration of Easter egg hunts! Ebby the bunny invited all the..."
Egg
 
4.0
"EGG is a cute and simple board book that primarily focuses on the illustrations. The story begins with four eggs,..."
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
 
3.5
"EMMET GETS TOUGH is a picture book that is a companion to the movie featured. In the vein of THE..."
It's Pool Time! (Clifford)
 
4.0
"In a delightful summer read, Emily Elizabeth, Clifford, and friends are spending a day at the pool. Emily Elizabeth wants..."
Spring Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
5.0
"This enchanting board book features lovely images that celebrate babies in the springtime. With a simple, rhyming poem and coordinated..."
Making Bombs for Hitler
 
5.0
"What worked: This is an emotional tale of Lida, a young Ukrainian girl, who is stolen from her home and..."
Dear Boy,
 
5.0
"DEAR BOY is a series of reflections on and advice for life, geared towards boys. With statements encouraging them to..."
I Need a Hug
 
4.0
"I NEED A HUG features a porcupine who knows she needs a cuddle. However, none of the animals want to..."
Beyond the Sixth Extinction: A Post-Apocalyptic Pop-Up
 
5.0
"This unbelievably cool pop-up book is great for elementary-aged children with large imaginations. This book speculates about how certain organisms..."