The Geography of Lost Things

The Geography of Lost Things

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
424   0
Write Review
The Geography of Lost Things
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 02, 2018
ISBN
9781481499217
Buy This Book
      

In this romantic road trip story perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson, a teen girl discovers the value of ordinary objects while learning to forgive her absent father. After Ali’s father passes away, he leaves his one and only prized possession—a 1968 Firebird convertible—to his daughter. But Ali doesn’t plan on keeping it. Not when it reminds her too much of all her father’s unfulfilled promises. So when she finds a buyer three hundred miles up the Pacific coast willing to pay enough money for the car to save her childhood home, Ali can’t wait to get going. Except Ali has no idea how to drive a stick shift. But guess who does? Ali’s ex-boyfriend, Nico. And Nico has other plans. He persuades Ali that instead of selling the car, they should “trade up” the items they collect on their trip to eventually reach the monetary amount Ali needs. Agreeing with Nico’s crazy plan, Ali sets off on a unique adventure that is unlike anything she ever could have expected. And it’s through Ali’s travels, through the strangers she meets and the things that they value—and why they value them—that Ali eventually comes to understand her father and how his life may not have been as easy and carefree as she previously thought. Because just like the seemingly insignificant objects Ali collects, not everything is exactly as it appears.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Geography of Lost Things

THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS by Jessica Brody is a YA contemporary novel that begins with Ali needing to sell her late father’s car for cash. She finds a buyer five hours away, but the car isn’t an automatic and she doesn’t know how to drive stick. The only person who can help is Nico, Ali’s ex-boyfriend, who’s surprisingly willing to join her on this road trip. Despite their disastrous breakup, they head up into the Pacific Northwest together, and along the way, Ali begins to realize that everything isn’t always as it seems. Through forgiveness, she may still have a shot at being happy.

First of all, I love the packaging for this book. The cover image, the font choices, and even the color scheme are all really eye-catching and communicate important information. Before even reading anything about the story, I can tell there will be a road trip, a romance, and an inward journey. In other words, the packaging tells me what I need to know and sells me immediately.

Luckily, the premise of this book matches expectations. Two exes stuck in a car together? It’s the ultimate “one bed, two people trope” expanded to an entire novel format. From the beginning, it’s clear that Nico and Ali will end up back together, and for the most part, I like how Brody gets us there. However, for all the buildup and waiting we have to do as readers, I wanted a bigger reconciliation in the end. I have a sense that Brody simmered their relationship to make the book more about Ali and her father, Jackson. However, while Jackson’s storyline fueled Ali motives, I found the flashbacks a bit too frequent, which slowed the pacing down for me.

The writing is also a little too polished, almost like Brody ticked off all the boxes for what makes a great novel, but the different elements didn’t fully congeal. For instance, Ali has a lot of quirky traits that set her apart from other characters. She lives and dies by online personality quizzes, she hates liars and lying, she is very knowledgeable about animals and wants to be a vet, she’s the exact opposite of a hoarder, and she thinks black coffee is boring. All of these distinctions make her very specific, but, for me, they were distracting. Though I love dynamic characters, I wish Brody picked one or two traits and allowed them to shine through the entire story instead of ping-ponging back and forth.

Overall, THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS is a fresh voice in the YA contemporary world. The story is both nostalgic and new, cliché and original. It offers timeless lessons that made me look at my own life. Set during the summer, THE GEOGRAPHY OF LOST THINGS is the perfect book to escape this winter’s cold.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
Get ready for a Peppa Pig story that's out of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Stars We Steal
Engagement season is in the air. Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie “Leo”...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
Pete the Cat’s cool adaptation of the classic children’s song...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Superlative Birds
Explore the fascinating world of superlative birds―from the bee hummingbird,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In Another Life
Chloe was three years old when she became Chloe Holden,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even Monsters Go To School
What’s a school day like for you? ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
In a sweet and clever picture book from debut author-illustrator...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Origami Bible Stories For Kids
Perfect for Sunday school lessons and youth group activities--paper figures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pig the Stinker
In this hilarious adventure, Pig the Pug STINKS! Pig likes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Little Rabbit Lost
It is Little Rabbit’s birthday and his family surprises him...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
Cece loves science and adventure! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray For the First Day of School
Cheer along with Hannah Sparkles on her first day of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Turtle and Tortoise Are Not Friends
This is Turtle. This is...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Trace
In a debut novel that's perfect for fans of Jason...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Summer Ends
Three months Two changed fates One...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mystery Club (Mr. Wolf's Class #2)
Mr. Wolf's students are settling into their new classroom, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."
Little Rabbit Lost
 
4.5
"LITTLE RABBIT LOST follows Little Rabbit as he celebrates his birthday with his family. Little Rabbit wakes up feeling grown..."
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
 
5.0
"Books about girls who love science are always winners! Cece and her friends are trying to win their..."
Hannah Sparkles: Hooray For the First Day of School
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Hannah is starting first grade and excited about making friends. Only, every time..."
Turtle and Tortoise Are Not Friends
 
3.5
"Turtle and Tortoise Are Not Friends is a cute children's book that kids will like simply for the fact that..."
Trace
 
3.0
"TRACE is a book about healing. Trace lives with his Auntie Lea after his parents died in a car accident..."
Mystery Club (Mr. Wolf's Class #2)
 
5.0
"Super-cute and full of adventure, MYSTERY CLUB is a great comic for reluctant or new readers in elementary school. Featuring..."
Tree of Dreams
 
5.0
"TREE OF DREAMS is a story about facing yourself, healing, standing up for/with others, and environmental activism. Coco is a..."
Piranhas Don't Eat Bananas
 
5.0
"PIRANHAS DON’T EAT BANANAS is a delightful, rhyming romp! Brian is a piranha who loves fruit and vegetables. However, when..."
Fabulous Fishes
 
4.5
"With fun poetry and lovely illustrations, FABULOUS FISHES is a fun introduction to the variety of animals that live in..."
Kindergarten A-D Reader Box Set - Funny Furry Tales
 
5.0
"The collection of FUNNY FURRY TALES includes entertaining stories that will make your child want to read. There are sixteen..."
New Adventures Story Box (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"The NEW ADVENTURES STORY BOX is an affordable Peppa Pig collection. It contains six books in the set: Learning to..."
Bear's Springtime Book of Hidden Things
 
4.0
"Winter is over and Bear is ready to have some springtime fun. First, Bear has to gather everything he needs,..."
The Twelve
 
4.0
"Usagi lives in a world where some children are born with extraordinary powers, either ones that are animal like qualities..."
Hoax for Hire
 
5.0
"This was a completely fresh and engaging novel! There are very few books about cryptids out there (Savage's Lemons, Smith's..."
King & Kayla and the Case of Found Fred
 
5.0
"After a swim, King smells someone new and he discovers a dog named Fred. Fred has lost his family, but..."