Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)

Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)

 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
82   0
Write Review
Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 07, 2017
ISBN
1328767000
Buy This Book
      
Seventeen-year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, a legendary bounty hunter—that is, until her father is murdered. The alleged killer is none other than Cohen Mackay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart.

She must go on a treacherous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Ever the Hunted Review

Feedback

I adored this book so much! There were so many parts of this book that I just loved. A very well paced book with a rich story. Britta was stuck after her father was murdered, having no right to the land her prestige father owned. With no money and, essentially, squatting at her own home she was forced to poach which is illegal. Britta had learned a lot from her dad so instead of hanging she is offered the deal to bring in her father’s murderer. The murderer of her father being none other than her old friend, Cohen. Instead of dying, Britta accepts the proposition to help the royal guard and hunt for Cohen. That is all that can really be said without giving away most of the story. This book was so much more than just a fantasy book. Secrets, twists, and deceitfulness all play a part in this thrilling plot. Everything was tied together so well that I needed more once I was done. Along with a very well paced book, the details were amazing. I could easily imagine each scenery within the story.

As successful as the story was, the characters were even better. While I wasn’t really sure how I felt about Britta in the beginning, I ended up absolutely loving her character. She was a little rash early in the story making decisions that weren’t the best. However, she showed how smart and resourceful she really is. Along with trying to find out her father’s murderer there is so much more to her. A main character is only as good as her supporting characters, and each one was perfect. Cohen, Leif, Lord Jamis, Captain Omar, and so on - they all played their parts and developed so wonderfully. The characters were really meant for this story and each one had their reasoning for being included.

Final Thoughts

Overall, Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill was a fantastic story. With so much more story than just trying to track Britta’s father’s murderer, we are sucked into the world of Malam. The great story has a lot to do with the amazing characters created. Britta really developed into a strong and fierce main character whom I enjoyed reading about. I highly recommend this book for those who love unexpected twists in fantasy

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

wonderful YA series

"Ever the Hunted" is an incredible YA fantasy with a touch of romance. The story begins with Britta, starving and alone since her father was killed, hunting (poaching) for something to trade for lodging. As a person who is half Shaerdanian living in Malam, she is already ostracized by the locals who will not trade or help her and cannot inherit her father's land and/or home. Shaerdan and Malam are on the verge of war. Since she was a baby, Malam has closed its borders and made laws, for which the penalty is death, against the Channelers, women with powers to alter one aspect of nature. Britta's father, Saul, protected her to an extent as he taught her to do his job, tracking, and stealth as a bounty hunter. He also trained Cohen, who was to be an apprentice and Britta's only friend. Britta hasn't seen Cohen in a long time, as even though he said he would meet her the next day after she confessed her love for him, he never appeared or returned.

Britta is captured for poaching, for which the penalty is hanging, and is offered that she would be freed and her father's house and land given to her if she hunts down her father's killer, who is believed to be Cohen. Britta reluctantly agrees and sets out to find Cohen with guards breathing down her neck. However, things are not so simple or clear as they seem and who Britta, her father, and all the characters who seemed so black and white before are gets muddied. Britta must unravel the truth before it is too late for her kingdom and those she cares about.

I really loved this book. It was a bit slow moving at first as the scene is set and the characters developed, but once it really got going (about a quarter of the way through), I was completely hooked. I'm a sucker for medieval style adventures with an epic romance, and this was so well written that I was completely captured by Britta and Cohen and this whole other world. The fantasy elements felt just about perfect- they didn't overtake the book and mysteries of her father's death and kingdom's fate- but they certainly added a unique quality to the story. The romance between Britta and Cohen was incredible and I was cheering for them the whole way- there's a lot of unresolved sexual tension though (you have to withstand a lot of it, but then it makes the idea of their romance even sweeter). There are a few big twists that I didn't see coming, and I really loved following them all the way until the end.

As a note, the end does have a little bit of a cliffhanger, so be forewarned. I am so sad not to have the next book of this amazing series to keep reading right now. The author has built an incredible world, and I loved every step of this amazing journey. Britta really matures throughout the story, and she is the perfect character with which to explore this unique kingdom and fantasy adventure. This book is a wonderful twisty, mystery, fantasy, romance adventure, and I can't wait to read more.

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are entirely my own.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Love, Life, and the List
 
4.3
"Abby's goal in life is to become a serious artist. Her hope is to get into a special art camp...."
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
 
3.0
"It's 1984 and Laura Ratliff is a high school student with issues beyond a typical sixteen-year-old. Her mom and her..."
Beyond a Darkened Shore
 
4.7
"Top 4 Reasons to Grab BEYOND A DARKENED SHORE immediately: 1.) Historical fantasy worldbuilding: My biggest genre weakness..."
Onyx and Ivory
 
4.0
"Top 5 Reasons to Read Onyx and Ivory: 1.) The magic: Kate lives in a world where there are..."
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
 
5.0
"THE FLASH: THE SECRET FILES OF BARRY ALLEN is the perfect guide for the Flash tv show. The layout of..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
Giant Days
 
4.7
"Susan, Daisy and Esther are very different women, but they become fast friends after meeting on their college dorm floor...."
The Blood Spell
 
5.0
"Blue de la Cour enjoys her quiet life with her father, passing the days by working in the shop and..."
Mother Tongue
 
5.0
"As MOTHER TONGUE by Julie Mayhew begins, eighteen-year-old Darya envisions the bits of freedom she'll enjoy once her little sister,..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.7
"Consider this a sort of D&D primer for intro-level youth. Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after..."
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
 
3.0
"Told in second-person present-tense, this fantasy is styled after the beloved choose-your-own-adventure books of yore. It also features a vast..."
Parasite Life
 
4.7
"Jane is stuck in a creepy old house with her invalid mother. She has no idea why her mother is..."
Hearts Unbroken
 
N/A
"There are a lot of entry-points to the storylines in Cynthia Leitich Smith's Hearts Unbroken. I recommend this book especially..."
With Malice
 
5.0
"I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that..."
IF I FIX YOU
 
5.0
"The book is more like a 4.5 but I am going to give it a 5 star read because the..."
Enchantée
 
4.0
"After the death of her parents to smallpox, Camille Durbonne struggles to get by with her younger sister Sofie. One..."
The Penderwicks at Last
 
5.0
"THE PENDERWICKS AT LAST is the last in the series of Jeanne Birdsall's books about the Penderwick family. In this..."
Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)
 
5.0
""Ever the Hunted" is an incredible YA fantasy with a touch of romance. The story begins with Britta, starving and..."
Bud, Not Buddy
 
4.7
"Bud not Buddy is awesome! im in year 9 and im reading it in school for an assignment. On the..."
The Star-Touched Queen
 
3.3
"I enjoyed this rich world. I felt like I was there seeing the lure with my own eyes. I loved..."