The Healer

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
135   0
Write Review
The Healer
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 09, 2018
ISBN
0062662112
Buy This Book
      

Marlena Oliveira has—mysteriously, miraculously—been given the power to heal all kinds of ailments. People around the world believe she is a saint. But it all comes at a price. Because of her power, she’ll never be able to live a normal life. And the older she gets, the more trapped she feels. Then she meets Finn, a boy who makes her want to fall in love. For the first time, she begins to doubt her power—and herself. Is her gift worth all she must give up to keep it? And who would—or could—she be without it?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Healer - Book Review

Feedback

This was definitely an interesting story. The book starts off with Marlena being known as Marlena the Healer. Due to a gift she received as a baby, she is able to heal any infliction presented to her. She has an audience every Saturday in which she performs these miracles. This is the only life she has ever known as her mother keeps her from the outside world with almost no interaction to keep her “pure”. As she gets older, Marlena becomes more curious of the world she has never known. Curious to the point where she decides to pursue a more scientific approach to why she is able to heal. As she walks in to Angie’s office, she never expected to meet somebody who would make her consider giving up healing forever. This book is filled with so many themes - growing up, love, loss, and faith. All of this was done excellently. While faith was a present theme, growing up and experiencing love and loss for the first time were the biggest themes. Even though she believes her healing is a gift from God, the relationship between the two isn’t as present. Marlena tries to do everything she has missed out on the past 18 years when she was dedicating her life to her mom and healings. The emotions and changes that Marlena go through bleed through the words. There are different tones throughout the book depending on what part of Marlena’s life we are reading from. These tones are done so well that I could experience when Marlena was at her happiest, and when she was at her loneliest. I do feel like this book was written very well and the emotions can really be felt.

Marlena is what I imagined her to be. If someone who was sheltered with little interaction for 18 years decided to do whatever they wanted, that is exactly how I imagined they would be. Marlina does everything she has always wanted to do and even falls in love with a boy. Finn and Marlena’s relationship was great. They were exactly what they needed each other to be. Even though Marlena has some selfish moments, I was not thrown off by this. I found myself being glad that she did some of these things for herself. She would have never known her true self if she did not go through the changes she did. I was a little disappointed in the end and wish we got more of Marlena’s life after the events that took place in the end of the book.


Final Thoughts

Overall, The Healer by Donna Freitas is a great book. There is so much going on throughout the book but it all blends perfectly. This was a great story on growing up and learning about love, loss, and faith. I highly recommend this book for those that want a moving tale about a girl trying to discover who she really is.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Watch Hollow
 
5.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker's father repairs clocks for a living, but the business isn't doing well. After the death of..."
Courageous
 
4.0
"Aidan lives in a fishing village in England. His one brother has died in the war, but George is still..."
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
 
5.0
"The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot..."
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
 
4.0
"Thorn, a baboon, Sky, an elephant, and Fearless, a lion, have been friends since childhood. Due to the evil influence..."
Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
The Unteachables
 
5.0
"Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his..."
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
 
5.0
"Taylor Sorenson is a typical rebellious teen of 1968, sneaking out of his posh apartment to hang out with friends..."
Right as Rain
 
3.0
"Rain's family has experienced a tragedy-- her older brother was killed in a car accident. The mother thinks that the..."
Eventown
 
3.0
"Elodee's family is struggling for reasons that aren't clear, and she and her twin sister Naomi are not getting along...."
Scream and Scream Again
 
5.0
"I found some stories to be a lot more scary or interesting than others but the whole book was enjoyable...."
How Do I Love Thee?
 
5.0
"HOW DO I LOVE THEE is a beautifully illustrated children's book that is based on Elizabeth Barrett Browning's "Sonnet 43"...."
Privateer's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Privateer themed books can so easily go the way of the ridiculous and over the top. Not so with Privateer’s..."
Louisiana's Way Home
 
5.0
" I want to hug this book and never let go. Louisiana Elefante is cursed. She is hopeful..."