Books Young Adult Fiction Brain Droppings

Brain Droppings

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f7/76/b7/233_819176-1350231421.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
580   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
May 12, 1997
ISBN
0786883219
Buy This Book
      
Few comics make the transition from stage to page as smoothly or successfully as George Carlin. Brain Droppings spent a total of 40 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list, and this new one is certain to tickle even more ribs (and rattle a few more cages) with its characteristically ironic take on life's annoying universal truths.In Napalm & Silly Putty, Carlin doesn't steer clear of the tough issues, preferring instead to look life boldly in the eye to pose the questions few dare to ask:

-- How can it be a spy satellite if they announce on TV that it's a spy satellite?

-- Why do they bother saying "raw sewage"? Do some people cook that stuff?

-- In the expression "topsy-turvy", what exactly is meant by "turvy"?

And he makes some startling observations, including:

-- Most people with low self-esteem have earned it.

-- Guys don't seem to be called "Lefty" anymore.

-- Most people don't know what they're doing, and a lot of them are really good at it.

Carlin also waxes wickedly philosophical on all sorts of subjects, including:

-- Kids -- They're not all cute. In fact, if you look at them closely, some of them are rather unpleasant looking. And a lot of them don't smell too good either.

-- Death Row -- If you're condemned to die they have to give you one last meal of your own request. What is that all about? A group of people plan to kill you, so they want you to eat something you like?

Add to the mix "The Ten Most Embarrassing Songs of All Time", "The 20th Century Hostility Scoreboard", and "People I Can Do Without", and you have an irresistibly insouciant assortment of musings, questions, assertions, and assumptions guaranteed to please the millions of fans waiting for the next Carlin collection -- and the millions more waiting to discover this comic genius.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
0.0  (0)
Writing Style 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Thomas Milinkovich

Brain Droppings by George Carlin is by far the funniest book that I ever read. He bases all his comedy on world issues and his life experiences. Such as the nuns who taught him at school, wars, and jocks. This is probably one of my personal favorites because every single page will make you laugh. My favorite part of the book was when he made fun of how most people with retail jobs are pretty slow. Brain Droppings is a great book for anyone who needs a good laugh. I recommend the book for ages 13-adult.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 18, 2002
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Funniest book I ever read

Reader reviewed by Thomas Milinkovich

Brain Droppings by George Carlin is by far the funniest book that I ever read. He bases all his comedy on world issues and his life experiences. Such as the nuns who taught him at school, wars, and jocks. This is probably one of my personal favorites because every single page will make you laugh. My favorite part of the book was when he made fun of how most people with retail jobs are pretty slow. Brain Droppings is a great book for anyone who needs a good laugh. I recommend the book for ages 13-adult.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

  • Giveaway: 5 To 1 by Holly Bodger (US & Canada Only)

    5 to1 By Holly Bodger Release Date: 5/12/15   About the Book Sudasa doesn't want to be a wife and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. Sudasa's family wants nothing more than for their daughter to do the right thing and p ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Tor Maddox: Unleashed by Liz Coley + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for TOR MADDOX: UNLEASHED by Liz Coley, releasing May 1, 2015 from LCTeen. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Liz:   Hi YABC! I’m thrilled to int ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!   The sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, ...

  • YABC Superstar of the Month: Ellie Gehman!

    YABC is a big site with a lot of moving pieces. We wouldn't exist without the tireless efforts of our incredible staff of volunteers. Our volunteers read and review books, post giveaways and cover reveals, format book graphics for our social media sites, and much more. YABC is a fabulous communit ...

  • MTV Movie Awards Recap

    Last night was a big night for YA book-to-movie adaptations at the MTV Movie Awards! Check out how many categories we won: MOVIE OF THE YEAR:    BEST KISS:   BREAKTHROUGH PERFORMANCE: Dylan O'Brien The Maze Runner BEST FEMALE PERFORMAN ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare by M.G. Buehrlen + Giveaway (US Only)

      Hello, YABC! We've got a special reveal for you today! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE 57 LIVES OF ALEX WAYFARE by M.G. Buehrlen, releasing April 14, 2015 from Diversion Books. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from M.G.:   ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Starflight by Melissa Landers + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers, and welcome to the second cover reveal of the week! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for STARFLIGHT by Melissa Landers, releasing February 2, 2016 from Disney Hyperion. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hey, YAB ...

  • Trailer Reveal: Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby + Giveaway (US Only)

    Hello, YABCers! We're bringing you a different kind of reveal today! Today we're super excited to celebrate the trailer reveal for THINGS WE KNOW BY HEART by Jessi Kirby, releasing April 21, 2015 from HarperTeen. Before we get to the trailer, here's a note from Jessi:   ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

how to win at high school.jpg
Adam Higgs is a loser, and he's not okay with it. But starting as a junior in a new high...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Will Spill, Hearts Will Break: With a fierce rivalry raging between two warring families, falling in love is the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sure, Arielle won't deny that she has a vivid, even wild, imagination. Sure, it sometimes runs away with her. And...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Until the Beginning.jpg
Amy Plum, international bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a heart-pounding adventure perfect for fans of Michael...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Friendship. Obsession. Deception. Love. Kalah knew better than to fall for Beth Taylor...but that didn’t stop her from falling hard...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Alys’s whole world was comprised of the history project that was due, her upcoming violin audition, being held tightly in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Angels of Moirai (Book One)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Since man first walked the earth, the Angels of Moirai have watched over them. Born human, they are taught never...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By the author of the critically acclaimed Wild Awake, a beautiful coming-of-age story about deep friendship, the weight of secrets,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The-Girl-Who-Ignored-Ghosts.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Kat Preston doesn’t believe in ghosts. Not because she’s never seen one, but because she saw one too many. Refusing...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the past two months, Kitty Doe's life has been a lie. Forced to impersonate the Prime Minister's niece, her...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nerdy Dozen 2.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In this exciting sequel to The Nerdy Dozen, Neil Andertol and his gang of dorky gamers are once again called...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
les miserables.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Travel back to nineteenth-century France with ex-convict Jean Valjean as he tries to put his criminal past behind him and...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Wishing doesn't make it so, Azra does. Azra has just turned sixteen, and overnight her body lengthens, her olive skin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being on the run, Ariane Tucker finds herself back where she started-under Dr. Jacobs's cruel control. Now she must...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other—perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
Can one girl take on so many identities without losing her own? Find out in this riveting companion to The...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Three different teenage girls learn how to navigate their hearts and NYC. City Love is the start of a romantic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen. Molly...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)