I Do Not Trust You

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
312   0
Write Review
I Do Not Trust You
Age Range
13+
Release Date
September 11, 2018
ISBN
9781250052308
Buy This Book
      

Memphis "M" Engle is stubborn to a fault, graced with an almost absurd knowledge of long lost languages and cultures, and a heck of an opponent in a fight. In short: she's awesome. Ashwin Sood is a little too posh for her tastes, a member of an ancient cult (which she’s pretty sure counts for more than one strike against him), and has just informed Memphis that her father who she thought was dead isn’t and needs her help. From the catacombs of Paris to lost temples in the sacred forests, together they crisscross the globe, searching for the pieces of the one thing that might save her father. But the closer they come to saving him—and the more they fall for one another—the closer they get to destroying the world.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: November 07, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I Do Not Trust You

I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz is a young adult thriller that follows Memphis “M” Engel all over the world as she searches for pieces of an ancient Egyptian statue. If she can find them before the cult that kidnapped her father does, she can trade them for her father’s life. Or at least she hopes. Ash, her traveling companion, is there to help, but he has his own interests, beginning and ending with an opposing cult that also wants those pieces. To defeat old and dangerous puzzles in different countries and languages, M and Ash have to work as a team. In order to do that, they need to trust each other, but M isn’t willing to risk her father’s life on Ash’s fidelity.

This book is such a rich surprise. The story is set in present day and splashed against the backdrop of many world mythologies. It is lush with knowledge and history and it ignites my own interest in folklore and other cultures. With the characters, we readers get to travel to England, France, Egypt, Thailand, Italy, India, and more, and as such, it evokes a special kind of wanderlust.

I especially love how the relationship between M and Ash evolves over the course of the book and how they have to decide if they’ll ultimately betray each other. However, I am still confused as to why they have to split up later in the book. The solution M creates when fleeing in Central America should have been an obvious solution to them in New Orleans after what they witnessed in Bali. I wish the authors had crafted a more compelling reason to separate, so it didn’t feel like such a plot device.

With that being said, I DO NOT TRUST YOU is a thrilling adventure, one that will appeal to fans of TOMB RAIDER, INDIANA JONES, and THE DA VINCI CODE.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Stardust and glitter and rainbows, oh my! Did you know...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Not a Love Scene
Lights, camera―all Maeve needs is action. But at eighteen, a...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc
Bestselling author David Elliott explores how Joan of Arc...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Moonlight and courage and sparks, oh my! That's what dragons...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe
Who do you become when you have nothing left...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Jackson Wolf
Passing through the transition hallway at South Park High...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Once & Future (Once & Future, #1)
King Arthur as you've never imagined! This bold, sizzling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tuned Into You
A summer party is the last place Lydia Flowers...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Beware the Night (Beware the Night, #1)
When her world divides, pitting light against dark, Veda...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
controlfreak_wordart (wecompress.com).png
He actually gets the girl in this story. His perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Soul of Power (The Waking Land, #3)
One young woman learns the true nature of power—both her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Oath Taker
Light magic is forbidden. Dark magic spells death....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twisted Saga Collection 1
Save almost 40% off the price of the single books...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sin Soldiers Cover
Red compound makes them angry. Yellow exhausts them. Blue drives...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunter's Truce
The Big Bad Wolf never killed for fun—he was on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lions and Lamps
Aladdin-meets-steampunk in this brand-new retelling from K.M. Robinson ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
 
4.0
"UNICORNS ARE REAL! is a bright, colorful, and cute book about unicorns. The images really leap off the page with..."
Dragons Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
 
5.0
"This adorable board book brings dragons to life in a very fun way with bright and vivid images and cute..."
Dragonfell
 
4.0
"DRAGONFELL is a fun middle grade that addresses being different and not fitting in easily in the context of a..."
Hurricane Season
 
5.0
"HURRICANE SEASON is a powerful middle grade novel that deals with some really important issues. Finola (nicknamed Fig) is in..."
So Many Sounds
 
5.0
"So Many Sounds is a fun bedtime story that will surly engage the child who doesn’t want to sleep, and..."
Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story
 
5.0
"Gittel’s Journey tells the story of a brave young Jewish girl immigrating to the United States from Easter Europe, all..."
The Flight of Mr. Finch
 
5.0
"The Flight of Mr. Finch is a sweet story about the power of friendship and the importance of self-sacrifice. Lovely..."
Dragons in a Bag (Dragons in a  Bag, # 1)
 
4.0
"Dragons in a Bag is a whimsical, moving, and magical tale. Perfectly tailored to it’s intended audience, Dragons In a..."
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair
 
4.0
"Set somewhere around a year after the events of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Eustace Scrubb remains much better..."
Are You Ready to Hatch An Unusual Chicken? (Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer #2)
 
5.0
"Are You Ready To Hatch An Unusual Chicken? is a delightful follow-up to Kelly Jones's Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional..."
Frankfurt
 
3.0
"What I Loved: -The adorable Frankfurt- What this picture book does best is offer a truly adorable and humorous dog..."
Clifford the Big Red Dog
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD THE BIG RED DOG is a classic for a reason- the images are full of fun and the text..."
Autumn Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
4.0
"This cute board book features children playing in the park during the fall. With vivid autumn colors and two word..."
Stick Cat: Two Cats and a Baby (#4)
 
5.0
"Life is good for Stick Cat and Edith now that their owners Goose and Tiffany have married. Stick Cat enjoys..."
Bird and Squirrel All Tangled Up
 
4.5
" Red, Squirrel, and Birdie are a happy family, but Squirrel is very anxious about letting Birdie do anything at..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"This is the first book in Cynthia T. Toney’s Birdface series which follows Wendy, a young Louisiana teen, through her..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"I knew of Toney’s flawless ability to write from a modern teenage girl’s perspective, so was curious when I heard..."
Winter Babies (Babies in the Park)
 
4.0
"This board book features lovely photos alongside short phrases that describe winter in the park. While very brief and with..."
8 Notes to a Nobody (Bird Face book one)
 
5.0
"The main character, Wendy, is realistic and sympathetically portrayed, so much so that the book drew me in and transported..."
The Other Side of Freedom
 
5.0
"This stellar novel spotlights the trials of Italian immigrants during the era of Prohibition. I'd heard of Al Capone and..."