Neverwake (Dreamfall)

Neverwake (Dreamfall)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
244   0
Write Review
Neverwake (Dreamfall)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 07, 2018
ISBN
978-0062429902
Buy This Book
      

or most people, no matter how bad a nightmare is, it always comes to an end. But for Cata and the others, there may be no escape. After an experimental treatment meant to cure their insomnia went horribly wrong, the teens were plunged into a shared dreamworld where their most terrifying fears became reality. The six of them have no way of waking up. And they’re now beginning to realize that if they die there, they might actually die in the real world. One of the dreamers is already gone, and anyone could be next. So they must work together to survive. But as they learn the truth about one another, they soon discover they are trapped with someone far more dangerous than their nightmares….

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: October 04, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Neverwake (Dreamfall)

What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to the Dreamfall series. In this second book, six teens are trapped in an experimental treatment to cure insomnia that has gone terribly bad. Seems that if you die in the dreamworld, you really die. Two of the teens have already died. The rest try to find a way out of the nightmare. They have found if they work together, they might be able to survive. There's a rumor that one of the teens is a psychopath. How far will that person go to keep that secret?

This book is even better than the first book in the series! Each nightmare is from someone in the group. Only all of the teens not only witness that nightmare, but live through it. Let's just say I will never look at those dolls at the Disney It's A Small World exhibit in the same way again.

Each teen holds a secret. In the experiment, they find they have some kind of psychic link. When they work together they are able to survive a deadly situation. And there are more than a few grisly nightmares these teens have to face! There's also a mystery on unsolved murders that someone in the group knows about. I didn't guess who until the very end! I also liked how each of the teens faces their fears at the end for a very satisfying climax.

Nightmare on Elm Street meets Flatliners, this novel has just the right amount of horror that isn't over the top.

Good Points
1. Exciting conclusion to Dreamfall series
2. Nightmare on Elm Street meets Flatliners
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."
 
5.0
"The Channeler is the first book in a new YA fantasy series written by William H. Kline IV. Tommy,..."
364 Days a Year
 
4.0
"The story: Effy Garcia commits suicide on her seventeenth birthday. Her body is then possessed by a wandering spirit..."
The Secret Lives of Princesses
 
4.0
"'The Secret Lives of Princesses' by Seven Steps is yet another enjoyable addition to the St. Mary's Academy series of..."
Underwater
 
5.0
"Bailey has recently lost her parents to a violent crime. She and her younger sister Tilly are desperately trying..."
On Delicate Wings
 
4.8
"‘On Delicate Wings’ is the story of Mia, who struggles with her reputation as a nerd at school. When beautiful..."
When Fall Breaks
 
3.8
"Kaitlyn is living the perfect country life with her family in Northern California. She is a great student, swimmer, and..."
Ray Vs the Meaning of Life
 
4.5
"Ray must figure out the meaning of life in order to be the beneficiary of his late grandmother’s will. At..."
 
5.0
"Crocotta’s Hackles by Katharine E. Wibell is the third installment of the sweeping epic fantasy series, The Incarn Saga, about..."
Nia & The Numbers Game
 
5.0
"What readers are saying: Nia & the Numbers Game should be added to the required reading list for..."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The story draws you in and keeps you right up to the end! I can’t wait for the next book...."
Tomorrow Always Lies
 
N/A
"The story: Teen spy team The Gems (Emma, Olivia, Nadia, and Miyuki) have gelled as a team and now..."
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
 
5.0
"After being marooned on a deserted island with Leo and Sam, Grace knows they need to find a way to..."
Playing by Heart
 
4.0
"The Story: Emilia is a young woman in Milan who has become somewhat of a musical prodigy. She's a composer..."
Frozen Hearts
 
4.0
"I've never quite read a book like this before. The story: Iona was never meant to live a life..."
Just Friends
 
4.0
" The story: Mitch knows his life is on the verge of big changes. His sister is dating one of..."
Tomorrow Always Lies
 
N/A
"Review of the first book in the Gems series: "Reading Spies Like Me made me harken back to those days..."
Ten Silver Coins: The Battle for Acchora
 
5.0
"An important story about courage in the world. Filled with vivid imagery, the action-packed plot is populated with memorable..."
Ten Silver Coins: The Battle for Acchora
 
5.0
"An important story about courage in the face of danger that is funny, imaginative and filled with amazing and memorable..."