Freak N Gorgeous

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
154   0
Write Review
Freak N Gorgeous
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 11, 2018
ISBN
978-1510732100
Buy This Book
      

Everyone is ugly sometimes. In a world not unlike our own, there is a phenomenon called the INEXPLICABLE DEVELOPMENT―a rare occurrence with permanent consequences. Average-looking, under-the-radar sixteen-year-old Konrad Wolnik's life is turned upside down when, one morning, he wakes up stunningly attractive. That same day, his classmate, Camilla Hadi, has her own transformation; the lean, pretty athlete is now devastatingly ugly. The teens face the cruel world of high school from very different perspectives. Konrad shoots to the top of the pecking order, Camilla slips into pariah status. But soon the school starts rallying around Camilla, and Konrad’s sudden popularity sours as people blame him for her transformation. And, the truth is, so does she. All he wants is for everyone to like him. All she wants is to destroy his perfect life. So what if they could use each other for personal gain? Told in dual POV, Sebastian J. Plata's debut is a hilarious, scathing look at society's unrealistic beauty standards and the intense pressures of high school. Perfect for fans of The DUFF and Winger.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Best Version of Oneself

'Freak N Gorgeous' by Sebastian J. Plata provides an in-depth and telling look into the world of two teenagers who unexpectedly have their looks changed. The setting of the book is not unlike a normal world, but one large difference is that there is something called Inexplicable Developments in which people have changes happen to them based on wishes. These changes sometimes come unexpected and in ways that do not feel deserved, which is one of the main ideas of the novel.

Konrad and Camilla are the two characters whose dual viewpoints are showcased from chapter to chapter. While Konrad has gone from average looks to being taller and considerably better looking, Camilla has had the opposite happen. She has gone from average looking to quite bad-looking, in the eyes of not only herself, but the vast majority of the school. Even though her friends stand by her when they first learn of her inexplicable development, she doesn't have many others who do, aside from her mother.

Konrad, on the other hand, loses his friends due to the dramatic and sudden change that has made him what the most popular and good-looking kids consider gorgeous. Yet, despite his seeming good fortune, he comes to learn that beauty is not just something that one can see on the outside; the way one acts and treats others also plays a part. The main conflict of the story lies in the fact that Camilla learns of Konrad's change and attributes her own social downfall and poor looks to his wish to be better-looking. Even though nothing proves this to be true apart from Camilla's insistence that it must be, she holds firm thinking that he is to blame. When he tries to befriend her, she aims to use his friendship tactics against him, believing against all else that he's only doing it because it's good for him in some way.

A novel that teaches the importance of looking beyond the surface and learning to deal with the hand that life deals you, 'Freak N Gorgeous' shows how getting everything you want isn't necessarily what it's cracked up to be, and getting dealt a bad hand won't necessarily bring the worst results. The play on words in the title is fun, too, as Camilla believes she's a freak while Konrad is gorgeous, but it also plays on another level, because they both realize that if they find a way to work together, maybe they will come to be "freakin' gorgeous," and come to be the best versions of themselves possible.

Good Points
A novel that teaches the importance of looking beyond the surface and learning to deal with the hand that life deals you, 'Freak N Gorgeous' shows how getting everything you want isn't necessarily what it's cracked up to be, and getting dealt a bad hand won't necessarily bring the worst results. The play on words in the title is fun, too, as Camilla believes she's a freak while Konrad is gorgeous, but it also plays on another level, because they both realize that if they find a way to work together, maybe they will come to be "freakin' gorgeous," and come to be the best versions of themselves possible.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

One Week of You
For Lizzy Winston, one week will change everything. Fifteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
She is from the past, locked inside a world...
 
4.0
 
4.6 (3)
Grenade
It's 1945, and the world is in the grip...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Lines We Cross
Michael likes to hang out with his friends and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Uncharted
Seventeen-year-old Annabeth prefers the fantasy of her books and...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Divide
Secrets have a way of coming out. Divided by...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Orphaned (Ape Quartet #4)
Before humans, and before human history, there were the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heirs of the Round Table: Reclaiming Camelot
Imagine discovering that your ancestors were part of King Arthur's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Nix
A visually stunning, middle-grade classic in the making about Wicked...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey of the Pale Bear
A runaway boy befriends a polar bear that’s being transported...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Valor (Camp Valor #1)
When Wyatt gets framed for a friend’s crime, he thinks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Attack of the Plants: A Branches Book (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Next stop...The Magic School Bus heads to the Galapagos to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Robot Farm (The Magic School Bus Rides Again)
Wanda proudly hosts this year's school harvest feast, but she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aphra's Child
Tula is a chimera in a world where chimera are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Homework Strike
Gregory K. has too much homework. ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Crossing the Line
 
4.3
"The story: In 1983, high school senior Laura Sherman was gunned down by a jealous classmate, who then turned..."
Bittersweet Wreckage
 
4.3
"A intense story of finding hope in the worst circumstances. The Story: Ivy's life has been anything but easy...."
 
4.0
"A cute YA romance! The story: Callie has only had one goal in life - get a college scholarship..."
After the Green Withered
 
3.5
"The story: Enora lives in a world run dry, where what little water is left is used as currency and..."
After the Green Withered
 
5.0
"Well..... I have finished this novel and I truly liked it and will purchase the next book. It was..."
 
5.0
"If you're looking for a different take on angels and vampires then this new series is for you!"
Dark Oblivion
 
5.0
"There’s no stopping a prophecy. When Kaige and Solaris first started seeing each other, they were testing the limits..."
Dark Divide
 
5.0
"After reading DARK FATES, I knew I had to start DARK DIVIDE as soon as possible. DARK DIVIDE starts right..."
Nocturnal Meetings of the Misplaced
 
4.3
"Give me a sinister tale full of twisty turns and I'm hooked. This book really did pull me into the..."
Nocturnal Meetings of the Misplaced
 
5.0
"This YA contemporary story opens with intrigue(like its interesting cover!) and adds suspenseful layers all the way to the tumultuous..."
Nocturnal Meetings of the Misplaced
 
5.0
"I read some lines over and over because I really liked the writing style."
Dragonfly Nightmare
 
3.5
"I kind of got to know the main characters but they weren't totally real to me. Allie is the only..."
After the Green Withered
 
4.5
"A must read! "
The Edge Rules
 
5.0
"Another adorable read by Melanie Hooyenga. The story: Bri has always been queen B... until now. Kicked out..."
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.0
"The story: Leaf and Oaklee live in a medieval style, self-sustaining, community within a biodome called New Eden. Cut off..."
The Weekend Bucket List
 
4.0
"Although TWBL starts as a simple buddy adventure, it quickly morphs into a coming-of-age journey including budding sexuality and the..."
Heart of Mine
 
4.0
"Growing up, Madison always thought of Alex as a brother more than a possible boyfriend. But when something sparks between..."
 
4.0
"The pirate crew of Lady Luck is only composed of females and they have rules they must live by. One..."
Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
 
4.0
"Felicia never thought her life could be turned upside down by taking a trip to the mall. But when she's..."
The Gods of Men
 
5.0
"The story: A childhood tragedy forces Sable to flee her home, change her identity, and eke out a meager..."