Scream All Night

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
479   0
Write Review
Scream All Night
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
July 24, 2018
ISBN
978-0062665652
Buy This Book
      

A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors. Dario Heyward knows one thing: He’s never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. It’s been three years since Dario’s even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavia’s creature features. But then Dario’s brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first film—The Curse of the Mummy’s Tongue. Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his past—and reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar of Zombie Children of the Harvest Sun, a production fraught with real-life tragedy—and say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happens—Dario gets sucked back into the twisted world of Moldavia and the horrors, both real and imagined, he’s left there. With only months to rescue the sinking studio and everyone who has built their lives there, Dario must confront the demons of his past—and the uncertainties of his future. But can he escape the place that’s haunted him his whole life?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Hilarious and Creepy!

I am NOT a Horror fan. I am a big scaredy cat when it comes to the genre, be it books or movies, but let me tell you -- I'm so glad I gave Scream All Night a chance! This book is hilariously creepy.  Set in a Castle where Horror movies are produced in a cult-like fashion, Scream All Night is the perfect read the brings out the laughs and chills!

I just love it when books make me laugh. It has been ages since the last time I had to put a book down for fear of looking a little bit crazy in a public space grinning like a fool. It's just that every page I read of Scream All Night surprised me in the most awesome way. The main character, Dario, is one of two sons of the Director that owns Moldavia Studios, which is the castle were the horror movies are produced and where all the cast and crew also call home. However, Dario left the castle at a young age and got emancipated, now living at a group home. Dario's childhood at Moldavia Studios was BRUTAL. His father lived for his films and thus forced Dario to act in one, pushing and breaking him emotionally just to get the perfect shot.

I felt really bad for Dario. After being apart for so long from his unusual family and extended family (all of Moldavia Studios residents) and working hard to forget the conflicting feelings they brought him, he is kind of dragged back to the castle  after receiving the call that his father was having his live funeral (yes, he is about to be BURIED ALIVE) and then having to stay due to his father's will stating that he has 6 months to save Moldavia Studios or it would be sold to another company. Even after death (which doesn't go exactly as planned, let me tell you), he still cannot escape from the manipulating hands of his Father. He faces the responsibility of saving the livelihood of all the people he grew up with, while also enduring his eccentric brother who also lives and breathes B-grade Horror films.

However, Dario is quite a guy who deep down, really LOVES Moldavia Studios and all its residents. Honestly, I fell in love with the place too. The characters living in this castle are STRANGE and AMAZING, so incredibly unique and a little bit unhinged, but actual great (human?) beings. Each personality leaves and breathes Horror and they simply adore bringing horror movies to life, so much that they turn into horror creatures as well. Coming across them throughout the novel was both hilarious and absolutely horrifying -- I LOVED IT.

Mental note: Never sleep at Moldavia Studios.

Final Verdict:

With that said, Scream All Night really is a fun, creepy book that has pretty much everything we need from a Horror novel fit for everyone -- lots of humor, great characters who you can't help but fear a little bit, and emotional depth that will tug your heartstrings. This faint of heart reader survived it and I definitely recommend!!!

Good Points
Great read for everyone, even if you generally shy away from horror!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Merbaby's Lullaby
Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamland
In his sleep, Louie starts visiting a magical world where...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Me, Shakespeare and the Anti-Love Club
Heartbroken and spurned Kassidy starts an Anti-Love Club in response...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
Sacrifice all you have to survive. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
NewBookCover.jpg
The Akakies, a peaceful, technologically advanced alien species known as...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
A new, revised edition of Edward Willett’s multi-award-winning young adult...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Love at First Fight
Band Geek vs Quarterback... One humiliating photo, a stupid...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ellie Quinn has spent most of her sixteen years behind...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
 
4.7
"THE LAST HOPE is a thrilling conclusion to the THE RAGING ONES duology. As we know from the first book,..."
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
 
5.0
"SPIN THE DAWN is an unbelievably fantastic read with some elements of a high-stakes PROJECT RUNWAY, some elements of FLAME..."
The Chosen (Contender, #1)
 
5.0
"MAZE RUNNER meets LAND OF THE LOST in this engaging page-turner full of twists and turns in an epic tale..."
The Deceiver's Heart
 
5.0
"THE DECEIVER'S HEART opens in an epic way. Kestra tries to kill Lord Endrick, but fails and tries to escape..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"What worked: Just wowza. This is one intense, haunting tale of girls that are banished on their sixteenth year to..."
Castle of Concrete
 
5.0
"What an amazing debut novel - it weaves together fascinating characters, political upheaval, anti-Semitism, and conflicted love interests into a..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
5.0
"Tiffany D. Jackson has knocked it out of the park yet again with LET ME HEAR A RHYME. When Steph..."
The Dark Beneath the Ice
 
4.0
"THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a stunningly written YA horror that follows Marianne as she starts losing time, sees..."
Again, But Better
 
5.0
"The author’s writing style makes this book a joy to read from start to finish. I started reading it on..."
The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow, #1)
 
5.0
"THE STORM CROW is an engrossing and imaginative YA fantasy. Anthia (Thia) is a princess of Rhodaire and eagerly awaits..."
Overturned
 
5.0
"Top 3 reasons you need to read Overturned by Lamar Giles (and read the rest of his books while you're..."
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
 
4.7
"If you love a snarky heroine, surprise twists and turns, and a fairytale-themed plot, THE EVIL QUEEN is designed to..."
How It Feels to Float
 
4.7
"This story follows the life of Biz, a teenaged girl. Biz lives with her family, goes to school, explores her..."
Stepsister
 
4.3
""The wolves in the woods have sharp teeth and long claws, bit it's the wolf inside who will tear you..."
Breakout
 
4.0
"BREAKOUT is a thrilling and fast-paced YA sci-fi/dystopian. Lezah is in prison for a crime she cannot remember. This future..."