Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over

Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
288   0
Write Review
Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 15, 2018
ISBN
978-1250130501
Buy This Book
      

A bad storm, two cancelled flights, trapped with the guy who broke her heart…Shani Petroff delivers laugh out loud comedy and unforgettable disasters in this highly relatable comedy of errors about a teen stuck in an airport with her cheating ex. Flight delayed. Send help. Not him. After Sari caught her boyfriend Zev cheating on her, their romantic Florida vacation was ruined. She can't get back to NYC soon enough. Unfortunately, Mother Nature may have different plans. A huge storm is brewing in the Northeast, and flights all over the country are getting canceled—including Sari's. She winds up stuck at the airport for hours. With Zev! When another stranded passenger (a hot NYU guy) suggests a connecting flight to Boston, Sari jumps at the chance. But when her mom freaks out about her traveling alone, she has no choice—she has to include Zev, and somehow survive being trapped with the guy who broke her heart! Chosen by readers like you for Macmillan’s young adult imprint Swoon Reads, author Shani Petroff looks at both heartbreak and forgiveness in her latest YA comedy of errors, Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: August 04, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Fast-Paced and Fun

'Airports, Exes, and Other Things I'm Over' by Shani Petroff captures the angst of romantic hardships and misunderstandings. When eighteen-year-old Sari, a senior in high school, plans a trip to Florida for spring break with her boyfriend (even though she plans to stay with her grandma), she thinks everything is coming up roses. Little does she know that everything is about to change when she unexpectedly shows up at a party and finds him kissing his ex-girlfriend.

Just as life becomes upended by this unwanted revelation, Sari decides to go through with her trip to Florida, all while her best friend Trina is insistent that she make an instant love connection down there and get over the cheating Zev. Sari's conflicted feelings make her mourning process all that much more difficult, especially as Zev shows up on her grandmother's doorstep, having still taken the trip to Florida that he had also planned on, just not by Sari's side.

Trying to busy herself with the grandson of another resident of her grandmother's senior complex, she finds that the new guy, Fitz, is good-looking, sweet, and goes to school in New York City, just like she plans to when she graduates. Living in the city already, she wonders that if something does happen between them, if it could truly work out since they will be so close together. Yet, she continually thinks of Zev and his insistence on making things right. His insistence that he didn't really do anything wrong and they need to talk. She isn't having it, and in a way, this is rightly so. However, he is going out of his way to make a point, and won't let up, meaning maybe there is something to be explained. Yet at the same time, it is important the people understand that when others don't want to be disturbed, that should be respected, and even though Zev has good intentions, he doesn't quite come to terms with this and keeps at his goal of talking to Sari and explaining everything.

Through a series of additional mishaps involving airports, road trips, Sari's guitar, and the desperate desire to get home to play a show at her favorite club, Sari discovers that life isn't always as it seems, and sometimes you have to take the bad alongside the good. She learns about herself and how to best deal with her situation in the process, with a little bit of help from her best friend and, though she finds it unexpected at first, from her mother.

A fast-paced, everything-that-can-go-wrong-can-yet-things-are-destined-to-work-out kind of book, lovers of young adult contemporary romance will eat this up, flying through Petroff's writing with ease.

Good Points
A fast-paced, everything-that-can-go-wrong-can-yet-things-are-destined-to-work-out kind of book, lovers of young adult contemporary romance will eat this up, flying through Petroff's writing with ease.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
 
5.0
"Hilde is at it again to get a factual story for the newspaper. This time, it's a mysterious flash of..."
Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
 
3.5
"Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big. ..."
Going Wild #3: Clash of Beasts
 
4.0
" Charlie, Mac, and Maria are back, having defeated Dr. Gray's army in Predator Vs. Prey. Kelly and Miko, however,..."
Gamer Army
 
4.0
"In a futuristic society where almost everything has gone online, Rogan spends a lot of his time playing the game..."
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
 
5.0
"Amy's family rushes for everything. "They walked fast, drove fast, shopped fast, and ate fast." This upsets Amy because there..."
Holes
 
5.0
"Important message. Unique perspective."
Watch Hollow
 
5.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker's father repairs clocks for a living, but the business isn't doing well. After the death of..."
Courageous
 
4.0
"Aidan lives in a fishing village in England. His one brother has died in the war, but George is still..."
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
 
5.0
"The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot..."
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
 
4.0
"Thorn, a baboon, Sky, an elephant, and Fearless, a lion, have been friends since childhood. Due to the evil influence..."
Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
The Unteachables
 
5.0
"Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his..."
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
 
5.0
"Taylor Sorenson is a typical rebellious teen of 1968, sneaking out of his posh apartment to hang out with friends..."
Right as Rain
 
3.0
"Rain's family has experienced a tragedy-- her older brother was killed in a car accident. The mother thinks that the..."
Eventown
 
3.0
"Elodee's family is struggling for reasons that aren't clear, and she and her twin sister Naomi are not getting along...."
Scream and Scream Again
 
5.0
"I found some stories to be a lot more scary or interesting than others but the whole book was enjoyable...."
How Do I Love Thee?
 
5.0
"HOW DO I LOVE THEE is a beautifully illustrated children's book that is based on Elizabeth Barrett Browning's "Sonnet 43"...."
Privateer's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Privateer themed books can so easily go the way of the ridiculous and over the top. Not so with Privateer’s..."
Louisiana's Way Home
 
5.0
" I want to hug this book and never let go. Louisiana Elefante is cursed. She is hopeful..."