Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)

Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1406   1
Write Review
Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 08, 2018
ISBN
978-0544867598
Buy This Book
      

After conquering the mountains in Afghanistan, Peak Marcello goes to Myanmar, a country that has been in the grips of a brutal military regime for more than fifty years, to visit Alessia. When he’s invited to climb Hkakabo Razi, one of the most isolated mountains in the world, Peak can’t pass up the opportunity. But getting to the mountain will involve a four-week trek through tropical rainforests rife with hazards—from venomous reptiles and leeches to corrupt police and military. In the end, summiting Hkakabo Razi may be the easiest thing Peak does.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Climb the most isolated mountain in the world!

After their disastrous climb in The Edge, Ethan, Alessia and Peak are looking for some adventure that is a bit safer. Ethan is now Alessia's bodyguard, appointed by her mother, who is now the ambassador to Myanmar. When they learn about Hkakbo Razi, an alpine mountain on the border with China, they are intrigued, especially since it's never been accurately measured. It seems like an uncomplicated journey, so they take off, but soon run into trouble. They have a porter, Lwin, and his elephant, but both of them are unreliable and a little bit dangerous. When Alessia has to spend some time in a village fighting malaria, the group runs into Nick Freestone, a botanist who is collecting samples. In exchange for the climbers' help in obtaining samples from trees, he offers to take them to the mountain. They let Lwin go, but he's not happy, and soon the military is on the group's tail, looking for Lwin, who had killed his girlfriend with a sling shot and stolen the elephant. They manage to pay them off and get on their way. Freestone visits a friend who is a trader, and this friend take Peak to visit a high powered, somewhat shady, but ultimately decent businessman, Chin. He was also a mountain climber, and offers them a new battery for their satellite phone and help if they run into an emergency. There are no shortage of challenges on the trail-- sabotaged bridges, a reappearance of Lwin, but also some unexpected help from old friends. When they reach the mountain after their difficulties, there is still plenty to overcome, even when Peak's father makes a surprise appearance. Will all of them survive what turns out to be a more treacherous climb than is expected?

Good Points
I don't have any desire to ever climb a mountain (or travel in space!), and books like these are part of the reason why! Smith has so many fantastic, sometimes gross details of how hard an experience this would be! From being eaten alive by bugs in the rain forest to having to eat bugs and the occasional roasted python, Ascent is a vivid description of parts of the world students will probably never travel. I have to say that I side with Peak-- I'd still be wearing long nylon pants hoping that it keeps me from getting even more bug bites.

Peak's struggles with his past, especially letting another climber pass him in Peak and the precarious relationship he has with his father, add a layer of emotional depth that will appeal to slightly older readers. His sweet off-and-on romance with Alessia, as well as their support of one another through difficult times, is also a nice touch.

The different groups that the climbers run into are interesting as well, from corrupt Burmese soldiers who take bribes as a matter of course to Chin, whose help ends up being invaluable, to old friends from the past who show up for mysterious reasons. In some ways, it's unlikely that Peak would run into so many of them, but some, like the father of one of the PEACE climb members who died, add a nice sense of closure and make for a very rich story.

The first Peak Marcello adventure, Peak, came out in 2007 and has been a huge hit every year with my readers. I'm going to need to buy yet another copy because it is worn out. With this third book, Peak's adventures have become a series that readers who love Gilman's The Devil's Breath and Pam Wither's books about extreme sports will go through at a pace fast enough to outrun an avalanche!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Haunted
Clean slate. That's what Hendricks Becker-O'Malley's parents said when they...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Art of Losing
On one terrible night, 17-year-old Harley Langston’s life changes...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond a Darkened Shore
The ancient land of Éirinn is mired in war....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Step-Spinsters
Once upon a time, in a land far, far...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Glamour of Midnight
Fae bounty hunter Loftin’s life depends on him finding...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just For Clicks
Mommy blogs are great . . . unless the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America
Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
i am Elephant, i am Butterfly
When sixteen-year-old Simone Wheeler is accepted into the elite Camp...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mike
MEET FLOYD. He's a tennis star. Possibly good enough to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unconventional Warfare (Special Forces, Book 1)
Discover the secret missions behind America's greatest conflicts.Danny Manion has...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Again, But Better
Shane has been doing college all wrong. Pre-med, stellar grades,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Summer of '69
With his girlfriend, Robin, away in Canada,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stick Cat: Two Cats and a Baby (#4)
Now that their owners are married, Stick Cat and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Waking Nightmare (Hello Neighbor #2)
It's been four months since Nicky Roth has seen his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Once and Future Geek (The Camelot Code #1)
When young Arthur of Camelot accidentally time-travels to the 21st...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Blood Spell
 
4.0
"Based loosely on the tale of Cinderella, The Blood Spell is the fourth standalone installment for the Ravenspire series of..."
The Haunted
 
3.0
"Hendricks and her family buy an old building in Drearford, New York after an incident. Her family 'hopes' this will..."
Just For Clicks
 
5.0
"Claire and her twin sister, Poppy, are ‘internet famous’. Every part of their lives have been blogged, photographed, and recorded..."
Obsidian (Lux #1)
 
5.0
"That's why I love paranormal romances :D"
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I'm a sucker for YA and Friends to Lovers romance, and Kasie West is one of my favorite YA author..."
Alienated (Alienated #1)
 
4.7
"I think I fell in love! Aelyx and Cara’s romance is of the slow-burn kind.... simply swoony! The..."
P.S. I Like You
 
4.7
"Be yourself, even when you don’t fit in! Two teenagers who both felt like something was missing in their lives..."
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
 
5.0
"NYC will never be the same after reading this great Urban Fantasy... Even my heart will never be the same..."
Catching Jordan
 
4.7
"It's sooooo cute!!!!!! I shipped Jordan and Sam pretty much from page 1. I can't praise this book enough...."
The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle #1)
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely amazing! Beautifully written and compelling, with memorable characters. I was completed invested in each of them!..."
On the Fence
 
5.0
"I've read this book twice now, and I can't stop thinking about it. I feel madly in love with Charlie,..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
4.7
"Twilight is the epic love story of Edward and Bella. Forget any vampire romance you have read before, Twilight is..."
The Art of Losing
 
4.3
"Seventeen-year-old Harley has been dating Mike for a couple of years, and being his girlfriend gives her a status and..."
Midnight Angel
 
5.0
"Such a fantastic book. The story: Naomi is the daughter of harsh parents. They're part of a cult and..."
Beneath a Sinister Moon
 
5.0
"Wow besides the awesome title Beneath A Sinister Moon the inside of this book is even better. Things I wanted..."
Within the Darkest Hollows
 
5.0
"If you thought Book 1 Between the Bleeding Willows was great you haven't read nothing yet. Within the Darkest Hollows..."
Between the Bleeding Willows
 
5.0
"After Cassidy Ravanaugh's boyfriend Jace dies she goes to find a ring that he had been wearing. but get gets..."
Black Enough: Stories of Being Young and Black in America
 
5.0
"See more of my reviews on The YA Kitten! My copy was an ARC I got from the publisher as..."
Winner Take All
 
4.3
"The phrases “beautiful disaster” and “bad romance” but NOT the well-known novels that use those phrases for their titles. Five..."
Fresh Ink: An Anthology
 
4.0
"Anthologies have such a special place in my heart. The art of the short story is undervalued and it’s just..."