All The Crooked Saints

All The Crooked Saints

 
0.0
 
4.2 (3)
549   0
Write Review
All The Crooked Saints
Publisher
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 10, 2017
ISBN
9780545930802
Buy This Book
      
Here is a thing everyone wants: A miracle. Here is a thing everyone fears: What it takes to get one. Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado, is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, miracle mad owls, estranged affections, one or two orphans and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. And at the heart of this family are three cousins longing to change its future: Beatriz, the girl without feelings, who wants only to be free to examine her thoughts; Daniel, the Saint of Bicho Raro, who performs miracles for everyone but himself; and Joaquin, who spends his nights running a renegade radio station under the name Diablo Diablo. They are all looking for a miracle. But the miracles of Bicho Raro are never quite what you expect.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot 
 
4.3  (3)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Delightful

Loved this book from start to finish. Stiefvater was at her best with her prose here and the novel was lovely and atmospheric.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

clever

"All the Crooked Saints" is YA fiction with a heavy dose of magical realism. The Soria family lives in Bicho Raro, Colorado, where they are saints who perform miracles. The process of the miracle is perhaps not what you would expect. They pull a part of the person out (their demons which manifest as a challenge) and then the person must overcome them. These pilgrims stay in Bicho Raro while doing so, but the Sorias cannot speak to them during the process- if they interfere, they will also be cursed. The book follows some of the Sorias, the pilgrims, and others who are related to the town. The book almost reads like a bunch of related short stories, telling us about many of the people rather than focusing on a few main characters.

The book was not what I expected. While it has the lyrical prose of the talented Stiefvater, it doesn't follow the same clear plot as the other series (which is not to say that it doesn't tell a story). It's beautiful in the way it is written, but as the characters' stories are only somewhat intertwined, you don't get the same overall focus to the novel as the past books did. I have some mixed feelings about it as a result. While it is beautifully written, it didn't capture my attention the way her past books did. However, I still enjoyed it as it tells some really unique and elegant stories focusing on many different characters (although a few do keep popping up). The prose felt very similar to the Raven Boys series in its beauty and musical quality. Fans of magical realism will really enjoy this new novel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

Creepy and atmospheric

Trust me when I say no one was more stunned than me when I enjoyed All the Crooked Saints.

All the Crooked Saints is very different from Stiefvater’s usual work. The storyline was so fascinating; the blurb is quite vague and doesn’t explain much, but that is most definitely a positive for the book.

The novel is set in a Colorado desert where the Soria family runs a ranch, but their main business is performing miracles on people (pilgrims) who are stuck or depressed with life or who are trying to run away from their lives. The only problem is that once the miracle is performed, it exposes your inner darkness into corporeal form, and the only way for the darkness to disappear is for you to understand the darkness – once that happens, the second miracle takes place and you are healed.

It’s a magical realism novel, so the magic is intertwined with reality which casts a creepy tone throughout the entire book.

The characters were the stars of the novel. From the entire Soria family, to the pilgrims, to Pete (who is the best guy ever and deserves to be protected) … everyone was fantastic. Stiefvater has always had great skill with characterisation, but she really outdid herself with All the Crooked Saints.

While there are a lot of POV characters – as the narrator is omnipresent – the four main characters are Beatriz, Daniel, Joaquin, and Pete. Beatriz, Daniel and Joaquin are cousins – Beatriz is the girl with no emotions, Daniel is the Saint, and Joaquin is an amateur DJ, while Pete is just in Bicho Raro looking for a truck. Their stories all intertwine in clever ways, and I loved reading them interact and watching their stories evolve.

All the Crooked Saints has a large cast of characters and each of them were different and unique. Stiefvater also took the time to delve into all of the characters’ background stories, making them an integral part of the story.

On my blog, it's no secret that I have a love/hate relationship with Stiefvater’s writing. I found it very original in the first few Raven Cycle books, but by the time the last book came along, I was exasperated.

In All the Crooked Saints, much of the prose was lyrical and quite beautiful. But it was also peppered with a few lines and metaphors that irked me a little. It was half rambling, half alluring.

Stiefvater is definitely an author whose writing you either love or hate, but I admit that she’s slowly growing on me.

I was pleasantly surprised by my enjoyment of this novel. While there were bits and pieces that felt awkward and like Stiefvater was trying too hard, for the most part I really liked this book. However, I also think my enjoyment of this book is because I went in with very, very low expectations – like the lowest of the low.

But, All the Crooked Saints has honestly rekindled my love of Stiefvater’s books. I’m really looking forward to her expansion into The Raven Cycle through a trilogy about Ronan, and I can’t wait to read #girlnovel and #foolishnovel.

Good Points
Check out my blog for more reviews: thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
 
4.0
"PROFESSOR RENOIR'S COLLECTION OF ODDITIES, CURIOSITIES, AND DELIGHTS primarily follows Babe, a fourteen-year-old girl who has gigantism. She already stands..."
Truman
 
5.0
"TRUMAN is an unbelievably sweet story about a tortoise. Truman the tortoise lives with his best friend and owner Sarah,..."
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
 
4.0
"THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD features cartoony planets and drawings along with poems on each page. Topical, clever,..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
 
4.0
"CARNIVAL CATASTROPHE follows the seven Problim children as they continue their search for their mother. The seven siblings must work..."
Big Red School (Clifford)
 
5.0
"CLIFFORD: BIG RED SCHOOL follows Emily Elizabeth and Clifford as they create a special school just for Clifford. Clifford loves..."
I Got Next
 
4.0
"I GOT NEXT is a picture book about self-confidence. A boy encourages himself to challenge the other kids who are..."
A Friend for Bently
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BENTLY is a heart-warming story of an unlikely friendship. Bently is the only pig on the farm..."
The Great Pumpkin Contest
 
5.0
"THE GREAT PUMPKIN CONTEST is a sweet and fun read about friendship. Mimi and her neighbor Clara are each entering..."
Save Your Friends!
 
3.5
"SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends,..."
Dibs!
 
5.0
"DIBS! is a story about brotherhood. Julian constantly calls dibs on toys and snacks from his younger brother Clancy. Clancy..."
Where Are You From?
 
5.0
"WHERE ARE YOU FROM? is a stunning celebration of heritage/ancestry as well as an acknowledgment of the unnecessary question. A..."
Out of Place
 
5.0
"OUT OF PLACE is an absolutely gorgeous story about bullying and feeling alone. Cove lives with her mother on Martha’s..."
The Startup Squad (The Startup Squad, #1)
 
3.0
"THE STARTUP SQUAD follows primarily Theresa (Resa) as she and a group of three other girls compete in a contest..."
A Possibility of Whales
 
4.0
"THE POSSIBILITY OF WHALES is a middle grade contemporary story that deals with a lot. Natalia Rose (Nat) is almost..."
Peppa in Space (Peppa Pig)
 
5.0
"PEPPA IN SPACE is a fun picture book, featuring Peppa Pig and her family as they learn about space and..."
Pete the Cat and the Itsy Bitsy Spirder
 
3.5
"We are all familiar with the Itsy Bitsy Spider, who climbs up the water spout before being rained out- but..."
Even Monsters Go To School
 
5.0
"This book is so completely adorable it's hard to figure out where to begin. The story is about..."
Can Cat and Bird Be Friends
 
3.5
"This was an odd one. Cat and bird are trying to determine if they can be friends or..."
Pig the Stinker
 
4.5
"PIG THE STINKER follows Pig the Pug on a new adventure- bath time! Pig does not like to bathe, and..."