A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
562   0
Write Review
A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
Age Range
13+
Release Date
June 26, 2018
ISBN
9780062671172

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries. Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong. A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS is a collection of fifteen short stories, edited by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman. All of the tales are retellings of popular Asian myths and legends, written by well-known Asian authors. The writers take old texts, such as THE MAHABHARATA and THE CHASA BONPULI, spin them with the magical ‘What If,’ and breathe fresh and often contemporary life into these works. Though all the stories have some fantastical element to them, there are a vast number of settings, characters, and circumstances, as well as a fairly representative sample of Asian literature. The novel compiles stories originating from the Philippines, China, India, Vietnam, Korea, and Japan.

I’ve never heard any of these stories before and I really loved being exposed to them. However, I often found myself wishing that I was more familiar with the classical tale so that I could appreciate how it had been altered. The editors seemed to anticipate this reaction, because after each short story, they included a one-to-two page explanation of the tale’s origins. This information really helped to grasp the essence and spirit of the stories.

Since each story is so different and each world is so rich, it was sometimes difficult to finish one and start the next in immediate succession. As a result, it took me much longer to get through this book than I anticipated. I also found myself wanting the stories to be longer and more expansive, so that I could get lost in them. In fact, I wish some would have been their own novels. While I enjoyed each and every short story as they all have something unique to offer, there were a few that really stood out, such as “Steel Skin” by Lori M. Lee, based on a Hmong folktale, ‘The Woman and the Tiger,’ “Bullet, Butterfly” by Elsie Chapman, based on a Chinese folktale, ‘The Butterfly Lovers,’ and “The Crimson Cloak,” by Cindy Pon, based on a Chinese legend, ‘The Cowherd and the Weaver Girl.’

Overall, A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS is a wonderful idea and huge accomplishment in diversifying representation in literature. It’s appealing to anyone who loves myths, fairytales, or fantasy. This compilation took me on many enchanting journeys, creating a wanderlust for these settings, and a deep desire to explore more books of this kind.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Leading Edge of Now
Just when Grace is beginning to get used to...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
9 FROM NINE WORLDS
The Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard trilogy...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
I Do Not Trust You
Memphis "M" Engle is stubborn to a fault, graced...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
RIPPED- a Jack the Ripper Time-Travel Thriller
When a museum trip turns funky, Katie Lennox is...
 
5.0
 
4.8 (5)
Queens (The Wielders of Arantha Book 2)
A cosmic game of chess is underway, and the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pride
Pride and Prejudice gets remixed in this smart, funny,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Story of B
The Story of B combines Daniel Quinn's provocative and visionary...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: Beauty and the Beast: A Modern Retelling
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: The Snow Queen: A Graphic Novel
Follow Gerda on an adventure to find her friend Kay,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
DARK TALES: THE CALL OF CTHULHU: A Graphic Novel
In this Dark Tale, dead Cthulhu waits dreaming... ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dark Tales: The Hound of the Baskervilles: A Graphic Novel
Eliminate the impossible, and whatever remains, however improbable, must be...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
NOTES FROM MY CAPTIVITY
Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
#Murdertrending
@doctorfusionbebop: Some 17 y. o. chick named Dee Guerrera was...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unstoppable Moses
Moses and his cousin Charlie were best friends, wisecracking pranksters,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
51HTvQF3B2L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Alien meets Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds in this thrilling...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
5.0
""These Broken Stars" is an interesting YA sci-fi that follows two young people after a space shuttle crash. Lilac LeRoux..."
This Shattered World (Starbound #2)
 
3.3
""This Shattered World" follows Jubilee (Lee) and Flynn, who live on a planet that has failed terraforming, leaving it with..."
DARK TALES: THE CALL OF CTHULHU: A Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"This vibrant retelling of H.P. Lovecraft’s short story has been artfully adapted into a beautifully illustrated graphic novel that captures..."
Dark Tales: The Hound of the Baskervilles: A Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"The Hound of the Baskervilles is one of Arthur Conan Doyle's finest Sherlock Holmes novels, written years after “The Final..."
NOTES FROM MY CAPTIVITY
 
4.7
"Adrienne Cahill finds herself on an expedition to remote Siberia looking for the fabled Osinov family with her stepfather, Dan,..."
9 FROM NINE WORLDS
 
3.7
"Fans of Riordan will find lots of familiar faces from the Magnus Chase series in this clever collection of short..."
#Murdertrending
 
4.0
"A gory, dark thriller with all the things we loved about Hunger Games plus a delightfully creepy twist of something..."
Unstoppable Moses
 
5.0
"Feedback I am going to admit that I would have never picked up this book if I wasn’t provided a..."
Sanctuary
 
3.0
"X-men Gen X (i.e. the teen version) meets Aliens-lite in this survival-in-space story. Told in first-person past-tense from..."
Thief of Happy Endings
 
4.7
"‘Thief of Happy Endings’ is a young adult contemporary with a huge twist. The story centers around, Cassidy. Cassidy..."
Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1)
 
4.3
"Feedback I thought this was an interesting concept. The clocks themselves really control the time. There are days where..."
Chainbreaker (Timekeeper Book 2)
 
5.0
"Feedback What a change from book one! While I enjoyed Timekeeper, it took me a while to truly engage..."
Confessions of a High School Disaster
 
3.7
"Confessions of a High School Disaster is the first installment of the Chloe Snow series. I read the second installment..."
I Do Not Trust You
 
4.0
"I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz is a young adult thriller that follows Memphis..."
Light Years
 
3.0
"Sporting a diverse ensemble cast, this book is rife with themes of team-building; and not simply setting aside differences but..."
The Color of Lies
 
3.7
"The Color of Lies relies heavily on its interesting characters, not-so-original plot, and captivating writing to keep its reader--but as..."
The Reader
 
4.0
""The Reader" is an intriguing YA fantasy that follows a girl named Sefia. Her parents hid her in a secret..."
The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow
 
4.0
" "The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel" is a retelling of the Legend of Sleepy Hollow from the point-of-view of..."
Umbertouched
 
5.0
"UMBERTOUCHED is the end to the Rosemarked Duology and I'm blown away by it. When Zivah and Dineas are..."
Voices: The Final Hours of Joan of Arc
 
5.0
"I really love novels of strong historical women. In this case, this novel is about Joan of Arc. What makes..."