The Poet X

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
329   0
Write Review
The Poet X
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 06, 2018
ISBN
0062662805
Buy This Book
      

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers—especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. With Mami’s determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school’s slam poetry club, she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can’t stop thinking about performing her poems. Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

The Poet X

The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them with my own two feet. I could almost hear the music, that plays from the speakers of a car that sits on the corner of the block--while the guys man the corner like the police, and the girls pretend not to notice them from the stoop of their building. It's NY personified--and not much has changed.

This book is a reflection of a child hood I've lived, in a similar fashion. I felt Xiomara's character as if it were something written by my own hand--because a lot of what she goes through, what she felt, what she does and doesn't say--is an accurate depiction of some of the ways I've felt, and continue to feel--written in short, succinct, purposeful and poetic prose.

The Poet X is one of those books that read you. You don't read it.

Disturbing, and impressive, The Poet X--is a stellar, and meaningful read. It rattled me, and encouraged me.

My one hope coming out of this, is that this book can fall into the hands of someone--that could be just as affected--thoroughly, and completely.

Acevedo, does a stellar job of reminding us of the both the purposefulness, of words if you listen, really listen--and the powerlessness of them, if you ignore--or silence them.

It's a reminder that you matter, you matter, you matter.

Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Summer Bird Blue
A mixed race teen struggles to find her way back...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starfish
A William C. Morris Award Finalist A New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth Lies Here
In small town Michigan, Penny, an aspiring journalist, teams...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Looking Glass
GIRLS IN TROUBLE. That’s what Sylvie Blake’s older sister...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Something of Substance
Seventeen-year-old Grace Michaels is determined to be thin, even...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death by the River
SOME TRUTHS ARE BETTER KEPT SECRET. SOME SECRETS...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
On the planet Elystra, the all-female Ixtrayu tribe have...
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Scream All Night
A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Touch of Gold
King Midas once had the ability to turn all...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the Sky
From award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes a new young adult...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
In Camelot, King Arthur’s dog encounters a world of danger...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fray
She's been trained for battle but is she ready for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emergence (Kindred Ties: Book Two)
The fight for order has only just begun… Fletcher, Ariana...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All Summer Long.jpg
A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel about summer and friendships, written...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
They Say Blue
Caldecott and Printz Honor-winning illustrator Jillian Tamaki brings us a...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Lady Knight (Crystal Journals) Book 3
Shortlisted 2018-19 "Chocolate Lily Book Award"... ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
 
4.0
"Felicia never thought her life could be turned upside down by taking a trip to the mall. But when she's..."
The Gods of Men
 
5.0
"The story: A childhood tragedy forces Sable to flee her home, change her identity, and eke out a meager..."
Karina
 
4.0
"The story: Disfigured by a childhood accident, thirteen-year-old Karina Morgan has it tough. Labeled an outcast because of her..."
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
 
3.8
"\\Michael Andrews has died in a fiery car accident. He is sentenced to continually walk the earth. Things start to..."
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
 
5.0
"Feedback Emerge: The Captive takes place between Awakening and Judgment through Sasha and Quinn’s point of view. At first..."
STUMPED
 
4.3
"Ozzy has everything a teenager could want, good grades, a hot girlfriend, and successful high school swimming career. When..."
 
5.0
"What happens when myth becomes a reality that is closer to home than you realize? That is the tale of..."
 
4.5
"I love the characters and their interactions. Not just a lot of action, but a true, indepth story...."
 
5.0
"What can I say? I, a 49 year old woman, got sucked into a YA story and absolutely LOVE..."
The Gods of Men
 
5.0
"There is nothing not to like in this book. The story: Sable hasn't had it easy. The daughter of..."
 
5.0
"In DARK FATES, there's a prophesy that keeps the humans and vampires separate out of fear. It is said that..."
Intoxic
 
5.0
"This is strong writing from an author on the rise. Gallion's prose is a breath of fresh air. There is..."
 
4.3
"I can't wait to see where the next book goes!"
Sneaking Out
 
3.8
" ‘Sneaking Out’ is the first installment in the ‘Chase’ series. The setting is an elite New England..."
Bleeding Hearts
 
3.0
"The story: Nancy Miller is a poor, illiterate teenage girl scrounging out a meager living in Edinburgh. On the..."
All-American Liars
 
3.8
"'All-American Liars' by Emily Kazmierski shines a light on the lies people tell themselves and others to help save face..."
 
4.0
"A short and fun read. The story: Megera is in danger of having to leave her private school when..."
This Summer
 
4.0
"A sweet romance highlighting the fragile hearts of youth. The story: Hadley is determined to have a good summer..."
Emerge: The Heir (Immortals of Indriell Book 4)
 
5.0
"A shining star in a great series. The story: Picking up years after the last time we saw Allie..."
Faded
 
5.0
"'Faded' by Melanie Hooyenga is the third installment in her 'Flicker Effect' series. It is not always true that a..."