Zombie Abbey

Featured
 
4.0
 
2.3 (1)
612   0
Write Review
Zombie Abbey
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 03, 2018
ISBN
978-1633759114
Buy This Book
      

1920, England And the three teenage Clarke sisters thought what they’d wear to dinner was their biggest problem… Lady Kate, the entitled eldest. Lady Grace, lost in the middle and wishing she were braver. Lady Lizzy, so endlessly sunny, it’s easy to underestimate her. Then there’s Will Harvey, the proud, to-die-for—and possibly die with!—stable boy; Daniel Murray, the resourceful second footman with a secret; Raymond Allen, the unfortunate-looking young duke; and Fanny Rogers, the unsinkable kitchen maid. Upstairs! Downstairs! Toss in some farmers and villagers! None of them ever expected to work together for any reason. But none of them had ever seen anything like this.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Downton Abbey with Zombies!

It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie Abbey! Reminiscent to one of my favorite TV shows, Downton Abbey, and one of my all-time favorite novels, Pride and Prejudice -- this novel turned out to be a delight to read about from page one!

What I Liked:

I've never been much of a fan of zombies (gore and horror is not really my thing), but after reading the premise of this novel, I just knew I had to read it. And let me tell you, it did not disappoint AT ALL. I laughed, I swooned a bit, perhaps even felt stressed and sad as a few favorite characters were taken down and turned into zombies. Before I knew it, I was done with the novel and in need for more! (Will there be more?! Hope so!)

Zombie Abbey has several alternating points of view, from the three Clarke sisters to the staff working at Porthampton Abbey. It's a bit hard keeping up with them at first, but as soon as I managed to recognize who is who based on Downton Abbey, it proved to be a much easier read for me and also a lot more fun since I could easily picture them in my head (I just looove Downton Abbey's characters so much!). In this novel, my favorite POVs/characters turned out to be Fanny (the maid), and the Clarke Sisters (especially Grace and Lizzy).

This book might have a slow start since it takes its time to introduce the situation of Porthampton Abbey's occupants, but it later turns into an action-packed chaos as the Upstairs (Clarkes) and the Downstairs (the staff) have to set aside their prejudices and work together before they get their hearts eaten and turned into zombies! It's well worth the wait if you ask me. ;)

However, if you are expecting horror, then you might not get what you want since it's not truly a horrifying read. It has quite a bit of gore, but the overall take on Zombies and the reactions of Porthampton Abbey's residents when they face them is super funny. I loved it this way, but I can see how some might not really enjoy it. But if you are faint of heart like me, this might also be your kind of read! With Zombies!

What Left Me Wanting More:

I have to admit that I was a expecting more right at the ending. It's left a bit too loose and I'm afraid we will never know how things turn out for some of characters as this seems to be a standalone novel. But perhaps there is hope for a sequel? Crossing fingers!

Final Verdict:

If you are looking for a diverting paranormal read à la Downton Abbey and Pride and Prejudice with lots and lots of zombies, then you'll surely enjoy Zombie Abbey and come to love everyone at Porthampton Abbey! ?

Good Points
Lots of humor!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
2.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
2.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0

too similar to downton abbey

"Zombie Abbey" is Downton Abbey with zombies (and characters names changed). Although it's been a while since I watched Downton Abbey, all the characters reminded me of specific characters from the show (just names were changed). The difference here is the zombies in the vein of the "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" book published in 2009 (and made into a movie in 2016). As such, I didn't find this to be as novel as other reviewers, but I was surprised at how closely the characters mirrored Downton Abbey's characters. For instance, the three sisters are almost exactly like the sisters in the show, plus the parents are similar, the distant cousin who will inherit, the house manager that views the eldest daughter as if she were his own, the sassy, young kitchen attendant whose mouth will get her in trouble, etc. The only characters I did not remember from the show are the cats, who surprisingly get their own points-of-view in the book.

We skip from person to person in the book, getting a glimpse of their thoughts and ideas before going to the next. It is not hard to follow, despite the many characters whose points-of-view we witness. Many of the characters are not easy to like, particularly the eldest daughter (similar to the show) and the footman/acting valet, Daniel, who steals money and is generally discontent. We seem to get their perspective more frequently (at least it seems that way to me) and neither is particularly likable. The most likable are the middle (somewhat forgotten) and youngest (naive but brave) daughters that mirror the ones in the show.

The build to the zombies seems rather slow with the annoying doctor discounting everyone's experiences (until his fate catches up to him) and a slow discovery of what is happening/when it becomes a real issue. It does take a while to set up the many characters. I almost felt like this could be fanfiction for Downton Abbey that was turned into a book (maybe intended to be a parody?). I'm not sure how I felt about it overall, but I think it does have an audience- just maybe not me. And I think this was largely due to expectations of this being something new and learning that it was not so new. It did have some funny moments and would be great for fans of "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies!"

Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Mend A Story of Divorce
Sophia, the fourteen-year-old author and protagonist, tells the heart-wrenching story...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dungeons & Dragons: Into the Jungle: An Endless Quest Book
Welcome to the Forgotten Realms Endless Quest books, where you...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dungeons & Dragons: Big Trouble: An Endless Quest Book
Welcome to the Forgotten Realms Endless Quest books, where you...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
Click is the heroic story of a young girl who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay Sweet
Summer in Sand Lake isn’t complete without a trip to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
The last place on earth Taylor Sorenson wants to be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courageous
Aiden is the son of a fisherman on the south...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II
In the early years of World War II, Josef Stalin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler
Adolf Hitler’s Nazi party is gaining strength and becoming more...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
New Kid
Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Watch Hollow
Deep within the enchanted woods in the town of Watch...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Days
Based on the hit graphic-novel series from BOOM! Studios, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Unteachables
The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tales from the Inner City
Tales from the Inner City is a collection of incredibly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer Army
After Rogan Webber levels up yet again on his favorite...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eventown
The world tilted for Elodee this year, and now it’s...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Courageous
 
4.0
"Aidan lives in a fishing village in England. His one brother has died in the war, but George is still..."
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
 
5.0
"The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot..."
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
 
4.0
"Thorn, a baboon, Sky, an elephant, and Fearless, a lion, have been friends since childhood. Due to the evil influence..."
Tales from the Inner City
 
4.0
"In this heavily illustrated short story collection, Tan explores the interconnectedness of humans and the natural world. Using animals to..."
The Unteachables
 
5.0
"Mr. Kermit is entering his 30th year of teaching, and he's already put in for early retirement. He started his..."
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
 
5.0
"Taylor Sorenson is a typical rebellious teen of 1968, sneaking out of his posh apartment to hang out with friends..."
Right as Rain
 
3.0
"Rain's family has experienced a tragedy-- her older brother was killed in a car accident. The mother thinks that the..."
Eventown
 
3.0
"Elodee's family is struggling for reasons that aren't clear, and she and her twin sister Naomi are not getting along...."
Scream and Scream Again
 
5.0
"I found some stories to be a lot more scary or interesting than others but the whole book was enjoyable...."
How Do I Love Thee?
 
5.0
"HOW DO I LOVE THEE is a beautifully illustrated children's book that is based on Elizabeth Barrett Browning's "Sonnet 43"...."
Privateer's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Privateer themed books can so easily go the way of the ridiculous and over the top. Not so with Privateer’s..."
Louisiana's Way Home
 
5.0
" I want to hug this book and never let go. Louisiana Elefante is cursed. She is hopeful..."
Unbound: A Novel in Verse
 
3.0
"All her life, Grace has been told the rules she must follow to survive: keep eyes down, keep mouth shut,..."
Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt
 
3.0
"Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt offers lengthier chapter book reading, while still offering delightful illustrations more familiar to young readers..."
Mangoes, Mischief, and Tales of Friendship
 
3.0
"This book took me right back to my childhood! But what’s interesting is that the stories in this book aren’t..."
Zora & Me: The Cursed Ground
 
5.0
" Reading stories set during the time of slavery twists the stomach into a knot. Though most of us..."
Laugh-Out-Loud A+ Jokes for Kids (Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids)
 
3.5
"Yet another collection of clean kid’s jokes in the LOL series, this slim paperback offers fresh school-themed humor. As with..."
The Third Mushroom
 
4.0
"Ellie's grandfather Melvin, who turned himself into a teenager in The Fourteenth Goldfish, has gotten tired of traveling and has..."
A Long Line of Cakes
 
3.0
"'A Long Line of Cakes' by Deborah Wiles, set in a comfortably cozy town where everyone knows each other, captures..."
Are You Scared, Darth Vader?
 
5.0
" This is a fun, cute, beautifully illustrated childrens book. What scares Darth Vader? Not wolfman, vampires, ghosts or kids!..."