Listen to Your Heart

Listen to Your Heart

Featured
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
2651   0
Write Review
Listen to Your Heart
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 29, 2018
ISBN
9781338210057

Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen to your Heart,” a story about lake life, friendships, secrets, and podcasting. Our main character, Kate Bailey, would choose spending all her time on the lake if it wasn’t for her parents insisting she go to school, her best friend insisting she check out her latest crush, and - well - the classes she needs to take as a junior. One unexpected class on her schedule is podcasting, mostly at the request of her best friend. Kate expects to get a background job in this class – maybe editing or research – and in a curious twist, it’s her suggested theme that gets chosen for the class, landing her in the host seat. Maybe talking to other people isn’t Kate’s favorite thing to do, but she’s willing to give this a try especially when her love of the lake and her family’s marina is challenged. What she doesn’t expect out of all of this is to fall for her bestie’s crush. He seems to be everywhere she turns up, and although Kate thinks she’s gaining intel for her friend on what he’s like, it turns out that she gets to know him better and better until she can’t stop the butterflies she feels for him. What turns out to be a crush turns into something more as friends navigate friendships, crushes navigate new love, and podcasting takes a turn when it’s time to record live at the Fall Festival. Kasie West has created fresh and lovable characters and her writing style makes it easy to sit down and curl up with yet another of her good reads. She touches on important topics like how to deal with bullying without sacrificing the integrity of her characters and their individual stories.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Truth Discovered

'Listen to Your Heart' by Kasie West will draw you in and make you dread the pull of sleep if you are reading late at night. Each chapter transitions nicely into the next, weaving the story together and making it so readers feel a strong connection with the characters and their troubles. The main plot device of a podcast that the teens in the story are putting on in which they dole out advice to callers about everything from homework to their love lives makes the story all that much more intriguing.

Even though some of the story was predictable, it doesn't take away from wanting to know how it will all play out. Kate and her best friend, Alana, are two of the main characters, along with Alana's crush, Diego, and enemy turned quasi-friend (dependent on if Kate feels he can be trusted), Frank. Added in for good measure, and realistically so, are Kate's brother, Max, and her cousin, Liza. Each character has his or her own issues that play a role in the overarching storyline, and which add interest and development to each and every page.

High school is a difficult world to live in, and when the podcast offers to give advice, callers and e-mailers alike are not hesitant to try it out and see if their problems can be solved, even if by some non-professionals. Kate finds herself getting more and more comfortable in the role of host that she feels she has been saddled with at the beginning of the year, while that level of comfort brings her to the forefront of the school, making everyone think she knows what she's talking about, even if she feels her own life is sometimes in shambles and she doesn't know what to make of it. Along with Alana and the rest of her friends, she finds that sometimes truth is subjective, and those shades of grey can lend themselves to new and exciting opportunities that she would never have even thought to afford herself otherwise.

A story of love lost and gained, truth discovered, and advice proposed, 'Listen to Your Heart' is a definite novel to add to every contemporary romance lover's to-be-read list this summer! Anyone who hasn't read Kasie West before will find themselves eagerly seeking out the other novels she has published. The search is most definitely worth it!

Good Points
Along with her friends, Kate finds that sometimes truth is subjective, and those shades of grey can lend themselves to new and exciting opportunities that she would never have even thought to afford herself otherwise. A story of love lost and gained, truth discovered, and advice proposed, 'Listen to Your Heart' is a definite novel to add to every contemporary romance lover's to-be-read list this summer! Anyone who hasn't read Kasie West before will find themselves eagerly seeking out the other novels she has published. The search is most definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Lake Life, Friendships, Secrets, & Podcasting

Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen to your Heart,” a story about lake life, friendships, secrets, and podcasting.

Our main character, Kate Bailey, would choose spending all her time on the lake if it wasn’t for her parents insisting she go to school, her best friend insisting she check out her latest crush, and - well - the classes she needs to take as a junior. One unexpected class on her schedule is podcasting, mostly at the request of her best friend.

Kate expects to get a background job in this class – maybe editing or research – and in a curious twist, it’s her suggested theme that gets chosen for the class, landing her in the host seat. Maybe talking to other people isn’t Kate’s favorite thing to do, but she’s willing to give this a try especially when her love of the lake and her family’s marina is challenged.

What she doesn’t expect out of all of this is to fall for her bestie’s crush. He seems to be everywhere she turns up, and although Kate thinks she’s gaining intel for her friend on what he’s like, it turns out that she gets to know him better and better until she can’t stop the butterflies she feels for him.

What turns out to be a crush turns into something more as friends navigate friendships, crushes navigate new love, and podcasting takes a turn when it’s time to record live at the Fall Festival.


Good Points
Kasie West has created fresh and lovable characters and her writing style makes it easy to sit down and curl up with yet another of her good reads. She touches on important topics like how to deal with bullying without sacrificing the integrity of her characters and their individual stories.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pirate Queen: The Legend of Grace O'Malley
A captivating retelling of the story of Grace O’Malley, the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Call It a Doomsday
There are many ways the world could end. A fire....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The moment I declared the last word, I felt a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
"Elidi is a Goddess, or she will be when she ascends but to do that she must survive an attack..."
 
5.0
"Lemon's story focuses on finding an identity when you don't have one. She has to overcome her unforgettable name and..."
Falling For My Nemesis
 
4.8
"This book was so good. The Story: Mia and Carson have always hated each other. As Carson's brother's best..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"Some books hit you right in the feels (or a bit lower). This is one of them. In the..."
 
4.0
"This book is not like anything else I have ever read and I thought it was great!!! you will need..."
Above The Star
 
5.0
""Though reminiscent of beloved fantasies -- think A Wrinkle in Time meets The Princess Bride -- Above the Star is..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"I'm not going to lie, I was a bit skeptical when I started this book. As someone in a wheelchair,..."
My Virtual Prince Charming
 
4.0
"Luke is one of the popular crowd, but he has a nerdy secret. He loves to play the online game..."
Oath Taker
 
3.0
"OATH TAKER starts out super intriguing. As the reader, you’re immediately pulled into a world of light and dark magic,..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"The story: Peyton has lost so much over the past eighteen months. Her brother passed away in a horrible accident,..."
Catching Ivy
 
4.8
"Feedback There are certain things I don’t like in books. Insta-love and perfect plans out of nowhere - just to..."
We Thought We Were Invincible
 
4.8
"Callie is trying to survive high school and get out of her small Florida town. When her best friend moves..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"n the third and final installment in the ‘The Clay Lion’ trilogy, Charlie’s little sister Melody takes her own trip..."
The Girl with Seven Wishes
 
5.0
"After helping her sister Lalana escape with her true love, Zadie must face the consequences. The new sultan of Astaran..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve been a big fan of both Craven and MacQueen for many years so when I heard they were collaborating..."
What He Hides
 
4.8
"Fans of Karen McManus will enjoy the twists and turns in WHAT HE HIDES. When Lauren’s mom becomes the..."
Two Like Me and You
 
4.8
"TWO LIKE ME AND YOU is a laugh-out-loud, heartwarming story that fans of John Green will adore. Edwin gets..."
Twelfth Knight
 
4.5
"This story kept me engaged from the first page to the last. The Story: Violet is a new student..."