Flight Season

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
255   0
Write Review
FlightSeason.jpg
Age Range
13+
Release Date
February 20, 2018
ISBN
1250107016
Buy This Book
      

From Marie Marquardt, the author of Dream Things True and The Radius of Us, comes a story of two teenagers learning what to hold on to, what to let go of, and that sometimes love gets in the way of our plans. Back when they were still strangers, TJ Carvalho witnessed the only moment in Vivi Flannigan’s life when she lost control entirely. Now, TJ can’t seem to erase that moment from his mind, no matter how hard he tries. Vivi doesn’t remember any of it, but she’s determined to leave it far behind. And she will. But when Vivi returns home from her first year away at college, her big plans and TJ’s ambition to become a nurse land them both on the heart ward of a university hospital, facing them with a long and painful summer together – three months of glorified babysitting for Ángel, the problem patient on the hall. Sure, Ángel may be suffering from a life-threatening heart infection, but that doesn’t make him any less of a pain. As it turns out, though, Ángel Solís has a thing or two to teach them about all those big plans, and the incredible moments when love gets in their way. Written in alternating first person from the perspectives of all three characters, Flight Season is a story about discovering what’s really worth holding onto, learning how to let go of the rest, and that one crazy summer that changes your life forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Oh My Heartstrings

Marquardt brilliantly weaves together a beautiful story about family, friends, and finding yourself. She shows how people facing very different struggles can learn from one another by just taking the time to get to know them for who they really are.

To be honest, I've always loved birds, but never took a lot of time to appreciate all the different types around me. My mother on the other hand, kept an Audubon Book and binoculars close at hand. She spent a lot of time on the front porch listening and looking at the birds. So when I saw excerpts of Vivi's bird journal I was instantly reminded of my mother's love of birds, drawing me even deeper into the story. To Vivi, birds are celestrial and are always there when she needs an answer to something important in her life. While she can't quiet explain it, they have always seemed to be there when she most needs it.

Marquardt weaves together three distinct POV flawlessly. It is easy to keep each story line separate since the voices are so clearly defined. Vivi’s chapters start with an entry in her birding journal. It is fun to learn about each bird trying to figure out what clue it might hold for the story. I did find myself googling each bird to get an image and more information just in case.

TJ voice is well written, and even his tough act is easily relatable. I enjoy his dialogue and the way he changes over the course of the novel. In many ways he is one of my favorite parts of the novel.

Ángel is a pleasant surprise. With Marquardt's writing it is easy to love Angel flaws and all. He has a unique perspective that isn't often seen in YA novels. Ángel adds depth to the story that pulls at your heartstrings.

This book deals with timely and important topics from Vivi's issues faces her father's death and college, to immigration. Everything is handled with grace and incredible storytelling. You can tell that Marquardt put care and respect into each character.

Final Thoughts: Flight Season is a captivating story of family, friendship, love, grief, and healing. It took me on an emotional rollercoaster for the entire day. (Yes, I couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting at a coffee shop). But while I had tears in my eyes while I read, it left me with hope in my heart and the sound of birds singing. It is a must read of 2018.

Good Points
Can close to book with a better understanding of yourself and others around you.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
 
5.0
"THE KIDULT HANDBOOK is the perfect book to pull out on a boring day. It is packed with fun activities..."
Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries
 
4.0
"'Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries' by Ammi-Joan Paquette and Laurie Ann Thompson is a fun read, chock..."
Things to Do Before You're 30: The Try-It Out, Get-It-Done, Live-It-Up List!
 
4.0
"When I heard about the book THINGS TO DO BEFORE YOU’RE 30 by Jessica Misener, I knew I had to..."
Boots on the Ground: America's War in Vietnam
 
5.0
"The conflict in Vietnam was horrible, contentious, and defined the 1960s in many ways. In order to give an all-inclusive..."
No Truth Without Ruth: The Life of Ruth Bader Ginsburg
 
5.0
"As an adult woman, I don’t really remember a time when women couldn’t do the things they wanted to do..."
Votes for Women!: American Suffragists and the Battle for the Ballot
 
4.0
"A candid, comprehensive, and thoroughly researched look at the long fight for women’s rights—spanning nearly a century of history while..."
Fly Girls: The Forgotten Women Airforce Service Pilots of WWII
 
5.0
"While WWI used planes, the technology and use really took off during WWII. It's hard for people today to understand..."
Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card
 
4.0
"What worked: This memoir is the account of an undocumented teen living in the US during the 90s. She gives..."
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
 
5.0
"Journeys is a collection of letters from the “Letters About Literature” program sponsored by the Library of Congress Center for..."
Sweet Revenge: Passive-Aggressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
 
5.0
"This cookbook hits the perfect balance of being as entertaining to read as it is delicious to cook out of!..."
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
 
4.0
"This is an easy to read reference book on how to take creative ideas and thoughts and turn them into..."
Sweet Revenge: Passive-Aggressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
 
5.0
"SWEET REVENGE is sweet and deliciously vengeful that I wanted to gobble up all of the recipes. It's full of..."
The Infographic Guide to College: A Visual Reference for Everything You Need to Know
 
3.5
"As approachable as it is pragmatic, this college primer could largely double as a bite-sized approach to post high school..."
The Book That Made Me
 
4.0
"The Book That Made Me' is an anthology by several authors that tells about a book that influenced their life...."
It's Your World: Get Informed, Get Inspired & Get Going!
 
4.0
"'It's Your World' by Chelsea Clinton does a nice job of anticipating questions teens (or adults) may have about a..."
Girling Up
 
4.0
"What worked: Encouraging info for girls on growing up. Mayim is like that cool older sis that tells you what..."
The March Against Fear: The Last Great Walk of the Civil Rights Movement and the Emergence of Black Power
 
4.5
"James Meredith was a ground breaker in the Civil Rights Movement, and the first African-American to graduate from The University..."
Shackles from the Deep: Tracing the Path of a Sunken Slave Ship, a Bitter Past, and a Rich Legacy
 
4.0
"Cottman, a reporter for the Washington Post and an avid SCUBA diver, was intrigued when he learned about the Henrietta..."
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights
 
5.0
"In this very timely book, the story of Alice Paul's life is interwoven with the women's movement in the same..."