All of This Is True

All of This Is True

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
731   0
Write Review
All of This Is True
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 15, 2018
ISBN
978-0062673657
Buy This Book
      

In this genre-defying page-turner from Lygia Day Peñaflor, four teens befriend their favorite YA novelist, only to find their deepest, darkest secrets in the pages of her next book—with devastating consequences. Miri Tan loved the book Undertow like it was a living being. So when she and her friends went to a book signing to hear the author, Fatima Ro, they concocted a plan to get close to her. Soleil Johnston wanted to be a writer herself one day. When she and her friends started hanging out with her favorite author, Fatima Ro, she couldn’t believe their luck—especially when Jonah Nicholls started hanging out with them, too. Penny Panzarella was more than the materialist party girl everyone at the Graham School thought she was—and she was willing to share all her secrets with Fatima Ro to prove it. Jonah Nicholls had more to hide than any of them. And now that Fatima’s next book is out in the world, he’s the one who is paying the price... Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying—and told as a series of interviews, journal entries, and even pages from the book within the book—this gripping story of a fictional scandal will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

All Of This Is True

This book is like a really wild night on twitter. YA twitter.

Wildly original, thoroughly engrossing, All of This is True did not come to play.

Told in a series of alternating points of view, through emails, interviews, and journal entries--All of This Is True--is unlike any YA book out there, and it just introduced itself with a loud, booming voice.

HOW YOU DOING?

The story is about four teens obsessed with the YA book, Undertow. They agree to go to a book signing with their new friend, Jonah--who's as secretive as he is good-looking. He's new in town--and the girls have sort of adopted him into the fold. They all go to the book signing with not only the intention of meeting their favorite author--but actually becoming friends.

The author although slightly older--is down with being friends, and it happens a little too easily. Secrets are shared, too easily. They spend insane amounts of time with her--and their spilled secrets wind up costing them.

What really works for this books is how well paced it is. You get just enough, at just the right time in the story, to keep yourself engaged from front to back.

The book as mentioned is crazy original. I can honestly say there is nothing like it out there. It's captivating in it's originality--and enthralling in how downright disturbingly juicy it is.

And the story is juicy for sure. It sort of reminds you of a sensationalized story--that plays the episodes in pieces, just to tease you right before the season finale.

This is kind of like that.

The characters: Although told in alternating perspectives--you do get a true feel for who they are, and that's no easy feat. So kudos to Penaflor for that!

The plot is gripping, and kind of bananas--in the best way possible. There will be things you see coming, but there will be many things you won't.

Overall, the book is very well-written, original, and down right brilliant.

Recommended for anyone who wants to read something different--that will keep you reading until the very last page.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Resist: 35 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice
A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
From the critically acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression, and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Voyage of the Dogs
SOS. Ship damaged. Human crew missing. We are...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
The energetic and zany duo Shorty and Clem are back,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
If you want to keep kids happily busy for hours...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Strange New World
Dahlia 16's life is a lie. The city of...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Like Never And Always
Liv Burnham thinks nobody knows Morgan Frost like she...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
Mystical relics. Powerful vampires. Strange allies. It's hell being...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)
After conquering the mountains in Afghanistan, Peak Marcello goes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Here to Stay
For most of high school, Bijan Majidi has flown under...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hiding Lies
At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a way...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
We, The Lucky Few
"Each time I think this night reaches its lowest...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)
The formerly glorious god Apollo, cast down to earth...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meg has it made. She has money to spare, attends...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Red Ribbon
Shining a light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
 
5.0
"Mason Buttle can't read all that well. And he sweats a lot. And writing isn't something he can do either...."
Voyage of the Dogs
 
5.0
"The Laika is on mission Stepping Stone, traveling outside the solar system to set up a new planet. In addition..."
Shorty & Clem Blast Off!
 
4.5
"'Shorty & Clem Blast Off!' by Michael Slack is a cute addition to Shorty and Clem's adventures. The first book..."
Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things: Halloween Seek-and-Find
 
3.5
"'Bear's Spooky Book of Hidden Things' by Gergely Dudas is for anyone who loves books like 'Where's Waldo?' Even adults..."
Funny Kid #2: Stand Up
 
4.5
"After his attempts to run for class president in Funny Kid for President, Max has decided that his identity is..."
Yellow Submarine
 
4.0
"Twice upon a time, once in 1968 and once today, there was an unearthly paradise called Pepperland. In an elaboration..."
Louie (The Puppy Place #51)
 
4.0
"The Petersons are working together to clean up a camp ground near Loon Lake, where they will be spending time..."
Spirit (The Puppy Place #50)
 
4.0
"Lizzie is very used to being around dogs, since her family fosters many of them, and has Buddy, their own..."
Mr. Wolf's Class
 
5.0
"Mr. Wolf is starting his first year of teaching fourth grade. He sets up his classroom and waits for his..."
Tom's Midnight Garden Graphic Novel
 
5.0
"This graphic retelling remains true to the story of the classic 1958 British time slip story. Tom is sent to..."
Welcome to Wonderland #3: Sandapalooza Shake-Up
 
4.0
"P.T. and Gloria have saved the Wonderland Motel, and now because of the celebrity tie-in with the Surf Monkey movie,..."
Al Capone Throws Me a Curve (Tales from Alcatraz)
 
4.0
"There are a lot of things going on for Moose now that summer is approaching. He desperately wants to be..."
So Done
 
4.0
"Bean and Tai are neighbors in a low-income housing project and have been friends for a very long time, but..."
Scout: National Hero (Scout #1)
 
4.0
"Matt and his family have moved to Nevada, where his mother runs an Army base and heads up their K-9..."
Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go to School
 
5.0
"Waldo and Sassy are hard working dogs who scour the floor for meatballs and keep their humans' house safe from..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
4.0
"Blue and his sister Luna are very close to going through metamorphosis, after which they will be given jobs and..."
Game Changer
 
5.0
"At the end of summer football camp for the Walthorne Wildcats, Ted Youngblood collapses as he comes off the field..."
Double Cross (Twintuition #4)
 
4.0
"Cassie and Caitlyn Waters are still struggling to understand the power they share, The Sight. It is somehow tied to..."
Just Under the Clouds
 
4.0
"Cora's mother has struggled to keep a roof over Cora and her sister Adare's head ever since the death of..."
Revenge of the Teacher's Pets (Brewster Triplets #4)
 
4.0
"Darby, Dawn, and Delaney are determined that seventh grade is going to be AWESOME. However, when they get their schedules,..."