The Final Six

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
594   0
Write Review
The Final Six
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 06, 2018
ISBN
978-0062658944
Buy This Book
      

et in the near future, this action-packed YA novel—already optioned by Sony Pictures—will take readers out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter’s moon. This is the next must-read for fans of Illuminae and The Martian. When Leo and Naomi are drafted, along with twenty-two of the world’s brightest teenagers, into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever changed. Overnight, they become global celebrities in contention for one of the six slots to travel to Europa—Jupiter’s moon—and establish a new colony, leaving their planet forever. With Earth irreparably damaged, the future of the human race rests on their shoulders. For Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, this kind of purpose is a reason to go on after losing his family. But Naomi, an Iranian-American science genius, is suspicious of the ISTC and the fact that a similar mission failed under mysterious circumstances, killing the astronauts onboard. She fears something equally sinister awaiting the Final Six beneath Europa’s surface. In this cutthroat atmosphere, surrounded by strangers from around the world, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo. As the training tests their limits, Naomi and Leo’s relationship deepens with each life-altering experience they encounter. But it’s only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

The Final Six

With a thrilling concept, a romance to root for, and teens attempting to save the world, The Final Six--has all the makings of a great novel.

In The Final Six, teens are hand-picked from all over the world, for a space project. A project in which they will be brought together--to make space livable for the human-race. The world has been ravaged by biblical-like storms—and most of the inhabitable world is under water.

The problem is, is space really fit for human life? And just what are they expected to do? Not all of it seems on the up and up.

What works:
The concept is cool. Teens trained to make space habitable--because the world depends on it. That's pretty thrilling to say the least.

The competitiveness--there's a lot at stake for some of these teens--so things get a little, "crazy," and I liked that aspect--it can't all be easy.

The idea that love can still exist in this harrowing situation.

What doesn’t work:
The romance is slightly insta-love-y, which can be a turn-off for some, and to be honest it was a bit of a turn-off for me, being that the romance portion felt a little forced. Romance that happens more naturally is always better for reading, and for enjoyment.

Conclusion: The ending is a cliff-hanger—but it’s a good kind. It gives us a scenario—that by the end you’ll be rooting for.

I believe as with many series (Some sites note this book as the Time Crosser's series)—the story will get deeper, and more intriguing as the series goes on.

A decent read, with potential—worth picking up.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
Click is the heroic story of a young girl who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
The last place on earth Taylor Sorenson wants to be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aiden is the son of a fisherman on the south...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II
In the early years of World War II, Josef Stalin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler
Adolf Hitler’s Nazi party is gaining strength and becoming more...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
New Kid
Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Watch Hollow
Deep within the enchanted woods in the town of Watch...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Days
Based on the hit graphic-novel series from BOOM! Studios, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Unteachables
The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tales from the Inner City
Tales from the Inner City is a collection of incredibly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer Army
After Rogan Webber levels up yet again on his favorite...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world tilted for Elodee this year, and now it’s...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Right as Rain
It’s been almost a year since Rain’s brother Guthrie died,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie, Mac, and Maria managed to rescue the Project Chimera...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
Set in the African savannah and told from three different...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
Since Tom forgets everything, it’s not surprising that he forgot...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Parasite Life
 
4.7
"Jane is stuck in a creepy old house with her invalid mother. She has no idea why her mother is..."
Hearts Unbroken
 
N/A
"There are a lot of entry-points to the storylines in Cynthia Leitich Smith's Hearts Unbroken. I recommend this book especially..."
With Malice
 
5.0
"I loved this book, it kept me thinking afterwards for days. "The truth is how you tell it," take that..."
IF I FIX YOU
 
5.0
"The book is more like a 4.5 but I am going to give it a 5 star read because the..."
Enchantée
 
4.0
"After the death of her parents to smallpox, Camille Durbonne struggles to get by with her younger sister Sofie. One..."
The Penderwicks at Last
 
5.0
"THE PENDERWICKS AT LAST is the last in the series of Jeanne Birdsall's books about the Penderwick family. In this..."
Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)
 
5.0
""Ever the Hunted" is an incredible YA fantasy with a touch of romance. The story begins with Britta, starving and..."
Bud, Not Buddy
 
4.7
"Bud not Buddy is awesome! im in year 9 and im reading it in school for an assignment. On the..."
The Star-Touched Queen
 
3.3
"I enjoyed this rich world. I felt like I was there seeing the lure with my own eyes. I loved..."
Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5)
 
4.7
"This was so refreshing, to see a little snippet into the almost perfect Aiden's head, we get to see how..."
Stone Cold Touch (Dark Elements #2)
 
5.0
"This installment picks up just a few weeks after Roth has sacrificed himself at the end of White Hot Kiss...."
The Iron Flower (The Black Witch Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"*I was lucky enough for NetGalley and Harlequin Teen to approve me for this ARC in exchange for an honest..."
Ever the Hunted (Clash of Kingdoms)
 
5.0
"Feedback I adored this book so much! There were so many parts of this book that I just loved...."
Ever the Brave (Clash of Kingdoms book 2)
 
4.3
"Feedback I was so excited to continue this series. There was so much that happened in book one which..."
Dear Evan Hansen: The Novel
 
4.0
""Dear Evan Hansen" is a sad but sweet YA contemporary that addresses anxiety and the power of a small lie...."
Welcome Home
 
5.0
"I have mixed feelings about anthologies. Anthologies are a great way to be introduced to new authors. However, in..."
HOW SHE DIED, HOW I LIVED
 
4.7
"What worked: Gripping tale that deals with survivor guilt after a horrific murder. This story is intense, but one I..."
The Tesla Legacy
 
5.0
"When Lucy discovers a hidden door in the Tesla Suite, she's surprised to discover an egg. Curiosity gets the better..."
Snow in Love
 
4.0
"SNOW IN LOVE features four short stories that really get you into the Christmas spirit and they've also added some..."
 
4.0
"So after the explosive and frankly what the hell ending to Nexis, Redux is finally here! Nexis left me with..."