This Tiny Perfect World

This Tiny Perfect World

Featured
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
714   0
Write Review
This Tiny Perfect World
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 27, 2018
ISBN
978-0062490070
Buy This Book
      

The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how wide the world really is during one transformative summer. Perfect for fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen. Penny loves her small-town Florida life, and she has her future mapped out. She’s going to community college after graduation to stay close to home and her best friend, Faye. She’ll take over the family diner that her dad has been managing since her mother died. And one day, she’ll marry her high school sweetheart, Logan. But when she unexpectedly lands a scholarship to a prestigious summer theater camp, she is thrust into a world of competition and self-doubt. And suddenly, her future gets a little hazy. As she meets new friends, including Chase, a talented young actor with big-city dreams, she begins to realize that maybe the life everyone (including her) expects her to lead is not the one she was meant to have.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

This Tiny Perfect World

Things that worked: The small town setting. Although it felt restrictive to the main character, a small town story often feels homey and quaint.

The love triangle: It was less about the who will she choose, and more about what each person represented in both the story and in her life. Each person represented the different stages in her life. They represented what she's already decided, and who she can become. It was also handled very well. There were no useless fights, or unnecessary drama.

The Dad: Although YA is the king and queen of fractured families. The dad here meant so much to the story and to the main character. Not only was he doing it all on his own--and trying to guide his daughter along--he was dealing with some pretty heavy stuff himself, which made for a more interesting read.

The best friend: Her role wasn't pivotal to the story--but it's nice that she always had the MC's back no matter what. Everyone needs a friend to root for them, at all times.

What didn't work: There's not much negative to say in terms of the book, the pace, and the characters--the book itself is okay, it's just okay.

There's a lot of self discovery--and internal struggle for the MC--and though the direction of the author is fairly obvious, it does get a little drab.

Maybe it was personal, but the book was hum drum, it didn't incite any strong feelings one way or the other. That's not to say it wasn't a decent read--it's just pretty middle of the road.

Conclusion: It's a great fit for a contemporary reader, or a younger reader in that period of self-discovery--just looking for their place, and how to figure it all out. I think the MC is a good example of the struggle between what's safe, and what might make you happy--even though it might be scary.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Meet the Sky
From award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes a new young adult...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A Touch of Gold
King Midas once had the ability to turn all he...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Dog in King Arthur’s Court (Cavall in Camelot #1)
In Camelot, King Arthur’s dog encounters a world of danger...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fray
She's been trained for battle but is she ready for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emergence (Kindred Ties: Book Two)
The fight for order has only just begun… Fletcher, Ariana...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All Summer Long.jpg
A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel about summer and friendships, written...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
They Say Blue
Caldecott and Printz Honor-winning illustrator Jillian Tamaki brings us a...
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
Lady Knight (Crystal Journals) Book 3
Shortlisted 2018-19 "Chocolate Lily Book Award"... ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pharaoh's Tomb (Crystal Journals) Book 2
So begins the next adventure for Susan Sinclair, the young...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 13th Key
When the fate of Talisker relies on a solitary teenage...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Turnaway Girls
Delphernia Undersea wants to sing. But everyone on Blightsend knows...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Looking Glass
GIRLS IN TROUBLE. That’s what...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twilight of the Elves (The Adventurers Guild #2)
I should probably start at the beginning, Zed wrote, when...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Button War: A Tale of The Great War
Twelve-year-old Patryk knows little of the world beyond his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Heretics Anonymous
Put an atheist in a strict Catholic school? Expect...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Storm-Wake
Moss has grown up on the strangest and most...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Awakening of Fire (Dragon Born, #1)
 
4.0
"Felicia never thought her life could be turned upside down by taking a trip to the mall. But when she's..."
The Gods of Men
 
5.0
"The story: A childhood tragedy forces Sable to flee her home, change her identity, and eke out a meager..."
Karina
 
4.0
"The story: Disfigured by a childhood accident, thirteen-year-old Karina Morgan has it tough. Labeled an outcast because of her..."
THE GHOST CHRONICLES
 
3.8
"\\Michael Andrews has died in a fiery car accident. He is sentenced to continually walk the earth. Things start to..."
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
 
5.0
"Feedback Emerge: The Captive takes place between Awakening and Judgment through Sasha and Quinn’s point of view. At first..."
STUMPED
 
4.3
"Ozzy has everything a teenager could want, good grades, a hot girlfriend, and successful high school swimming career. When..."
 
5.0
"What happens when myth becomes a reality that is closer to home than you realize? That is the tale of..."
 
4.5
"I love the characters and their interactions. Not just a lot of action, but a true, indepth story...."
 
5.0
"What can I say? I, a 49 year old woman, got sucked into a YA story and absolutely LOVE..."
The Gods of Men
 
5.0
"There is nothing not to like in this book. The story: Sable hasn't had it easy. The daughter of..."
 
5.0
"In DARK FATES, there's a prophesy that keeps the humans and vampires separate out of fear. It is said that..."
Intoxic
 
5.0
"This is strong writing from an author on the rise. Gallion's prose is a breath of fresh air. There is..."
 
4.3
"I can't wait to see where the next book goes!"
Sneaking Out
 
3.8
" ‘Sneaking Out’ is the first installment in the ‘Chase’ series. The setting is an elite New England..."
Bleeding Hearts
 
3.0
"The story: Nancy Miller is a poor, illiterate teenage girl scrounging out a meager living in Edinburgh. On the..."
All-American Liars
 
3.8
"'All-American Liars' by Emily Kazmierski shines a light on the lies people tell themselves and others to help save face..."
 
4.0
"A short and fun read. The story: Megera is in danger of having to leave her private school when..."
This Summer
 
4.0
"A sweet romance highlighting the fragile hearts of youth. The story: Hadley is determined to have a good summer..."
Emerge: The Heir (Immortals of Indriell Book 4)
 
5.0
"A shining star in a great series. The story: Picking up years after the last time we saw Allie..."
Faded
 
5.0
"'Faded' by Melanie Hooyenga is the third installment in her 'Flicker Effect' series. It is not always true that a..."