This Tiny Perfect World

This Tiny Perfect World

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
127   0
Write Review
This Tiny Perfect World
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 27, 2018
ISBN
978-0062490070
Buy This Book
      
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how wide the world really is during one transformative summer. Perfect for fans of Susane Colasanti and Sarah Dessen.

Penny loves her small-town Florida life, and she has her future mapped out. She’s going to community college after graduation to stay close to home and her best friend, Faye. She’ll take over the family diner that her dad has been managing since her mother died. And one day, she’ll marry her high school sweetheart, Logan.

But when she unexpectedly lands a scholarship to a prestigious summer theater camp, she is thrust into a world of competition and self-doubt. And suddenly, her future gets a little hazy. As she meets new friends, including Chase, a talented young actor with big-city dreams, she begins to realize that maybe the life everyone (including her) expects her to lead is not the one she was meant to have.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0

This Tiny Perfect World

Things that worked: The small town setting. Although it felt restrictive to the main character, a small town story often feels homey and quaint.

The love triangle: It was less about the who will she choose, and more about what each person represented in both the story and in her life. Each person represented the different stages in her life. They represented what she's already decided, and who she can become. It was also handled very well. There were no useless fights, or unnecessary drama.

The Dad: Although YA is the king and queen of fractured families. The dad here meant so much to the story and to the main character. Not only was he doing it all on his own--and trying to guide his daughter along--he was dealing with some pretty heavy stuff himself, which made for a more interesting read.

The best friend: Her role wasn't pivotal to the story--but it's nice that she always had the MC's back no matter what. Everyone needs a friend to root for them, at all times.

What didn't work: There's not much negative to say in terms of the book, the pace, and the characters--the book itself is okay, it's just okay.

There's a lot of self discovery--and internal struggle for the MC--and though the direction of the author is fairly obvious, it does get a little drab.

Maybe it was personal, but the book was hum drum, it didn't incite any strong feelings one way or the other. That's not to say it wasn't a decent read--it's just pretty middle of the road.

Conclusion: It's a great fit for a contemporary reader, or a younger reader in that period of self-discovery--just looking for their place, and how to figure it all out. I think the MC is a good example of the struggle between what's safe, and what might make you happy--even though it might be scary.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Silver Mask
A generation ago, Constantine Madden came close to achieving what...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Exile
Rosi must decide what she’s willing to risk to save...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unearthed
From the New York Times best-selling author duo Amie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Boyfriend Agreement
Fake boyfriends are hard work. When 16-year-old Bella’s dream...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have little in common...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Believarexic
Asking for help is only the first step. ...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Graveyard Shakes
Katia and Victoria are sisters and scholarship students at a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Star Renegades
In the tradition of Star Wars, a galaxy-hopping space adventure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last to Let Go
A twisted tragedy leaves Brooke and her siblings on their...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretty Dead Girls
Beautiful. Perfect. Dead. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By a Charm and a Curse
A kiss is never just a kiss. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Naondel (The Red Abbey Chronicles #2)
Booklist called Maresi “utterly satisfying and completely different from standard...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Without You
 
3.3
"'Without You' by Yesenia Vargas had many sweet moments. It told of a relationship between Ariana and Lucas, as well..."
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
 
5.0
AmyAmy
"We read this book as a family and had a hard time putting it down. We looked forward to..."
The Vampire Fate (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 4)
 
5.0
"The plot twist at the end of the third book was epic and I was so excited to start this..."
The Boyfriend Agreement
 
4.8
"'The Boyfriend Agreement' by Seven Steps is definitely a hard one to put down! With a mix of romance, intrigue,..."
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to begin. This series is just so good and each book builds you up for..."
The Vampire Prince (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 2)
 
5.0
"When Annika discovers Geneva, she realizes that she's the only one who can help her take down the Vale. With..."
Teeth of the Gods
 
4.7
"Teeth of the Gods is a wild mixture of genres for those who are looking for something unique. Tylira has..."
The Convergence (Converters, Book 1)
 
3.5
"The story: Desiree is hiding a secret, one she’s desperate to hide from everyone she loves, but when new boy..."
Fragile Facade (Blind Barriers Trilogy #1)
 
4.5
"The story: Raven moved to D.C. to start a new life but when she discovers the diary of missing diamond..."
Blood Oath (The Darkest Drae Book 1)
 
4.5
"Summary Verald used to be a beautiful and fertile land. Phaetyn’s kept the land lush and beautiful with their..."
Daughter of the Mara
 
3.5
"The story: Jayashree is insane. At least that’s what the staff at the psychiatric hospital have been telling her for..."
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
 
5.0
"This book was an excellent read. Very well thought out and interesting plot. The depth of this writing will appeal..."
Ghosts of Bliss Bayou
 
5.0
"The story: Abby Renshaw is not a normal seventeen-year-old girl. She suffers from hallucinations wherein she sees ghosts, a..."
Corner of Ocean and Bay
 
4.8
"Nessa and Jacie have been friends since kindergarten. When they both have had a terrible year, they decide to take..."
My Life as a Bench
 
4.5
"Seventeen year old Lauren ‘Ren’ Miller has just died. She finds that her spirit lives on inside her own memorial..."
Junction 2020 Book 1: The Portal
 
3.5
"The story: At the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Eve, 2019, adolescents Mari, her brother Randall, her best..."
Transitions: Novella Collection (The Biodome Chronicles #2.5)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"Wow, this collection was AWESOME! This collection of novellas takes place between the second and the not-yet-released (AHH!) third..."
Elements (The Biodome Chronicles #2)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"I could not put this book down. It was just as good as Legacy (the first book), if not better!..."
Legacy (The Biodome Chronicles #1)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"I enjoyed this book so much! The world-building and setting of this story was very highly detailed and I felt..."
Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
 
5.0
"What happens when all things known in your life prove untrue? The past was supposed to stay buried, but an..."