Honor Among Thieves

Honor Among Thieves

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
505   0
Write Review
Honor Among Thieves
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 13, 2018
ISBN
978-0062570994
Buy This Book
      

Petty criminal Zara Cole has a painful past that’s made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in New Detroit instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell. Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan—a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers. Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time. But nothing could have prepared her for the dark, ominous truths that lurk behind the alluring glitter of starlight.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: January 31, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Honor Among Thieves

Kara lives on the streets of New Detroit, where a pickpocket job goes terribly wrong. She finds herself running from Deluca, a crime/drug lord. Kara escapes to a rehab prison where she ends up being 'recruited' to be a part of the prestigious Honor Space program. Those lucky enough to be chosen live a celeb-like existence. Kara though wants nothing to do with it at first, but after a subtle threat, decides it might be the only way to get away for awhile. She gets to ride a Leviathan, a living alien spaceship for a year out to the farthest reaches of the galaxy. But there are dark secrets that the Leviathan haven't shared. Secrets that are even darker than space.

What worked: Totally engaging Sci-fi adventure set on a sentient spaceship where the brightest on Earth are set on a journey to the far reaches of space. From the first page I was hooked and couldn't put this book down!

The backstory shows readers street wise Kara and what she does to survive. Kara kind of reminded me of Bean from Ender's Game, only she survived on her own wits. Even her so-called friend, turns on her. We do see some of her vulnerabilities early on-she's close to her younger sister who now lives on Mars with their mother. Also there is a reveal that shows why Kara wants to run. This scene is crucial later on in the novel.

The story really starts moving when Kara is assigned to Nadim, a young Leviathan ship. Caine & Aguirre do a wonderful job with world building and showing readers the physiology of a Leviathan ship. The ship feels, speaks, and has an amazing structural system.

The dialogue exchange between Kara and her fellow Honor student Beatriz is punchy and funny at times. Both learn they have to work together in order to not only pass tests, but later on to survive. There are glimpses of aliens that are intriguing and horrific. There's lots of action scenes, especially later on in the novel.

Captivating Sci-Fi adventure meets The 100, this story will keep you turning the pages until the early morning. Spell bounding world building with a living alien ship and a kick ass heroine that bond together in ways neither of them could predict. Fans of Beth Revis's Across The Universe series will totally love this new series. I can't wait to see what lays in store for Nadim, Kara, and Beatriz in the next book.

Good Points
1. Fast-paced adventure set on a sentient spaceship
2.Totally engaging with punchy dialogue and characters we care about
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."
Challenge Accepted
 
3.8
"CHALLENGE ACCEPTED alternates POV between the nerdy Emma and the popular Logan. After messing up Emma's chances at a summer..."
Soul Catchers
 
5.0
"When her mom is attacked by a wolf, Wren has no choice but to use her magic to try to..."
The Last First Game
 
5.0
"Lila has everything going for her and she's on the path to be a doctor. At least that's what people..."
Colliding Skies
 
N/A
""Brilliant pacing, sizzling romance, and a storyline I absolutely devoured!" Victoria Scott, author of Fire and Flood."
Gamemaster (The Biodome Chronicles #3)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"DISCLAIMER: I am a member of the Advance Reader team for this book! This review is only for the ARC..."
Any Way You Slice It
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A wonderful, sweet sweet romance. The story: Penelope loves to skate and has..."
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
 
4.0
"Larna is hurt when her father doesn't return home because the assumption is he's abandoned them or worse. It's so..."
Oshun Rising: Trinity Forest Book 2
 
4.0
"The story: Ember Trouve, missing for three years in Trinity Forest, has been “rebirthed”, in the form of a..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
Shadow Wings
 
5.0
"Summary King Irdelron is dead. Lord Irrik is now Lord Tyrrik and free from his blood oath. Ryn is..."
 
4.8
"I'm not a big fan of Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones or most Fantasy. There is nothing..."
Seventeen
 
5.0
"I loved this novel, I liked the way it was written and it had me hooked. The plot flowed smoothly..."