The Queen's Rising

 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
549   0
Write Review
The Queen's Rising
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
February 06, 2018
ISBN
978-0062471345
Buy This Book
      
Grave Mercy meets Red Queen in this epic debut fantasy, inspired by Renaissance France, about an outcast who finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the current king.

Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions—art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge—Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, Brienna’s greatest fear comes true—she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana—the rival kingdom of Valenia—and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the throne. And others are involved—some closer to Brienna than she realizes.

And now, with war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to: passion or blood.

Editor reviews

A Queen Will Rise

In the kingdom of Maevana, a king sits on the throne when it should be a queen and it can't remain that way forever.

Brienna is part Maevanan, but grew up in Valenia with no knowledge of who her father is. Her ties to Maevana are more than she can imagine, especially when she starts reliving memories from her ancestor.

After becoming a passion in knowledge, Brienna doesn't get chosen by a patron and her destiny pulls her into a completely different direction. Just when Brienna is feeling hopeless, she finds herself getting accepted into the Jourdain household where old secrets lie in every corner. Brienna's memories may be Jourdain and the born queen's only hope to replacing the throne with her.

THE QUEEN'S RISING was woven with secrets and passion. Brienna has to make the ultimate choice between blood and her heart and I loved the buildup to it. There's also Master Cartier, who is more than he seems, and he drew me in like he did Brienna. I enjoyed the twists and turns this story had and look forward to more from Rebecca Ross. Her writing is like nothing I've ever read and I love it.


Final Verdict: This book was so delicious and entrancing that I recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy, royalty, and fans of Game of Thrones. THE QUEEN'S RISING deserves all five glittery stars.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Review: Queen's Rising

It really didn’t take long for me to fall in love with this book. I really enjoyed the school scenes at the beginning, getting to know Brienna and her fellow students, her sisters, as they all prepared to ‘passion’ in their chosen field(wit, drama, art, music, or knowledge). There was the immediate mystery to why Brienna was accepted to the school when the headmistress has already selected the five students and she didn’t have an aptitude for any of the five passions, as well as who Brienna’s father was and why her grandfather refused to tell her his name.

I really liked Brienna. She was making the most of her situation, knowing she wasn’t fairing well in any of the fields at the school but she always tried so hard. It couldn’t have been easy to find the motivation to try so hard when she was always suspicious that she didn’t get into the school on her own merits but she never gave up. I thought she was really relatable in that way. I also loved seeing her finding out more about her heritage and the growth she showed.

I do wish we’d gotten to see more of the passion sisters after they’d been chosen by their patrons because the beginning scenes at the school were so much fun. But I could understand why it focused on Brienna’s journey. She was the main character and important to the brewing rebellion.

With the inclusion at the beginning of family trees and lists of characters, passions, etc. I was expecting a great, complicated world and it was definitely there. It had history, families ruling over different kingdoms, rebellions, and I can see why it’s been said it’s good for YA Game of Thrones fans, though there was a lot less violence. There was a lot of political intrigue that was interwoven through Brienna’s discovery of her heritage and finding out more about the mysterious patron who’d chosen her.

I’m really excited to see where this series is going to go next.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
 
4.0
"In this story, Chris joins Sunny and Rue for a few friendly rounds of Rabbit Racers. (He’s never played before,..."
When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel
 
4.5
"'When Paul Met Artie: The Story of Simon & Garfunkel' by G. Neri, illustrated by David Litchfield, is an artistic..."
Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen
 
4.0
"Ernestine and her little brother Charleston are trying to bring on the zombie apocalypse. After doing a spell, they believe..."
Return of the Vinetropes
 
5.0
"What a unique and wonderful story told by a gifted writer! What I loved most is that there's something for..."
Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island (Emily Windsnap #7)
 
4.0
"Emily, her family, and her friends are off on a relaxing vacation. Emily promises her friend Shona and her boyfriend..."
The Tale of Angelino Brown
 
4.0
"When Bert discovers the tiny angel named Angelino in his pocket, he doesn't know what to think. Bert takes Angelino..."
The Journey of Little Charlie
 
5.0
"THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE features a boy named Charlie who is forced to grow up quickly. When Charlie's dad..."
Wonder
 
4.5
" Aiming on the younger end of the Middle Grade spectrum, Wonder is the story of a disfigured 5th grader..."
The Nutcracker Mice
 
4.0
"THE NUTCRACKER MICE is a very adorable retelling of the Russian Nutcracker, but from a smaller perspective. Esmeralda the mouse..."
Horizon
 
4.0
"When their plane crash lands, Caleb, Molly, Yoshi, Javi, Anna, Oliver, Kira, and Akiko find themselves stranded in a jungle...."
Tiny Little Rocket
 
5.0
"'Tiny Little Rocket' by Richard Collingridge immerses young readers into a journey through space. Through a front-row seat in the..."
When I Grow Up
 
4.5
"'When I Grow Up' by Tim Minchin, and illustrated by Steve Antony, is a fanciful story about the excitement of..."
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
 
5.0
"SAMANTHA SPINNER AND THE SUPER SECRET PLANS takes you on a historical adventure as Sam and her brother Nipper search..."
Fairy Mom and Me
 
4.5
"Ella has the coolest mom ever because she's a fairy. Magic and all. The best part? Ella will be a..."
Time Tracers
 
5.0
"Taj is confused when he wakes up to what's supposed to be the first day of summer break, but instead,..."
Better Together (Heartwood Hotel, #3)
 
5.0
"When Mr. Heartwood takes a break, Mona the maid feels like she needs to step up to make sure nothing..."
The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."