The Wood

Featured New
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
331   0
Write Review
The Wood
Age Range
13+
Release Date
August 01, 2017
ISBN
9781250094261

After her father goes missing in the woods that they protect, Winter tries to seek the truth in what happened, why the wood is changing, and what it all has to do with the arrival of a mysterious stranger in this thrilling YA debut. When Winter’s dad goes missing during his nightly patrol of the wood, it falls to her to patrol the time portals and protect the travelers who slip through them. Winter can't help but think there's more to her dad's disappearance than she's being told. She soon finds a young man traveling in the wood named Henry who knows more than he should. He believes if they can work together to find his missing parents, they could discover the truth about Winter’s dad. The wood is poisoned, changing into something sinister—torturing travelers lost in it. Winter must put her trust in Henry in order to find the truth and those they’ve lost. Bobulski’s eerie debut is filled with friendship, family, and the responsibilities we choose and those we do not.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: October 09, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

The Wood

THE WOOD by Chelsea Bobulski is bound to be the next guiltiest pleasure on the market. Complete with time travel, magical woods, dark conspiracies, and attractive aristocrats, this book is deliciously indulgent. The main character, Winter, comes from a long line of guardians, but when her father is presumed to be dead, Winter must take over the family business prematurely. Having learned enough to keep the travelers and time portals safe in the wood, Winter feels helpless when a disease starts spreading and rotting the trees. Determined to find out if the decay and her dad’s disappearance are somehow connected, Winter discovers an unlikely ally and resource in a boy from the eighteenth century, a boy also driven to find his parents. Faced with a hard decision, Winter must choose if she will betray the rules of the wood for a greater purpose.

The romance between Winter and Henry is my favorite part of the book. Sure, they are star-crossed lovers with all the odds against them, but they also have an undeniable connection. Henry is a very alluring character and leading man, because in his time, chivalry has not yet died. His traditional gestures are swoon-worthy, but simultaneously, do not diminish Winter’s independence in anyway. Winter is a strong female character and well-matched with Henry. However, in order to see this relationship really develop, THE WOOD needs a sequel, or ideally a whole series to follow. There is much left to be explored in this world, and hopefully the author will have the opportunity to do this.

With that being said, though the story has an engaging premise, there are some plot points that forced me to suspend my disbelief. For instance, if it is so important that travelers not cross into the wrong time portal, why is there only one guardian per wood? And if there is only one guardian per wood, how could the council possibly agree that Winter could remain in school, creating the risk that even with her biological pull towards the wood when a traveler is present, she may not make it in time to save him/her? Also, the final showdown could have been bigger and more exciting. The antagonist talked about having so much power, but we really don’t get to see him use it that much. I wish he would have proven to be a more difficult foe.

Despite these minor grievances, I wholeheartedly forgive all of the above, because I just had so much fun reading the book. Not only could I not put it down, but I was always excited to see what would happen next. THE WOOD is absolutely a must read for fantasy lovers and fans of OUTLANDER.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
 
3.5
""Stay Strong. Love endlessly. Change lives." --Amy Bleuel This suicide and mental illness awareness collection is made..."
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
 
4.0
"This is an easy to read reference book on how to take creative ideas and thoughts and turn them into..."
Sweet Revenge: Passive-Aggressive Desserts for Your Exes & Enemies
 
5.0
"SWEET REVENGE is sweet and deliciously vengeful that I wanted to gobble up all of the recipes. It's full of..."
The Infographic Guide to College: A Visual Reference for Everything You Need to Know
 
3.5
"As approachable as it is pragmatic, this college primer could largely double as a bite-sized approach to post high school..."
The Book That Made Me
 
4.0
"The Book That Made Me' is an anthology by several authors that tells about a book that influenced their life...."
It's Your World: Get Informed, Get Inspired & Get Going!
 
4.0
"'It's Your World' by Chelsea Clinton does a nice job of anticipating questions teens (or adults) may have about a..."
Girling Up
 
4.0
"What worked: Encouraging info for girls on growing up. Mayim is like that cool older sis that tells you what..."
The March Against Fear: The Last Great Walk of the Civil Rights Movement and the Emergence of Black Power
 
4.5
"James Meredith was a ground breaker in the Civil Rights Movement, and the first African-American to graduate from The University..."
Shackles from the Deep: Tracing the Path of a Sunken Slave Ship, a Bitter Past, and a Rich Legacy
 
4.0
"Cottman, a reporter for the Washington Post and an avid SCUBA diver, was intrigued when he learned about the Henrietta..."
Alice Paul and the Fight for Women's Rights
 
5.0
"In this very timely book, the story of Alice Paul's life is interwoven with the women's movement in the same..."
Double Cross: Deception Techniques in War
 
4.5
"From Biblical descriptions of battles (Gideon driving out the Midianites) to the siege of Troy and a variety of early..."
Motor Girls: How Women Took the Wheel and Drove Boldly Into the Twentieth Century
 
5.0
"Having explored how women gained freedom in the mid 1800s and onward in her 2011 Wheels of Change: How Women..."
Death on the River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon Adventure
 
4.0
"We all have this vague idea that Teddy Roosevelt was an adventurer, but I had no idea the depth of..."
This Is Really Happening
 
5.0
"I wish I could accurately put into words how much I adored This is Really Happening. I didn’t..."
Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The linear structure of Girl Code tracks their journey from everygirls to viral stars from start to..."
Queer, There, and Everywhere: 23 People Who Changed the World
 
4.0
"What I Loved: Queer, There, and Everywhere is a quick read you’ll breeze through in one sitting thanks to simple..."
Best and Buzzworthy 2017
 
4.0
"Best and Buzzworthy 2017 puts a year’s worth of pop culture into a colorful, well organized, and entertaining read. From..."
How to Be You: Stop Trying to Be Someone Else and Start Living Your Life
 
4.0
"Before reading this I had not heard of Jeffrey Marsh, but after reading this book I can tell you that..."
Cool Japan Guide
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a fun guide for those interested in traveling to Japan. The illustrations add to the..."
Diary of a Tokyo Teen
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a must-read for anyone fascinated with Japanese culture. Engaging, fun graphic novel version of a..."