This Darkness Mine

Featured
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
1052   0
Write Review
This Darkness Mine
Age Range
13+
Release Date
October 17, 2017
ISBN
978-0062561596
Buy This Book
      

Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her Oxford-wearing boyfriend. She’s worked her entire life to ensure her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved. But suddenly there’s a fork in the road in the shape of Isaac Harver. Her body shifts toward him when he walks by, and her skin misses his touch even though she’s never known it. Why does he act like he knows her so well—too well—when she doesn’t know him at all? Sasha discovers that her by-the-book life began by ending the chapter of another: the twin sister she absorbed in the womb. But that doesn’t explain the gaps of missing time in her practice schedule, or the memories she has of things she certainly never did with Isaac. Armed with the knowledge that her heart might not be hers alone, Sasha must decide what she’s willing to do—and who she’s willing to hurt—to take it back.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: September 30, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

This Darkness Mine

Sasha Stone's life has been 'perfect'. She's top of her class and has the 'perfect' boyfriend. Everything seems almost too perfect and it is. She doesn't understand why she has feelings for Issac Harver, the school bad boy. Or why she has visions of things that she knows nothing about. Then she finds an old ultrasound of her and a twin sister. Problem is her sister died before she was born. She fears that her sister is now a part of her. Or is she?

What worked: This is a suspenseful, on the-edge-of-your-seat read with the perfect creepy twist. Readers don't know if Sasha is in fact 'hearing' from her dead sister or if she's having a breakdown. When Sasha finds the ultrasound, she confronts her mother about a sister. Her mother tells her, what she already kind of figured out, that her twin Shanna, died while in the womb. Sasha starts 'finding' notes from Shanna, daring her to be 'bad'.

Sasha struggles to figure out what's going on with her leads to some confrontations with her so-called best friends. Also she fears that Shanna lives in her through her heart. These scenes are creepy and very twisted. I admit, I didn't know whether or not Sasha was in fact having a breakdown. But it's only later in the story that the pieces to the puzzle start coming together. There's been real life instances of heart transplant patients who claim that they 'feel' sensations, urges from the the heart donor. So the scenes where Sasha ends up doing what she feels Shanna wants to do, could be very real.

The suspense really builds in the second half of this novel. Readers will be guessing what's really going on until the very graphic climax of the story. **No, I won't give it away, but let's just say I jolted up with the revelation!

Twisted tale of a former 'good' girl who feels her life is taken over by a dead twin. Dark, creepy, and very addictive.

Good Points
1. Creepy twist
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Last First Daughter
 
3.5
"Intriguing and action packed. The Story: The country has been in a silent age for a decade after terrorists..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"*I was given an e-galley.* Brandy Woods Snow is a wonderfully talented writer and plotter! This story has a..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"Aw yes, transparency. I’m but one of her brutal critique partners and friends. Will this book capture you..."
Meant To Be Broken
 
5.0
"I COULD NOT STOP READING THIS BOOK! I fell in love with all the characters and secretly plotted the death..."
Watcher
 
4.3
"The story: Sawyer is an orphaned girl who lives in a world not unlike that of the Terminator movies,..."
Savage Beauty
 
5.0
"SAVAGE BEAUTY is a dark twist on the classic fairytale Sleeping Beauty. Aura and Luna are sisters, but they're the..."
Challenge Accepted
 
3.8
"CHALLENGE ACCEPTED alternates POV between the nerdy Emma and the popular Logan. After messing up Emma's chances at a summer..."
Soul Catchers
 
5.0
"When her mom is attacked by a wolf, Wren has no choice but to use her magic to try to..."
The Last First Game
 
5.0
"Lila has everything going for her and she's on the path to be a doctor. At least that's what people..."
Colliding Skies
 
N/A
""Brilliant pacing, sizzling romance, and a storyline I absolutely devoured!" Victoria Scott, author of Fire and Flood."
Gamemaster (The Biodome Chronicles #3)
 
4.0
LizLiz
"DISCLAIMER: I am a member of the Advance Reader team for this book! This review is only for the ARC..."
Any Way You Slice It
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A wonderful, sweet sweet romance. The story: Penelope loves to skate and has..."
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
 
4.0
"Larna is hurt when her father doesn't return home because the assumption is he's abandoned them or worse. It's so..."
Oshun Rising: Trinity Forest Book 2
 
4.0
"The story: Ember Trouve, missing for three years in Trinity Forest, has been “rebirthed”, in the form of a..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
Shadow Wings
 
5.0
"Summary King Irdelron is dead. Lord Irrik is now Lord Tyrrik and free from his blood oath. Ryn is..."
 
4.8
"I'm not a big fan of Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones or most Fantasy. There is nothing..."
Seventeen
 
5.0
"I loved this novel, I liked the way it was written and it had me hooked. The plot flowed smoothly..."